At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
With several auto insurance companies to choose from in Minot, North Dakota, finding the cheapest rates often involves hours staring at your computer screen. Fortunately, our Geeks already did the legwork by comparing quotes from some of the city’s best insurers to help you score the most affordable premiums. On this page, we’ll look at:
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Minot
If you’re hunting for the cheapest car insurance premiums in Minot, you’ll snag lucrative savings by comparing rates from multiple providers. Take a look below for our carrier recommendations for specific driver profiles:
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Drivers with a DUI|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Minot
Our Geeks analyzed consumer data, such as reviews and complaints, to rate Minot’s insurers and identify the top providers. Below, you’ll find a summary of our findings:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Minot
State law requires all drivers in Minot to carry coverage meeting North Dakota’s minimum liability limits. These limits include:
• Un/Underinsured Motorist Coverage ($25,000 per person / $50,000 per collision);
• Personal Injury Protection ($30,000 per person);
• Property Damage Liability ($25,000); and
• Bodily Injury Liability ($25,000 per person / $50,000 per collision).
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Minot
Unlike many other cities, Minot isn’t lenient with motorists caught driving without insurance. If you cannot present proof of insurance to authorities or the state’s electronic database flags your vehicle as uninsured, you may face the following penalties:
• $150 to $1,000 fine;
• License suspension; and
• SR-22 maintenance requirements.
Second, Third and Subsequent Offense within 12 Months of First
• Up to $5,000 in fines;
• Up to 30 days behind bars;
• License, vehicle registration, and plate revocation;
• SR-22 maintenance requirements.
Minot Car Insurance FAQs
What Is Comprehensive Coverage?
This optional policy feature will cover damage to your vehicle caused by any event that isn’t a collision, such as loss stemming from natural disasters, vandalism, protests, fires, falling objects, theft, and more. You will be required to purchase this addon if you are financing or leasing your vehicle. However, our Geeks recommend investing in Comprehensive Coverage if you are living in a high-crime neighborhood or disaster-prone region.
Should I Increase My Car Insurance Liability Limits?
A basic policy will only cover the bare minimum in an accident. Many motorists, if not most, choose to adjust their limits to ensure they are not exposed to severe financial loss in the worst-case scenario. The right coverage amounts will depend on a variety of factors, such as your financial circumstances, your vehicle’s value, and your driving habits. How often do you drive? How far? What kind of driver are you? How often will you travel with passengers? Is your vehicle equipped with advanced safety features?
The answers to these questions will help you settle on rates that best suit your means and needs.