If you’ve been searching for the cheapest car insurance in Fargo, North Dakota, you may have noticed there are several providers to choose from, each offering lucrative discounts and bonus policy features for different driver types. To streamline your search for most affordable rates, our Geeks compared quotes from the city’s top providers to pinpoint the cheapest policy options.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Fargo
There’s no doubt that the best way to score discounts is to compare quotes from more than one provider. Below, we’ve listed a few suggestions for different driver categories:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Drivers with a DUI|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Fargo
Our Geeks gathered consumer data, crunched the numbers, and ranked the candidates to identify the best insurers in Fargo. Take a look at the scores below:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Fargo
As a driver in Fargo, you must adhere to the state’s strict mandatory insurance laws. These laws require you to purchase a policy meeting the North Dakota’s minimum liability limits, which include:
• $50,000 Bodily Injury per crash;
• $25,000 Bodily Injury per person in a crash;
• $25,000 Property Damage Liability;
• $25,000 per person / $50,000 per crash Un/Underinsured Motorist Protection; and
• $30,000 per person Personal Injury Protection.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Fargo
According to recent data, 6.8% of all drivers in North Dakota do not possess coverage meeting the state’s minimum liability limits. Not only do these motorists risk severe financial loss in an accident, they also face severe penalties if they are caught on the road. While many states are lenient with first-time offenders, Fargo’s lawmakers take an aggressive approach. The penalties for driving with no insurance include:
• License suspension;
• SR-22 maintenance requirements; and
• $1,000 fines.
Serial offenders (any drivers caught violating the state’s insurance laws again within 12 months of a previous offense) will face even harsher penalties, including up to $5,000 in fines and up to 30 days behind bars.
Fargo Car Insurance FAQs
Is North Dakota a “Fault” or “No-Fault” State?
North Dakota is a “no-fault” state, which means your own auto insurance coverage will reimburse you for any injuries sustained in an accident, regardless of whether you caused the accident or not. In “fault” states, the driver or drivers responsible for causing the accident can be held liable for any damages sustained by the other parties involved.
What Is Personal Injury Protection?
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is a mandatory policy feature in North Dakota that will kick in to reimburse you for any injuries you or your passengers sustained in a collision.
What Is Uninsured Motorist Protection?
While you may have purchased an auto insurance policy to comply with the state’s mandatory insurance laws, some drivers choose to risk fines and prison time by driving without coverage. If you’re involved in an accident with one of these errant motorists, he or she most likely won’t have the financial means to compensate you for your loss. Uninsured Motorist Protection is your safety net, covering any costs stemming from a collision involving an at-fault uninsured driver.