At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
There are plenty of car insurance companies offering competitive rates in Richmond, Virginia. But how to you narrow down the best provider for your particular needs? On this page, we’ve listed our picks for the most affordable and best carriers.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Richmond
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Richmond
The cost of auto insurance can dramatically different from one provider to the next. Our Geeks did the legwork to identify the most affordable providers for different policyholder profiles.
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Metromile||Low Annual Mileage|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Senior Drivers|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Richmond
Price isn’t the only factor to consider when choosing an insurance provider. The table below outlines our recommendations based on consumer complaint data and reviews.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Richmond
Drivers in Virginia do not need to purchase insurance to make use of state roads. However, if you choose to drive without coverage, you will first have to pay the state’s annual $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee to avoid penalties down the line.
It’s estimated that 10% of motorists in Virginia are driving without adequate insurance. While you’ll save money by ditching your policy, without this layer of financial protection, you stand to lose thousands of dollars in an accident. To comply with the state’s minimum liability limits, you must buy coverage up to the following amounts:
• $25,000 for Un/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage
• $20,000 for Un/Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage
• $25,000 for Liability Coverage For Bodily Injuries
• $20,000 for Liability Coverage For Property Damage
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Richmond
The River City is smooth sailing for most motorists, but if you’re caught driving with no insurance and haven’t paid Virginia’s uninsured motor vehicle fee, you could find yourself treading water. Not only will your license be suspended, the violation may be entered into your criminal record.
To reinstate your license, you will need to purchase a new policy meeting the state’s minimum liability limits. You will then have to complete and file an SR-22 document with state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This form is proof that you, as an individual, possess adequate coverage. Once you have paid $145 to cover administrative fees and applied to have your license restored, you may finally return to the road.
Richmond Car Insurance FAQs
How Does Richmond Assign Points?
When you commit a traffic violation in the city, you risk earning demerit points on your license. These points will remain on your driving record for two years. If you are convicted for any misdemeanors or serious criminal offenses on the road, these convictions will remain on your record for up to 11 years.
Six demerits are assigned to more serious offenses including driving while intoxicated, driving on a revoked license, and attempting to evade police. Four-point violations include offenses such as driving in the wrong direction on a one-way road, failing to yield to a pedestrian or funeral procession, and disregarding a police officer’s orders to stop. Three-point violations include improper passing, speeding, driving while using headphones, and driving without lights on at night.
If you collect 12 demerits within a year or 18 within two, you will have to complete a driver improvement clinic. This clinic bust be completed within three months. If you fail to comply with these requirements, your license could be revoked.
If you accumulate 18 demerits in a year or 24 within two, your driving privilege will be suspended for up to three months. You will also have to participate and complete in the same driver improvement clinic classes.