At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
With so many companies to choose from, finding cheap auto insurance in Wyoming can feel like an endless hassle. The researchers at PennyGeeks set out to save you time by comparing quotes from top providers to find the best deals.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Wyoming
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Wyoming
Comparing quotes from multiple insurers in Wyoming will help you find the cheapest rates available. Below, you’ll find our Geeks’ recommendations for common driver categories:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|State Farm||Senior Drivers|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Wyoming
We took an in-depth look at consumer reviews and complaint data to identify the best car insurance companies in Wyoming. The table below provides an overview of our findings:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Wyoming
All drivers in the state of Wyoming must purchase car insurance coverage with the following minimum liability limits:
- $25,000 For Bodily Injuries To One Individual In One Collision
- $50,000 For Total Bodily Injuries Caused In One Crash
- $20,000 For Property Damage
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Wyoming
Hitting the road without adequate insurance isn’t just a minor offense in Wyoming. The state’s authorities are clamping down on risk-taking motorists, strapping the uninsured with severe fines, license suspensions, and jail time.
In Wyoming, driving while uninsured is a misdemeanor. As a result, if you are caught and convicted for failing to purchase proper coverage, this offense could be etched into your criminal record.
For your first offense, you may be forced to pay up to $750 in fines and could also spend up to six months in jail. Your driving privileges may also be suspended or revoked until you are able to show the courts or state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) proof that you are insured up to the state’s mandated minimum liability requirements.
Reinstating your license comes with a fee, as well. You will also be required to file SR-22 forms with the department for a predetermined period of time (typically for three years). If your coverage lapses for any reason – for example, you did not pay your premium – your license, vehicle registration, and car’s plates may be suspended and you will be forced to restart the entire process from scratch.
For you second, third, or subsequent offense, you may have to pay fines of up to $1,500 and could be sentenced to time behind bars. Your license will also be suspended.
Wyoming Car Insurance FAQs
Can I Have a “Driving with No Insurance” Misdemeanor Expunged?
In most cases, this minor offense can be wiped from your criminal record. While myriad factors can impact your chances of erasing this transgression, typically, the more time that has passed since your conviction, the easier it is clear your name.
What Is Acceptable Proof of Insurance in Wyoming?
Unlike most states, Wyoming does accept electronic proof of insurance. This means you won’t have to keep documents stashed in your glove compartment and can instead verify your coverage details with authorities using your smartphone. However, your mobile device’s battery can still run out, leaving you with no way to prove you are insured. Our Geeks recommend keeping either printed documents issued by your provider or a proof of insurance card in your vehicle at all times as a backup plan.
How Can I Reduce My Car Insurance Premium After a License Suspension?
Driving with no insurance is a conviction that will sink even the cleanest driving record. You’re now classed as a high-risk driver, and as a result, insurers will charge you even more for the same coverage. High-risk drivers are not only more likely to be involved in accidents than the average motorist but also have a higher chance of causing an accident than most other road users.
For the duration of your SR-22 filing requirements following a license suspension, you may want to consider making use of public transport, carpooling, or other forms of commuting to and from work to reduce your risk of a future accident. If none of these options is viable, you can offset the spike in your rates by trading out your vehicle for a cheaper model. Remember, your premium will eventually return to a normal rate once you have completed your SR-22 filing requirements. For now, you will have to assess your financial decisions, saving money wherever you can.
Take note: Even if you are not driving, you will still be required to complete the SR-22 filing requirements for the period stipulated by the courts or DMV before these restrictions are lifted.
What Are the Benefits of Getting Multi-Vehicle Insurance?
Many providers offer multi-vehicle insurance to drivers who own more than one vehicle. Packaging your policies under one plan won’t just net you a reduced rate but may also help you cut down the costs of insuring any teen drivers living in your household. Typically, teen drivers cost more to insure because they are less experienced and have a higher chance of being involved in a serious accident.
What Is Comprehensive Coverage?
For “acts of God,” which include any damage or loss caused by vandalism, natural disasters, theft, falling objects, fire, and protests, you will need to invest in additional features to help cover these unexpected repair costs. While comprehensive coverage is a safety net most drivers are thankful to have, this add-on is often considered an excessive addition that drives up your rate.
If you’re financing or leasing your vehicle, you will be required to carry this type of coverage. If you live in an area where natural disasters – such as wildfires, earthquakes, and hurricanes – are common, you should consider adding this feature to your policy. However, if the cost to maintain comprehensive coverage for a few years works out to more than 10% of the value of your vehicle, it isn’t worth shelling out for this expensive add-on.
