fbpx
mainlogo
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn
Car Insurance Quote
Phone(855) 587-2494

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Oregon (2019)

Advertising Disclosure

At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.

We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

It’s easy to feel lost in the shuffle when you’re searching for cheap auto insurance rates in Oregon. With dozens of companies to choose from and countless discounts to consider, it’s not easy to noodle out the best rates for your particular needs and budget. At PennyGeeks, we decided to make the process a whole lot easier by conducting a study based on quote data from several leading insurance providers to find the best and most affordable carriers in the state.

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Oregon

Best Car Insurance Companies

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance

Oregon Car Insurance FAQs

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Oregon

If you want to find the most affordable rates in Oregon, you’ll have to look at premiums from more than one auto insurance provider. We conducted a comparison study of our own for different driver categories. The following table summarizes our findings:

 

CompanyCheapest For
Liberty MutualSafe Drivers
USAADrivers in the Military
MetromileLow Annual Mileage
EsuranceDrivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront
AllstateTeen Drivers
State FarmDrivers with a DUI

Best Car Insurance Companies in Oregon

We looked at complaint data and customer reviews to determine which carriers in Oregon were the best of the best. Below you’ll find an overview of our findings:

 

RankCompanyOur Rating
1NationwideA
2AllstateA
3State FarmA-
4MetromileA-
5USAAB+
6Liberty MutualB
7EsuranceB

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Oregon

In Oregon, it is a legal requirement for all drivers to have car insurance that covers the following minimum limits:

  • $25,000 For Bodily Injury Per Person / $50,000 Per Collision
  • $20,000 For Property Damage
  • $15,000 In Personal Injury Protection
  • $25,000 In Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage Per Person / $50,000 Per Collision

Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Oregon

Oregon’s roads wind through scenic vistas and lead to lush parks and quaint towns. But if you’re driving without insurance, they could take you straight to jail.

Nearly 1 in 10 of Oregon’s drivers are uninsured. Those coverage dodgers are risking hefty fines, time behind bars and learning to live without a license.

The state’s Department of Motor Vehicles now makes use of a database of auto insurance records to keep track of who is making legal use of the nation’s tar. If the system detects that your insurance has lapsed, you will be requested to provide proof of insurance to show that your vehicle’s coverage meets the state minimums.

If you fail to do so, your license plates will be suspended. You’ll be forced to fork over a small fee and present proof of up-to-date liability coverage to the Department to get your car back on the road. However, if you’re caught by authorities behind the wheel without insurance, you could face even more severe penalties:

First Offense

If it is your first time being caught behind the wheel of a car without insurance, you will be charged with a Class B traffic violation and fined between $130 and $1,000. You will then be mandated to provide proof of insurance for a minimum period of three years.

Second Offense

On a second or subsequent offense you, will be strapped with a minimum fine of $427, and your license will be suspended for a period of one year. You will need to pay a fee and provide evidence of a current insurance policy to have your license reinstated.

Oregon Car Insurance FAQs

What Terms Should I Know Before Buying Car Insurance In Oregon?

Fault: While Oregon drivers can include “no fault” provisions as part of a standard policy, motorists can still sue the other parties involved for injuries and other damages sustained in a crash. Typically, fault is measured as a percentage point. For example, the claims adjuster or courts may conclude that you were 30% at fault for causing an accident and you could now be held liable for 30% of the loss.

Claim: After suffering loss in an accident that is covered by your policy, you will submit a formal request to your provider asking to be reimbursed for expenses such as your repair costs or medical bill. This is what is known as a claim.

Claims adjuster: Someone at an insurance company responsible for investigating and settling claims to ensure those involved in an accident receive fair compensation for damages sustained.

Collision coverage: A feature of your policy that covers physical damage to your car caused by a collision with an object or vehicle. This component of your insurance will also pay for property damage sustained after rolling your car.

Comprehensive coverage: A policy feature that pays for damages caused by anything other than a collision, including natural disasters, fires, vandalism, theft, and protests.

Official accident report: When police visit the scene of a crash, officers will compile an official report on the accident. This report includes important information such as the names, contact details, and blood alcohol content of the drivers involved and any evidence that may help prove who was at fault. This document forms the backbone of a claims adjuster’s investigation.

