If you don’t have car insurance in Chesapeake, Virginia, you risk serious fines and other penalties if you’re caught driving. Rather than take the risk, try searching for an auto insurance provider who offers affordable rates. This page is the perfect place to start.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Chesapeake
Don’t get stuck in a contract with a car insurance company that’s overcharging you. Try comparing quotes from multiple providers to find the best rates. The table below lists our picks for the most affordable insurers for various driver profiles.
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Metromile||Low Annual Mileage|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Senior Drivers|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Chesapeake
Some auto insurance companies are far more reliable and responsive than others. To find the best providers, we looked at testimonials from past and current policyholders as well as complaint data.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Chesapeake
Unlike most other states, you are not required to carry auto insurance in Virginia. However, if you elect to drive without coverage, you must first pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee to avoid penalties on the road (valid for 12 months).
While you’ll be able to skip paying premiums, if you are involved in accident you will be held liable for any damages you caused. Our Geeks recommend purchasing coverage to ensure you are protected in the event of the worst-case scenario. A basic policy must include:
• Un/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance Per Person ($25,000 or more)
• Un/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage Insurance Per Accident ($20,000 or more)
• Liability Coverage For Property Damage ($20,000 or more)
• Liability Coverage For Bodily Injuries ($25,000 or more)
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Chesapeake
With its sprawling forests, picturesque canal, and teeming wetlands, Chesapeake is popular city among those looking for a safe, lush place to call home. However, if you’re nabbed driving with no coverage and haven’t paid the state’s uninsured motor vehicle fee, those sights will come at a steep cost.
For this violation, you’ll be fined up to $500, your license will be suspended, and the offense may be entered as part of your criminal record. To make matters worse, you will have to embark on the long, frustrating and expensive process of reinstating your driving privilege. First, you will have to purchase coverage meeting the state’s minimum liability limits, then you will have to file an SR-22 certificate with Virginia’s Department of Motor Vehicles (or find an insurer willing to do so on your behalf), and finally, you will have to pay $145 in fees before your license is restored.
Chesapeake Car Insurance FAQs
How Do Auto Insurance Providers Determine Premiums in Chesapeake?
Insurance rates are regulated by the Virginia Bureau of Insurance (VBI) which has given permission to state providers to adjust premiums based on certain criteria. While a large portion of your rates are determined by your deductible and additional features, insurers may also consider the following factors when calculating your rates:
1. Your driving record;
2. Your age, gender, and marital status;
3. Your occupation;
4. Your average mileage;
5. Your coverage history;
6. Your credit score; and
7. Your car’s model, make, and age.
Chesapeake Car Accident Statistics
According to a report released by the state DMV, 19 people were killed and a further 1,838 injured in crashes in Chesapeake during 2017. Of the 2,377 collisions in the city, 131 involved one or more alcohol-impaired drivers.