At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
If you’re searching for cheap auto insurance in South Dakota, you’ve probably discovered that there are dozens of companies advertising the lowest rates. The truth is that each insurer has a different approach for calculating monthly premiums, so there’s no one-size-fits-all policy that is best for all motorists. To help you find the lowest cost car insurance for your driver profile, we looked at the rates of top carriers to find the best deals in SD.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in South Dakota
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance
South Dakota Car Insurance FAQs
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in South Dakota
The most effective way to find affordable auto insurance premiums in South Dakota is to compare quotes from several providers. Below, we’ve published a list of recommendations for different driver profiles:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Drivers with a DUI|
Best Car Insurance Companies in South Dakota
We looked at complaint data and reviews to rank car insurance companies in South Dakota and find the best providers. Take a look at the results of our analysis below:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in South Dakota
South Dakota law requires all drivers to have auto insurance that meets the following limits:
- $25,000 Per Person In Coverage For Bodily Injuries
- $50,000 Per Accident In Coverage For Bodily Injuries
- $25,000 In Coverage For Property Damage
- $25,000 Per Person In Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury (UMBI) Coverage
- $50,000 Per Accident In UMBI Coverage
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in South Dakota
Home of Mt. Rushmore, the beautiful state of South Dakota is an oasis for road trippers. But be warned: You will face a mountain of fines and penalties if you’re caught driving without auto insurance.
According to South Dakota’s traffic laws, operating a vehicle without adequate coverage is categorized as a Class 2 misdemeanor. Legally speaking, this transgression is on the same level as disorderly conduct, simple assault, carrying a concealed weapon, or resisting a police officer’s instructions.
As a result, you could face:
- Fines of up to $500;
- 30 days behind bars;
- License suspensions;
- SR-22 maintenance requirements for up to three years; and
- High fees to reinstate your driving privileges.
South Dakota Car Insurance FAQs
How Can I Reinstate My Driver’s License After Being Caught Without Insurance?
If you’re caught driving with no insurance, chances are your license will be suspended or revoked. Without a valid driver’s license, you can no longer drive your vehicle. In South Dakota, like most other states, the local DMV requires you to prove your car is insured up to the state’s mandated minimum liability requirements before your driving privileges are restored.
Typically, this will entail having an SR-22 form (proof of insurance) filed on your behalf by your provider on an annual basis. This service is known as SR-22 insurance and is offered to so-called “high-risk” drivers after license revocation or suspension.
After your license has been reinstated, you will still be required to file the SR-22 form for a period of time determined by the courts or your local DMV. Typically, this requirement will persist for three years. If you miss a payment on your policy, cancel your plan, or allow your coverage to lapse for any other reason, your provider is obligated to report this to the department.
In this case, your registration, license, and plates may be suspended and you will have to restart the SR-22 filing process from scratch.
How Can I Reduce My Premium After My License Has Been Suspended?
Being caught driving without insurance is a black mark on your driving record. Insurers will most likely class you as a “high-risk” driver, which will result in an immediate spike in your premiums. Why? Statistically, you now have a higher chance of being involved in an accident than drivers who are never caught without insurance.
While SR-22 insurance is expensive, you may be in a position where it isn’t feasible to stop driving altogether. For example, in cases where you need your vehicle to drive to work and public transport isn’t a viable alternative, it makes sense to purchase this type of policy to retain your driving privileges.
While there are few methods for reducing your premium, many people in this position choose to swap out their current vehicle for an older, more affordable model. This will help offset the costs of insurance until you’ve completed your SR-22 filing requirements.
What Are the South Dakota Traffic Laws All Drivers Should Know?
Breaking the law can put you on a rocky road leading to fines and possible jail time. Make sure you always follow these important rules when you’re on the road in South Dakota:
South Dakota Child Safety Seat Laws
Taking your little tyke on the road? Following the rules of the road won’t just help you stay in good standing with authorities, but it will also protect your little ones in the event of an accident. In South Dakota, children under the age of 5 and who weigh less than 40 lbs must always be restrained in an approved child car seat or booster seat while driving. Children up the age of 17 years old must stay buckled up for the duration of your trip.
South Dakota Drunk Driving Laws
Knocking back a beer or two at South Dakota’s craft breweries, bars, and restaurants is a celebrated pastime in the state. But when one brew turns into a few too many, you’ll find yourself nursing a hangover in prison. The state’s legal blood alcohol limit is set at 0.08%; that’s around a shot of hard liquor or glass of wine for the average person. However, you can still be charged for driving under the influence if you clock in at 0.05% and authorities can prove you were unable to operate your vehicle safely.
