At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Looking for affordable car insurance in Brookings, South Dakota? On this page, you’ll find our top picks for the cheapest auto insurance companies in the city.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Brookings
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Drivers with a DUI|
FAQs About Cheap Car Insurance in Brookings
What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Brookings?
Statewide insurance laws are designed to protect drivers against severe financial loss in a collision. The minimum coverage limits in Brookings include:
• Property Damage Coverage: $25,000
• Bodily Injury Coverage per accident/per person: $50,000/$25,000
• Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury per accident/per person: $50,000/$25,000
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Brookings?
It’s estimated that 7.7% of drivers in South Dakota have not purchased auto insurance policies meeting the state’s minimum liability limits. As a result, authorities are on high alert for any uninsured drivers on the road. If you’re caught driving without insurance, you may face the following penalties:
• Up to $500 in fines;
• Up to 1 month behind bars;
• License suspended;
• SR-22 maintenance requirements for a period of up to 3 years; and
• Reinstatement and processing fees to restore your driving privileges.
What Are Brookings’ School Bus Laws?
Children are among the most vulnerable people on our roads. As a result, state laws were created to protect kids while they are disembarking or embarking school buses. If you see a stopped school bus flashing its red signal lights, you are – by law – required to maintain a minimum distance of 15 feet. If you find yourself travelling behind a school bus flashing its amber lights, you are required to slow down to 20 mph or less and – if it safe to do so – pass the vehicle. If you’re breaking any of these laws, you could receive points on your license and may be forced to pay a fine.