At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
It’s not always easy to find cheap car insurance after a DUI or DWI conviction. If you have a DUI or DWI on your record, you might be able to save a small fortune by switching to an auto insurance company that caters to this driver category.
Even a small jump in your rates will add up to a significant loss over time, so it pays to compare as many SR22 car insurance policies as possible. To help you save time, our Geeks did the heavy-lifting by comparing quotes from nine providers to find low cost auto insurance in each state for people who have been convicted of DUI or DWI.
The table below summarizes our findings:
|Massachusetts||Plymouth Rock Assurance|
|New Mexico||State Farm|
|New York||State Farm|
|North Carolina||State Farm|
|North Dakota||State Farm|
|South Dakota||State Farm|
|Washington DC||State Farm|
FAQs About Cheap Car Insurance After a DUI
How Much Will My Car Insurance Increase After a DUI?
Our data indicates that drunk drivers pay 42% more for car insurance than drivers with a clean record. That means if you pay $100 per month for car insurance now, you could pay $504 more per year if you are convicted of DUI or DWI, which adds up to $1,512 in extra car insurance costs over just three years. The increase is even higher in certain states such as California.
Do All Insurance Companies Have the Same Rules Regarding Premium Increases After a DUI Conviction?
No. Some car insurance companies are more lenient than others when it comes to calculating the rates of auto insurance after a DUI or DWI conviction. This is why it is so important to compare multiple SR22 auto insurance quotes if you are convicted of drunk driving.
How Can I Get My Car Insurance Premiums Reduced After a DUI?
From attorney fees to fines to administrative costs, it can seem impossible to regain your financial footing after a DUI or DWI conviction. But when it comes to auto insurance, there are dozens of discounts available, and if you find the right SR22 car insurance company, your rates might not be much higher than they were before your conviction.
The first step is to ask your current provider about any discounts that apply to your situation. You might qualify for lower insurance rates if you haven’t been involved in a collision for several consecutive years or if you’re a student. Many companies also offer discounts for things like paperless billing.
Another way to get your premiums reduced is to purchase a vehicle that is cheaper to insure. Car insurance companies calculate their premiums based on the probability that you’ll file an accident claim. Since some vehicles have a higher claim rate than others, you may find that purchasing a new vehicle could save you a small fortune in auto insurance. Try to find a vehicle with low horsepower.
Additionally, you can reduce rates by making changes to the insurance packages you carry. If you have insurance holdings outside your car insurance company, merge so everything’s under one umbrella. Insurers commonly offer multiline discounts to members with multiple forms of insurance with them. You may also want to consider adjusting the parameters of your coverage and increasing your deductible. The more you’re on the hook for paying out of pocket, the less your insurer is liable for. Since having a DUI makes you a high-risk client, they will likely jump at the chance to reduce their responsibility for you. This may leave you more defenseless if an accident were to occur, but the discounts and price reductions may make it worth it.
Of course, the most effective way to get your premiums reduced is to avoid collisions, traffic citations, and DUI charges for several consecutive years. Make a concerted effort to drive safely and be sure to compare auto insurance quotes periodically to find out if you could save by switching to a different company.
Will Taking a Defensive Driving Class Help After a DUI?
It’s never a bad idea to take a defensive driving class, but after a DUI, it may actually be mandatory to pass the class before you can get your license back. Either way, it can definitely be an effective way of showing insurance companies you’re serious about getting your driving back on track. You should talk to your provider about your options. You may even qualify for a discount.
How Can I Reinstate My License After Losing It Because of a DUI?
Besides the defensive driving class, there are many steps drivers have to take before they can be allowed back on the road. They vary based on how many offenses you’ve committed within a specific timeframe and how much damage and injury was caused. Some potential steps include paying any fines incurred, waiting out a suspension period, serving the required jail time, and completing an inpatient/outpatient treatment program. You may also be required to put an ignition interlock system in your car. This will require you to take a breathalyzer test before you can start your car; if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is too high, it won’t start. Installation fees come out of the violator’s pocket.
What’s the Difference Between a DUI and a DWI?
