The best way to find the cheapest car insurance companies in Watertown, South Dakota is to compare multiple providers to find the one that caters to your driver profile. Our team sought out to speed up this process by reviewing rate data from top insurance carriers in the city.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Watertown
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Drivers with a DUI|
FAQs About Cheap Car Insurance in Watertown
What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Watertown?
In an effort to protect drivers against severe financial loss in accidents, South Dakota lawmakers have enacted laws requiring motorists in the state to carry auto insurance policies meeting specific minimum coverage limits. These limits include:
• $25,000 per individual for Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury (UMBI);
• $50,000 per crash for UMBI;
• $25,000 for Bodily Injury (per person);
• $50,000 for Bodily Injury (per collision); and
• $25,000 for Property Damage.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Watertown?
It’s estimated that 7.7% of drivers in South Dakota do not have insurance meeting the state’s minimum liability limits. While this number is relatively low compared to the national average, law enforcement officers in Watertown are still on the lookout for drivers violating South Dakota’s mandatory insurance laws. If you are nabbed driving without insurance or your vehicle is flagged as uninsured by the state’s electronic database, you could face the following penalties:
• SR-22 maintenance requirements (up to 3 years);
• License and vehicle registration suspension;
• Fines of up to $5,000; and
• Up to 30 days in prison.
How Do I File a Car Accident Claim in Watertown?
If you have purchased a policy from any of the city’s top ranked insurers, filing a claim should be a painless process. An agent at the company will guide you through the claims process helping you understand which forms are required and your claim is handled. However, there is additional evidence you can file to help strengthen your claim and prove fault, such as:
• An official police accident report:
• Photographs from the scene of the crash;
• Witness statements and contact details; and
• A written account of what you believed led to the crash.