At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Finding cheap auto insurance in Wisconsin can be a daunting and time-consuming task due to the sheer number of insurance providers. To help you narrow down the options, our team evaluated the insurance quotes of top providers to identify the lowest rates in the state.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Wisconsin
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Wisconsin
You’ll have to compare quotes from different providers to find the best rates. To get you started, our Geeks performed a comparison study of their own for different driver categories:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Senior Drivers|
|Allstate||Drivers with a DUI|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Wisconsin
We took into account complaint data and policyholder reviews to find the best providers in the state. The table below is a snapshot of our findings:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Wisconsin
Drivers in Wisconsin are required by law to purchase auto insurance coverage with at least the following minimum limits:
- $25,000 For Bodily Injuries To One Individual In One Wreck
- $50,000 For Total Bodily Injuries Caused In One Accident
- $10,000 For Damage To Property
- $25,000 Per Person For Bodily Injuries Caused By An Uninsured Driver
- $50,000 Per Accident For Bodily Injuries Caused By An Uninsured Driver
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Wisconsin
Wisconsin’s rolling hills are the perfect backdrop for laidback Sundays firing up the grill and spending time with loved ones. But local authorities are anything but laidback when it comes to enforcing the state’s strict mandatory minimum insurance laws.
In recent years, traffic officers have upped the ante in an effort to curb a scourge of uninsured drivers. It’s estimated that 14% of the Badger State’s motorists are putting tread to tarmac without insurance. If authorities find out you’re one of them – either through regular checks with local insurers or after an accident – you will:
- Be fined $510;
- Have your license and registration suspended until you can prove that you have an insurance policy; and
- Be made to fork over $60 in fees to have your license and registration reinstated.
If you end up in an accident and cannot present proof of that your vehicle is insured, your registration and license will be suspended for up to the three years. You may also become the target of a lawsuit where the outcome could see you paying for another driver’s repair bills and medical expenses out of your own pocket.
Wisconsin Car Insurance FAQs
How Do I File an Auto Insurance Claim in Wisconsin?
1. Obtain a Police Report
You need to prove to the insurer that an accident took place. A police report not only is verifiable evidence that you were involved in a collision but also might help show that another driver caused the crash.
2. Swap Information
Your insurer needs contact details for all the drivers involved in the accident. Exchange names, numbers and insurance information with the other motorists. Bonus points: take down the names and numbers of anyone who may have witnessed the accident.
3. Take Pictures
Photographic evidence will help bolster your claim. Apart from snapping pictures of any damage to the vehicles involved, you should also document skid marks on the road, traffic signs, and weather and lighting conditions.
4. Contact Your Insurance Company
Once you are armed with this mountain of evidence, it is time to contact your insurer to report your accident and lodge your claim.\
5. Follow Up
In an at-fault state, an insurance claim can often take weeks to process. Contact your insurer to make sure your claim does not fall through the cracks.
What Are Common Reasons Why Auto Insurance Claims Are Denied in Wisconsin?
1. You Misunderstood Your Policy
Buying insurance without first doing your research is a trap far too many drivers fall into. Think of it like this: you wouldn’t buy a new television without first checking to see if a unit has all the features you’re looking for. Same goes for your new policy.
Not understanding your policy may lead to filing claims for damage that isn’t covered.
2. You Took Too Long to Report the Accident
Most states require you to report a crash wherein someone is injured or killed to the local authorities. Wisconsin is no different. Failing to report your accident to your insurance company in time may also derail your claim as insurers have strict time limits for successful claims.
3. You Were Intoxicated
If the police report states that you were under the influence when the accident took place, it is unlikely that your insurer will pay out your claim.
4. You Missed Your Monthly Payments
Maintaining your insurance policy boils down to one fundamental responsibility: paying your premiums. Failing to do so will immediately nullify your contract with your insurer and, in the event of an accident, inhibit your ability to make a claim.
5. You Took Too Long to Get a Medical Assessment
Insurers need evidence that your pain and injuries were caused by the crash. If you take too long to visit the doctor’s office, it may be difficult for your insurer to trace your injuries to the collision.
Hoes Does Wisconsin’s Driver’s License Points System Work?
While a few minor traffic violations won’t affect your driving privileges, a series of offenses can result in the suspension or revocation of your license. To keep track of violations and identify serial lawbreakers, Wisconsin makes use of a license points system. When you are convicted of a moving violation (essentially breaking the law while your vehicle is in motion) you will receive demerit points based on the nature of your transgression. More serious violations will result in more demerit points while minor offenses will add little to your overall tally.
