At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Getting the cheapest car insurance rates in Sioux Falls, South Dakota can require hours of research. To speed up the process, our Geeks did the legwork and compared rate data from top insurance providers in the city.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Sioux Falls
|Drivers in the Military
|Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront
|Drivers with a DUI
FAQs About Cheap Car Insurance in Sioux Falls
What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Sioux Falls?
Statewide laws require all drivers in Sioux Falls to carry auto insurance that meets the following minimum liability limits:
• Property Damage Coverage: $25,000
• Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury (UMBI) Coverage per person: $25,000
• UMBI per accident: $50,000
• Bodily Injury Coverage per person: $25,000
• Bodily Injury Coverage per accident: $50,000
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Sioux Falls?
Despite the state’s strict mandatory insurance laws, many drivers still risk driving without coverage. According to estimates, 7.7% of all drivers in South Dakota do not have insurance meeting the state’s minimum liability limits. While this is lower than the national average, authorities are still vigilant about tracking down and prosecuting lawbreakers. Whether you’re caught on the road or flagged by the state’s electronic database, you can expect the following penalties:
• Up to $500 in fines;
• Up to 1 month behind bars;
• License suspended;
• SR-22 maintenance requirements for up to 3 years; and
• Reinstatement and processing fees to restore your driving privileges.
What Are Sioux Falls Traffic Laws All Drivers Should Know?
Breaking the rules of the road won’t just result in fines and jail time. If you’re caught violating the law, you could compromise your driving record and be forced to fork over even more for basic coverage. Make sure your next road trip doesn’t cost you thousands of dollars in premium hikes by always following these important state traffic laws:
Sioux Falls Drunk Driving Laws
The city’s many taverns serve up refreshing beers and elaborate cocktails at all hours. But if you’re planning to indulge, remember happy hour can quickly turn into an hour in court.
The state’s legal blood alcohol limit is set at 0.08%. If you test at or above this number, you will be charged with driving under the influence. Be warned: Refusal to take a chemical test can lead to the suspension of your license.
Sioux Falls Move Over Law
In order to protect cars and emergency vehicles stopped on the shoulder of highway, state law requires that all drivers give these motorists a wide berth. If you spot a car flashing its amber warning signals on the shoulder of the road, you should make efforts to slow down and move to another lane if it is safe to do so.