If you’ve been trawling the Internet for cheaper car insurance in Bismarck, North Dakota, you may have discovered that quotes can vary dramatically from one company to the next. Insurers consider dozens of factors when calculating rates. The trick to finding the most affordable quotes is to identify a company that caters to your specific driver profile. In this blog, we’ll explore the results of our study that compared the city’s top insurers to identify the best and cheapest providers.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Bismarck
If you want the most affordable car insurance rates in Bismarck, you’ll benefit from comparing quotes from the city’s numerous insurers. Below, we’ve created a guide to the best providers for different types of drivers to help you find an insurer that caters to your needs:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Drivers with a DUI|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Bismarck
In their quest to find the best insurers in Bismarck, our Geeks pored over extensive complaint data and reviews to rank the top providers in the city. Take a look at the table below for a snapshot of their rankings:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Bismarck
Motorists in North Dakota must purchase an auto insurance policy meeting the state’s minimum liability limits before they are allowed to drive on state roads. This policy should include the following coverage:
- $25,000 Property Damage Liability;
- $50,000 per collision / $25,000 per person Bodily Injury Liability;
- $30,000 per person Personal Injury Protection; and
- $50,000 per collision / $25,000 per person Un/Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Bismarck
The city’s vigilant police force is always on the hunt for motorists driving without insurance. If you are stopped by authorities on the road and cannot present proof of a valid auto insurance policy, you will be strapped with strict penalties, including fines and potential jail time. However, even if you are not nabbed on the road, a vast insurance database will flag your vehicle as uninsured as soon as your policy lapses, leaving you at mercy of the law.
If it is only your first offense, you may be ordered to pay $1,000 in fines. Additionally, your license could be revoked and you will be required to fulfill SR-22 maintenance requirements before you can reclaim your license and return to the road.
If you’re caught again within 1 year of your previous violation, you may have to pay a $5,000 fine and could spend up to 30 days behind bars.
Bismarck Car Insurance FAQs
Who Needs SR-22 Car Insurance in Bismarck?
If you’re caught driving without insurance, your license could be suspended and you will have to fulfil SR-22 maintenance requirements before your driver’s license is reinstated. You must first purchase a new policy with a provider willing to file an SR-22 form/certificate on your behalf. This paperwork is written confirmation from your insurer that you are now carrying coverage meeting the state’s minimum liability limits.
In most situations, you will have to maintain this type of coverage for a full year. However, if this is your second, third or subsequent violation, this maintenance period may be extended to 3 years. During this time, if you let your coverage lapse due to missed payments or cancellation, your insurer must, by law, inform authorities of this change to your coverage status. As a result, you will be banned from the road and must re-apply to have your license restored. Take note: You will also have to restart the SR-22 maintenance period from scratch.