When you drive in South Dakota, you enter into an automatic contract giving consent to be tested. Authorities can test your blood alcohol levels using a breathalyzer or blood and urine testing kits.
South Dakota Seat Belt Laws
Buckling up will save you from a headfirst collision with your windscreen, dashboard, or backseats. In South Dakota, state law requires drivers and passengers to remain buckled up at all times while a car is in motion. If you or anyone else in your vehicle is caught traveling without a seat belt, you could be fined up to $25.
South Dakota Move Over Law
In a bid to protect cars or emergency vehicles halted on the shoulder of a street or highway, this law requires that you give these cars a wide berth. If you spot a car flashing its amber warning signals, you should slow down and move over to another lane if possible. Similarly, if you see a stopped emergency vehicle with its sirens activated, you must make every attempt to reduce your speed and steer away from the car if it is safe to do so.
South Dakota Texting and Driving Laws
Bucking the national trend, South Dakota has no laws against using your cell phone while driving. But before you whip out your smartphone and start watching videos in transit, remember you are far more likely to be involved in accident when you are distracted.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, every single day, approximately 9 drivers, passengers, and pedestrians are killed and a further 1,000 injured in accidents that involve distracted motorists.
South Dakota Headlight Laws
State law requires motorists to use headlights in the following situations:
- At all times while riding a motorcycle;
- When visibility is limited to around 200 ft; and
- From 30 minutes before the sun rises and 30 minutes after the sun begins to set.
South Dakota School Bus Laws
Children are some of the most vulnerable people on our roads. As a result, school buses are protected by a litany of laws designed to keep kids safe while they are embarking or disembarking. If you spot a school bus flashing its red signal lights, you are required to maintain a minimum distance of 15 feet while stopped. If you are behind a moving school bus flashing its amber lights, the law states you must slow down to 20 mph or less and pass the vehicle while exercising extreme caution. If you’re nabbed breaking these laws, you may receive a citation and a severe fine.
What Should Go in My Accident Survival Kit?
Some lucky drivers can go their whole lives without being involved in an accident, but most of us will experience at least one crash every 18 years. Take the right step now to ensure you have every advantage when your quick commute takes a detour in the future:
- Stash any loose objects, such as your kid’s toys, groceries, books, and other debris, in your trunk, glove compartment, or console. These items can turn into speeding projectiles in a crash, causing untold injuries.
- Purchase a high-quality first aid kit to help treat any injuries you, your passengers, or other parties involved sustain in the crash.
- Keep a well-organized file of your insurance declaration page, health plan details, and your car’s registration stored in your glove compartment.
How Can I Get My Auto Insurance Rates Reduced in South Dakota?
Auto insurance policies can cost a small fortune depending on your car’s make and model and your own personal circumstances. However, those sky-high premiums aren’t set in stone. Your insurer prizes safe drivers, and these five useful tips will help you prove that you’re discount material:
- Avoid causing or being involved in accidents, even minor ones, for a few years;
- Be vigilant about following state traffic laws;
- Try to reduce your mileage;
- Never drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs; and
- Research and purchase a vehicle that costs less to insure.
If your insurer does not offer substantial discounts for taking some of these steps, you should consider shopping around for a new policy. Many, if not most, insurers will offer you a reduced rate for transferring over your coverage. But remember, some providers do offer loyalty discounts to their customers for maintaining a policy for substantial period of time.
How Do I File a Car Accident Claim in South Dakota?
Filing your claim does not have to be a complicated process. Your insurer will provide you with a comprehensive guide on everything they need to review to finalize your case. Typically, alongside the necessary forms, you will be required to provide:
- Your version of events of what caused the crash;
- Supplementary evidence to help prove your claim;
- An official police accident report;
- Proof, photographic or otherwise, of injuries or damage you and your property sustained in the accident;
- Names and contact details of the other parties involved in the accident;
- Witness statements and contact details; and
- Any other evidence that may help prove your claim.
South Dakota Car Accident Statistics
In 2018, 96 drivers were killed and a further 3,375 injured in crashes on South Dakota’s roads. According to the state Department of Safety, the majority of these accidents involved male drivers (58%). While causes vary wildly from case to case, reports show that most accidents were due to distracted driving, ignoring traffic signs and signals, speeding, failure to yield right-of-way, running off the road, or drunk driving.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2.5% of South Dakota’s drivers reported driving after drinking too much. This is higher than the national average of 1.9%. Between 2003 and 2012, 537 people were killed in collisions involving drunk motorists.