There are dozens of car insurance companies that offer coverage in Hampton, Virginia. But which offers the cheapest rates for your needs? On this page, you’ll find our choices for the most affordable and best providers.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Hampton
If you’re searching for cheap car insurance in Hampton, a good start might be getting quotes from one or more of the companies listed below. We looked at rates for different driver profiles to find the most affordable premiums.
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Metromile||Low Annual Mileage|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Senior Drivers|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Hampton
Many people buy car insurance without looking at consumer complaints or review data. We examined both when searching for the best auto insurance companies.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Hampton
Perched on miles of accessible shoreline, Hampton is an idyllic retreat for residents and visitors alike. But for every quiet beach there are hundreds of busy intersections and roads where accidents are commonplace. Whether it’s a fender bender or three car pile-up, it pays to have a comprehensive insurance policy to absorb the cost of repairs and medical treatments.
While purchasing a policy isn’t required in Virginia – you can avoid penalties on the road by paying the annual uninsured motor vehicle fee – we still recommend investing in a basic policy to ensure you are protected in a crash. The minimum liability limits in the state include:
• $25,000 in Liability Coverage For Bodily Injuries
• $20,000 in Liability Coverage For Property Damage
• $20,000 in Un/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage Per Accident
• $25,000 in Un/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage Per Person
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Hampton
Crashes happen in seconds, but the resulting costs can impact your life for years. In the event of an accident, the right insurance policy can mean the difference between bankruptcy and bouncing back. However, despite the benefits of carrying auto insurance, an estimated 10% of all motorists in Virginia choose to drive with no coverage. It’s an unnecessary risk that not only leaves you exposed to severe financial loss, but can also land you in trouble with the law.
If you’re nabbed on the road, cannot present proof of a valid insurance policy, and haven’t paid the state’s uninsured motor vehicle fee, you will be fined $500 and your license could be suspended. In Hampton, driving with no insurance is classed as a misdemeanor. As a result, a successful conviction will be reflected as part of your criminal record.
If you want to reinstate your license in the city, you must first comply with local SR-22 requirements. As part of this process, you need to purchase coverage meeting the Virginia’s minimum liability limits, file an SR-22 document with the state Department of Motor Vehicles, and cover $145 in processing and administrative fees.
Hampton Car Insurance FAQs
What Terms Should I Know Before Buying Auto Insurance in Hampton?
Don’t sign your name on the dotted line until you understand every part of your new policy. Brushing up on these common phrases can help you find coverage best suited to your means and needs:
Deductible: How much you pay for loss stemming from an accident before the relevant policy features kick in to cover the remaining amount.
Liability: The state of being responsible for loss sustained in a car accident. This includes damages sustained by the other party/parties involved.
Premium: The amount paid monthly or annually to maintain your insurance policy. This number is determined by a wide range of criteria, such as your age, credit history, driving record, and more.