Getting the best car insurance deals in Norfolk, Virginia might require some research. To speed things up, our team crunched the numbers to identify some of the most affordable and best auto insurance companies.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Norfolk
If you’re paying too much for coverage, you might benefit from switching to a provider who caters to your particular driver profile. The table below can help get your search off to a strong start.
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Metromile||Low Annual Mileage|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Senior Drivers|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Norfolk
If a car insurance company has a high rate of policyholder dissatisfaction, it might be best to look elsewhere for coverage. Our team looked at complaint data to find the best providers in the area.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Norfolk
Taking a drive in Norfolk? Make sure you have insurance. While coverage is optional in the city, you run the risk of experiencing severe financial loss in a serious crash if you don’t have insurance. Additionally, you will still need to pay $500 in uninsured motor vehicle fees to avoid any penalties on the road. To protect yourself on the road, make sure you have auto insurance meeting the following limits:
• $25,000 in Liability Coverage For Bodily Injuries
• $20,000 in Liability Coverage For Property Damage
• $25,000 in Un/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage Per Person
• $20,000 in Un/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage Per Accident
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Norfolk
The second-most populated city in Virginia is a hive of activity, but this also makes the metro a hotbed for crashes. While insurance will protect you against severe financial loss in an accident, it’s estimated that one tenth of motorists in the state do not possess adequate coverage. If you’re stopped on the road, cannot present proof of a valid auto insurance policy, and haven’t paid the mandatory uninsured motor vehicle fee, you’ll discover why 90% of Virginia’s road users choose to purchase coverage.
For the offense, you may be fined $500, your license and vehicle’s registration may be suspended, and the infraction may be entered into your criminal record. However, the headaches don’t end there. In order to reinstate your license, you will need to purchase a new an auto insurance policy, file an SR-22 certificate with the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), and cover $145 in administrative and processing fees.
Keep in mind that in Virginia driving without insurance is a Class C Misdemeanor and a conviction could impact your ability to rent an apartment, find work, or secure child custody.
Norfolk Car Insurance FAQs
Do I Need SR-22 Insurance in Norfolk?
If you’re caught committing a serious traffic violation such as driving while intoxicated, causing a collision, or driving with no coverage, your license will be suspended. To restore your driving privilege, you will need purchase what is known as “SR-22 insurance”.
Technically, this isn’t a type of insurance, but an agreement between you and an insurer wherein your provider files this document with the state DMV to prove that you have complied with local insurance laws. As you are now considered a high-risk driver, SR-22 insurance will cost more than the average policy.