fbpx
mainlogo
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn
Car Insurance Quote
Phone(855) 587-2494

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Cheyenne, Wyoming

When searching for cheap car insurance in Cheyenne, Wyoming, narrowing down your options can seem like a losing battle. Every insurance company uses a different formula to determine premiums, and your unique driver profile will ultimately determine which provider is best for you. Our Geeks set out to simplify the process of finding low-cost coverage in WY.

Read on to learn the results of our study.

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Cheyenne

Best Car Insurance Companies

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Cheyenne

If you’ve been shopping around for a new policy in Cheyenne, you’ve already figured out that the only way to score the cheapest rates is to compare coverage options from a wide variety of local providers. We’ve created a shortlist of recommended insurers for specific motorist categories below:

 

Cheapest InsurerDriver Category
Liberty MutualSafe Drivers
USAADrivers in the Military
Allstate
High-Risk Drivers
State FarmSenior Drivers

Best Car Insurance Companies in Cheyenne

Our Geeks put Cheyenne’s car insurance companies under the microscope, taking into consideration industry data and customer feedback to find the best providers in the city. Take a look at our rankings below:

 

RankCompanyOur Rating
1State FarmA
2ProgressiveA
3Allstate
A-
4Liberty MutualB+
5USAAB

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Cheyenne

Drivers in Cheyenne must comply with the state’s insurance laws requiring motorists to purchase coverage meeting the following mandated minimum liability limits:

  • Total Bodily Injuries in One Accident: $50,000
  • Bodily Injuries to One Individual in One Crash: $25,000
  • Property Damage: $20,000

Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Cheyenne

Whether you forgot to renew your car insurance policy, purchased inadequate coverage, or decided to scrap your insurance to save money, you will face serious penalties for driving uninsured in Cheyenne. At any point while you’re on the road, law enforcement officers can demand to see proof that you are covered up to the state’s mandated minimum liability limits. Failure to do so can result in the following penalties:

First Offense

  • Up to $750 in fines
  • Up to 6 months behind bars
  • SR-22 maintenance requirements for 3 years
  • License suspension until you are able to prove to the courts, Department of Transport, or state Department of Motor Vehicles that you are covered

Second or Subsequent Offense

  • Up to $1,500 in fines
  • Prison sentence to be determined by the courts
  • SR-22 maintenance requirements for 3 years;
  • License suspension until you are able to prove to the courts, Department of Transport, or state Department of Motor Vehicles that you are covered

In Cheyenne, driving without insurance is classed as a misdemeanor. If you’re caught and subsequently convicted for violating the state’s insurance laws this transgression may be entered into your permanent criminal record. While you can file to have this violation expunged from your record at a later date, this type of conviction may lead to an increase in your insurance premium.

Cheyenne Car Insurance FAQs

How do I reinstate my driver’s license in Cheyenne, WY?

If your license and/or registration was suspended due to a Driving Without Insurance offense in Cheyenne or elsewhere in the state, you will have to first fulfill SR-22 maintenance requirements before your driving privileges are restored. As part of this process you will have to purchase a policy insuring you as an individual as opposed to just your vehicle. This new insurance must meet the state’s minimum liability limits.

Your insurer will also be required file an SR-22 form/certificate on your behalf to confirm that you are carrying insurance. In addition to completing this step, you will also need to pay reinstatement and processing fees.

What is acceptable proof of insurance in Cheyenne?

In Wyoming, authorities will accept both physical and electronic evidence of a current policy. These forms of proof can include an official insurance card from your provider, a copy of the declarations page of your policy document, or electronic confirmation (such as an email) from your insurer showing you are currently covered.

 

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Cheyenne, Wyoming