A DUI and a DWI are both terms for when a driver operates a vehicle with drugs or alcohol in his or her system. DUI stands for driving under the influence and DWI stands for driving while intoxicated. Many states use the two pretty interchangeably, but some do recognize nuances. In those cases, DUI is considered a lesser offense than a DWI in terms of BAC. The legal limit is .08 percent for adults and .02 percent for minors. In states with no tolerance policies, driving with any amount of alcohol in the system is illegal.
Other terms for these offenses are OUI (operating under the influence) and OWI (operating while intoxicated). OUI and OWI can be used in place of DUI and DWI.
What Is Implied Consent?
This law states that any driver who gets behind the wheel has, by default, agreed to undergo chemical testing of blood, urine, or breath samples if asked by a law enforcement officer. It is enforced across the entire United States. If you agree to take the tests, any findings may be used against you in court. If you decline the test, your license will automatically be revoked, and you may face jail time. Notably, some states and courts will see refusal as an admission of guilt and will use that during the trial.
What Happens If I Drive with a Revoked License?
If you are found to be driving with a revoked license, the consequences will be severe. The license was revoked for a reason, so defying the order shows insurance companies and law enforcement that you didn’t take the previous situation or your punishment as seriously as you should have. Since you were operating your car illegally, insurance providers can deny coverage or even drop you from your plan. You may also face fines, longer suspensions, and/or jail time. The repercussions increase for repeat offenders.
How Can I Avoid a Drugged Driving Arrest?
Although alcohol is most commonly connected to DUI/DWI charges, drugs also fall under that domain. Driving under the influence of drugs can be just as dangerous, and thus comes with the same potential repercussions. Prescribed and over-the-counter drugs can have as severe of an impact as illegal drugs; all could lead to drowsiness, poor judgement, reduced reaction time, and sensitivities to light and sound.
To avoid making a mistake, read the labels on your medications very thoroughly before getting behind the wheel. If you have any doubts, it’s better to be safe than sorry; stay off the road. You can always use public transportation, a ride-sharing app, or a friend or family member to get to where you need to go.
DUI Car Insurance Facts & Statistics
Useful DUI and DWI Statistics
- 28 people die every day in the United States in alcohol-related collisions.
- Alcohol-related traffic deaths cost $52 billion per year.
- More than 10,200 people died in alcohol-related crashes in 2015.
- Drunk driving accidents contribute to nearly one-third of all traffic deaths in the United States.
- About 1.1 million drivers were arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in 2015.
- Young people are involved in a higher percentage of alcohol-related accidents than other drivers.
- Motorists between the ages 21 and 24 have the highest incidence of drunk driving.
- Drivers who are found to have a BAC of 0.08% at the time of a fatal collision are 4.5 times more likely to have a previous DWI conviction than sober drivers who are involved in a fatal crash.
How Long Will I Need an SR22 After a DUI?
It is common for SR22s to be required for at least three years, though the duration can vary from state to state. You can expect to be required to file your SR22 for extra time if you are cited for another violation that requires an SR22 filing.
Common Signs a Driver Is Drunk
Most people know driving under the influence is irresponsible and incredibly dangerous, yet thousands of motorists do so every day. Although you cannot control the actions of others, you can reduce your risk of getting in a drunk driving accident by keeping your distance from drivers who show one or more of the following signs of impairment:
- Stopping far before or after a stop line at an intersection;
- Abnormal braking patterns;
- Drifting toward the centerline;
- Making illegal or reckless maneuvers;
- Swerving; or
- Almost hitting an object in the road.
How to Avoid Drunk Driving Accidents
The only foolproof way to avoid drunk driving accidents is to stay off the road. Since that’s not always an option, the next best step is to plan ahead so you’re never tempted to drive under the influence. Here are a few more tips to avoid drunk driving collisions:
- Establish a rotating designated driver schedule with friends;
- Keep your distance from drivers who show signs of impairment;
- Download a ride-share app;
- Avoid driving after 2 a.m.; and
- Stay off the road during drinking holidays.