How Do I File a Car Insurance Claim in Wyoming?
Filing an auto insurance claim in Wyoming isn’t a complicated process. Typically, your provider will guide you through each step, making sure you’ve included all the information necessary to file your claim. Keep in mind that in most cases, you should include the following when filing:
- A written breakdown of what led to the crash;
- Additional evidence that may help bolster your claim;
- An official police accident report;
- Photographs and other evidence of any damage or injuries you or other parties sustained in the crash;
- Contact details and names of anyone else involved in the collision;
- Statements from anyone who witnessed the crash take place; and
- Any other evidence you feel may help prove your version of events.
What Are Some Ways to Reduce My Auto Insurance Rate?
Depending on your policy, your monthly or annual premium can cost you a small fortune. Insurers calculate your rate based on a long list of factors such as your car’s make and your own driving record. But for every consideration that is out of your control, there are actions you can take right now to bring down your coverage costs. Providers reward safe drivers, and these five tips will help you prove you are one of the good ones:
- Read up on and follow state traffic laws;
- Avoid being involved or causing any accidents for several consecutive years;
- Reduce your annual mileage and ask your insurer about low mileage discounts;
- Do not drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol; and
- Invest in a vehicle that is cheaper to insure.
Your insurer may not offer discounts on your rate for implementing these safe driving habits. You should consider purchasing a new policy with another provider as many insurers offer lower premiums to motorists wanting to transfer their auto insurance. However, remember that some providers do offer loyalty discounts to long-time clients and you could be rewarded for sticking it out with your current insurer.
What Is an Ignition Interlock Device?
Another potential outcome of driving drunk in Wyoming is having an Ignition Interlock Device installed in your car and any other vehicle you regularly operate. The device is essentially a breathalyzer that hooks up to your ignition and analyzes whether your BAC is too high to drive. If it is, then your car will not start. Installation is at the driver’s expense and normally costs $100.
You can expect an Ignition Interlock Device if you are convicted of one DWI with a BAC of .15 percent or greater or of multiple DWIs with a BAC of .08 percent or greater. The device will be installed permanently after a fourth offense.
If you are required to have an Ignition Interlock Device, you are not eligible for a probationary license.
What Are Some Important Wyoming Traffic Laws?
Cross the line in the Equality State and you’ll be treated like everyone else caught taking chances. Read our guide to Wyoming’s traffic laws to stay safe and keep your driving record spotless:
Distracted Driving Laws in Wyoming
Wyoming authorities have divided distracted driving offenses into three distinct types: manual, visual, and cognitive.
- A visual distraction includes any action that causes you to take your eyes off the road such as reading a text on your phone;
- A manual distraction includes any activity that causes you to take your hands off the steering wheel such eating your takeout on the way home; and finally
- A cognitive distraction includes any action that causes you to lose focus such as dozing off.
If you’re caught violating any of Wyoming’s distracted driving laws, you could be strapped with fines and other penalties including a license suspension and possible jail time. Breaking these laws is classed as a misdemeanor, which means your transgression will be recorded as a crime on your criminal record.
Wyoming Child Safety Seat Laws
In Wyoming, children under the age of 9 years old must make use of a child safety seat designed to accommodate their weight and height. While the state does make exceptions for taller children who can be restrained safely using the car’s seat belts, in most cases, you will be fined up $60 if you’re caught breaking these laws. Additionally, children must be seated in the rear seats of the car. Tests have shown that sitting in the back of the car shields passengers from the most common points of impact in a crash.
Wyoming Drunk Driving Laws
Like most states, Wyoming enforces a strict 0.08% blood alcohol limit for drivers. If you’re caught driving under the influence and over the limit, you could be fined up to $10,000, face up to two years in prison, and have your license suspended for up to three years based on whether this is your first, second, or subsequent offense.
Drivers under 21 must adhere to an even stricter limit of 0.02%. You can choose to refuse to complete a blood alcohol test; however, your license will be suspended automatically and you will have to pay a fine. Wyoming’s implied consent law is a contract you sign as soon as you put rubber to the state’s roads.
Car Accident Statistics: Wyoming
Across the United States, there were 37,133 traffic fatalities in 2017, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Wyoming accounted for 123 of those deaths.
Data collected by the Centers for Disease Control and Protection shows that there were 506 deaths attributed to alcohol-related crashes in Wyoming between 2003 and 2012. The study also showed that 2.2 percent of people in the state reported having driven after drinking too much. The national average was 1.9 percent.