At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
If you’re trying to save money by finding cheap car insurance in Erie, Pennsylvania, our team is here to help. We’ve reviewed data from several top carriers in the area to find the most affordable options.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Erie
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Metromile||Low Annual Mileage|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Teen Drivers|
FAQs About Cheap Car Insurance in Erie
What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Erie?
In Erie, motorists are required to purchase and maintain auto insurance meeting the following limits:
• $30,000 for bodily injuries in an accident
• $15,000 for bodily injuries to one person
• $5,000 for property damage
• $5,000 for medical benefits per collision
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Erie?
Home to the Erie Zoo and its lush botanical gardens, the Flagship City is the perfect combination of natural sights and city comforts. However, any plans to kick back and relax will soon be derailed if you’re caught driving with no insurance.
Local law enforcement officers are always on the hunt for motorists driving without coverage and have more than a few ways to catch these errant drivers. Using a state-wide electronic database, authorities can keep tabs on all vehicles registered in Pennsylvania. If your insurance lapses, you’ll find yourself staring down the barrel of fines, fees, and endless filing.
Even if you fly under the radar, you could still be nabbed on the road. Regardless of how you are caught out, the penalties stay the same: You will pay $300 in fines, an additional $180 in fees, and your license and registration will be suspended for three months.
Fortunately, you can circumvent your vehicle’s registration suspension period by forking over $500 to activate the civil penalty option. This will allow other drivers such as family or friends to make use of your car while your license is suspended. However, if you’re caught driving with no insurance again within 12 months of your last violation, you will not be allowed to pay the civil penalty and will have to wait until the three-month suspension period is done before your vehicle can be used again.
Will My Insurance Rates Increase After a No-Fault Accident?
While you may not have been responsible for causing the crash, your premiums could still increase. Insurers make use of decades of research to construct risk profiles for drivers. Statistically, motorists who are involved in an accident are far more likely to crash again than those who have no recent collisions on their driving record.
What Is Collision Coverage?
Collision coverage will reimburse you for any property damage your car sustains in an accident involving another vehicle or object.
What Is Comprehensive Coverage?
This type of coverage will protect you against damage stemming from non-collision events such as hailstorms, fires, protests, theft, vandalism, and more.