When you accumulate 12 or more of these points in a single year, your license will be in danger. Typically, errant motorists can expect to have their driving privileges revoked or suspended for a minimum of two months after hitting the annual points maximum.
What Is a Deductible?
You may have noticed certain features of your current policy or future coverage have what’s called a deductible. Essentially, this number represents the amount you will pay after an accident before your policy kicks in to cover the cost of damages. Therefore, a low deductible can save you a significant sum of money in the event of a severe collision. However, this small deductible will also increase your premium while a high deductible can reduce your rates. For instance, if you carry collision coverage with a $500 deductible and your vehicle sustains damage tallying up to $1,000 in repairs, your insurer will cover half of this amount.
What Is Collision Coverage?
Simply put, collision insurance is a feature of your policy that will help pay to replace or repair your vehicle after it is damaged in a collision involving any object or another vehicle. This does not include damage caused to another party’s vehicle; damage to your car caused by theft, fires, or any other “act of God;” or injuries you or other parties sustained in the accident.
What Happens If I’m Involved in an Accident with an Uninsured Driver?
While you may be following the rules of the road, some motorists risk it all by driving with no insurance. About 14% of Wisconsin’s road users in 2015 were driving without coverage. In the aftermath of a collision with one of these risk takers, their bad planning may become your bad luck. Wisconsin is a tort state, which means the party at fault for causing the accident has to cover the cost of damages sustained by all the parties involved. If you were at fault, those costs will come out of your own insurance. But if the uninsured motorist is to blame, you may not be able to recover the compensation you deserve. Fortunately, most providers offer a feature known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, which will kick in to foot the bill if you’re involved in an accident with one of these errant drivers.
What Are Some Important Wisconsin Traffic Laws?
While you may not be able to avoid a crash caused by a reckless driver, you can maintain an otherwise spotless permanent driving record by following Wisconsin’s traffic laws. Read on for a detailed breakdown of some of the most important regulations:
Wisconsin Texting and Driving Laws
Stuck in traffic with no end in sight, it’s tempting to whip out your phone and shoot off a few texts. But in Wisconsin, a tap on the touchscreen could leave you begging for your “one” phone call from jail. Using your smartphone device while driving, whether you’re hurtling down a highway or stopped at an intersection, is illegal throughout the state. Newly licensed drivers are subject to even stricter rules and are forbidden from using their phone entirely, even with a hands-free kit.
Wisconsin Drunk Driving Laws
Wisconsin’s drunk driving laws are some of the strictest in the country. According to the traffic code, it’s illegal for a person over age 21 to drive:
- When his or her blood or breath alcohol concentration is equal to or exceeds 0.08% (roughly a glass of wine);
- When he or she is under the influence of any other intoxicant; or
- When there is a detectable amount of any restricted controlled substance or any other drug present in his or her blood.
Drivers under the age of 21 are expected to maintain a state of “absolute sobriety” whenever they are behind the wheel.
Wisconsin Child Safety Seat Laws
In an effort to keep children safe during a crash, Wisconsin’s department of transport has introduced a series of laws that when followed should give your little one every advantage he or she needs in the event of the worst-case scenario. Children under 4 years old and weighing less than 40 lbs must be restrained in an approved child car seat. Children under age 8, weighing less than 40 lbs, and measuring less than 5 ft tall must make use of a booster seat.
If you’re caught breaking these laws, you may have to fork out between $150 to $270 in fines based on the age of your child and whether this is your first, second, or subsequent offense.
Wisconsin Drugged Driving Laws
It is illegal to drive under the influence of any drugs in Wisconsin. Even prescription or over-the-counter drugs can be hazardous on the road. For this reason, the penalties for drugged driving can include fines, revoked privileges, and even incarceration.
Failure to submit to a blood test if a police officer suspects you of operating a vehicle with drugs in your system will result in an immediate license revocation.
What Is a Habitual Offender?
In Wisconsin, a Habitual Offender is someone who commits four or more major infractions or 12 or more minor ones over the course of five years. If you are labeled a Habitual Offender, your license will be revoked for five years. You may be able to earn an occupational license after two years in some cases.
How Can I Reinstate a Revoked License? After waiting the required revocation time, drivers wishing to reinstate their license must file proof of financial responsibility and pay a fee. In the case that your license was revoked for eight or more years, you will also have to retake a skills test.
The Breakdown: Wisconsin Car Accident Statistics
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) recorded a total of 613 traffic fatalities in Wisconsin in 2017. Of those deaths, 190 (a whopping 31 percent) were connected to crashes caused by alcohol. Additionally, 180 fatalities were connected to crashes caused by speeding, and 77 were motorcyclists, 56 were pedestrians, and 7 were bicyclists.