If you’ve been searching for cheap car insurance in Newport News, Virginia, you may have noticed just how many companies are vying for your business. To help you narrow down the options, our Geeks crunched the numbers to identify some of the most affordable and best auto insurance carriers in the area.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Newport News
Paying too much for auto insurance could take a significant bite out of your monthly budget. To avoid buyer’s remorse, it’s a good idea to compare multiple quotes. Try starting with one of the companies below.
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Metromile||Low Annual Mileage|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Senior Drivers|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Newport News
Finding a reliable auto insurance company can be just as important as finding an affordable one. The table below outlines our picks for the best providers in the area.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Newport News
Home to military bases and training camps, Newport News rewards the most disciplined drivers. While purchasing auto insurance isn’t mandatory in the state, you could be forced to fork out thousands of dollars for repairs and medical bills in the event of the worst-case scenario. We suggest purchasing a basic policy to protect yourself in a collision. Your coverage should meet the following limits:
• $25,000 in Liability Coverage For Bodily Injuries
• $20,000 in Liability Coverage For Property Damage
• $25,000 in Un/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage Per Person
• $20,000 in Un/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage Per Accident
Keep in mind that if you choose not to purchase insurance, you will have to pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee to the state Department of Motor Vehicles before you can make legal use of city or state roads.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Newport News
Using a state-wide electronic database, Newport News authorities have more than a few ways to identify and nab motorists driving with no coverage. Whether you’re caught on the road or flagged by this system, you could be fined $500 and lose your license. To make matters worse, driving with no coverage is categorized as a Class C Misdemeanor in Virginia and a successful conviction could be entered into your criminal record.
If you want to reinstate your license in Newport News, you will first have to purchase coverage meeting the state’s minimum liability limits and then file an SR-22 certificate confirming that you are now insured. Once you have applied to have your driving privileges restored and paid the $145 processing fee, your license will be reinstated.
Newport News Car Insurance FAQs
What Is Roadside Assistance Coverage?
Whether it’s a flat tire or engine failure, having a team of pros ready to help you swop out for a spare or tow your car to the shop will give you peace of mind on the road. Roadside Assistance Coverage (often referred to as Towing and Labor Coverage) is an optional feature that will give you access a variety of emergency services including:
• Oil, gas, or water delivery
What Is Comprehensive Coverage?
Comprehensive Coverage covers any property damage stemming from an event that wasn’t a collision. This can include damage caused by hail, flooding, theft, vandalism, protests, fires, and more. This relatively expensive policy feature is only worth the added cost if you live in high-crime areas or in places where natural disasters and extreme weather conditions are common.