Deductible: The amount you will have to pay to cover loss before your policy features absorb the remainder. A high deductible will net you lower premiums but puts you at risk of severe financial loss. A low deductible inverts this equation, increasing your premium but saving you money in the event of the worst.

Premium: This is how much you will have to pay – typically annually, quarterly, or monthly – to maintain your coverage. Premiums are calculated based on a wide variety of factors that can include your driving record, driving habits, age, marital status, your credit history, your car make, your car year, your car model, and more.

Uninsured Motorist Protection: While you may be carrying auto insurance, an estimated 8% of drivers in the state have not purchased a policy meeting the state’s mandated minimum liability limits. In an accident, an uninsured motorist may not have the financial means to compensate you for loss sustained. This type of insurance protects you against uninsured drivers, kicking in to cover the costs of damages when the at-fault party’s policy falls short.

What Are Some Simple Ways to Reduce My Car Insurance Premium in Oregon?

A watertight insurance policy can cost a small fortune to maintain. That’s because insurers calculate your rates based on a long list of criteria, including your car’s make, your driving record, and more. While many of these factors are out of your control, you can take a few simple steps right now to reduce the cost of your annual, quarterly, or monthly premium down the line. Auto insurance providers reward motorists for practicing safer driving habits – follow these five steps to prove you’re worthy of a discount:

  1. Avoid accidents for a few years;
  2. Drive less and ask your insurer about their low mileage discounts;
  3. Study state traffic laws;
  4. Finish a driving safety course;
  5. Purchase a vehicle equipped with modern safety features; and
  6. Never drive while intoxicated.

If your provider does not offer discounts, rewards, or loyalty bonuses for following some of these steps, you should consider switching to an insurer that does. Many auto insurance companies offer discounts to drivers looking to transfer their policies.

What Is the Multi-Car Insurance Discount?

Multi-car insurance is exactly what it says on the can: A policy that covers more than one vehicle under a central plan. You can often snag a discounted rate when opting for this type of coverage. Plus, if you need to insure a teen driver, purchasing a multi-car policy can help circumvent the high rates associated with covering inexperienced, “high-risk” motorists.

Can My Premiums Increase After a Not-at-Fault Accident in Oregon?

You filed a claim, proved you were not at-fault, and you were reimbursed by your provider. But why did your premiums still increase? Unfortunately, insurers calculate your rates based on your unique risk profile which includes factors such as your accident history. If you were involved in a collision, regardless of whether you were at-fault or not, data shows that you are now even more likely to crash again.

Providers in the state don’t just calculate your premiums based on your recent collisions, but will also take into account the following details:

  • Driving experience;
  • Previous traffic violations;
  • Average annual mileage;
  • Credit History; and
  • Make, model, and age of your vehicle.

What If I Was Partially at Fault for an Accident?

Due to Oregon’s comparative or contributory negligence rule, you may still be able to recover compensation for damages even if you were partially to blame for causing the accident. For example, if the court finds that you were 30% at fault for the accident, you may recover up to 70% of your damages from the guilty party. However, if it is determined that you are at least 50% to blame, you are not entitled to any compensation.

What Are Some Common Mistakes to Avoid After a Car Accident In Oregon?

1. Not Keeping a Detailed Record

Whether it’s an email chain between you and your insurer or a copy of the police report, ensure that you document every step of the process. A written record is a precious resource that will help you prove your case and avoid a liability dispute.

2. Foregoing the Medical Evaluation

You feel fine, right? Unfortunately, as evolved as the human anatomy may be, we’re not designed to detect certain injuries that will later wreak havoc with our lives. Fortunately, your doctor can conduct scans and tests to determine whether you were seriously hurt in a crash.

For example, while you may not be feeling any discomfort right now, even a small crash can put untold strain on your neck, leading to debilitating pain that requires expensive procedures and medication to treat.

What Are Some Important Oregon Traffic Laws?

Oregon Adult Seatbelt Laws

Buckling up before you hit the road will reduce your risk of dying in an accident by 45%. By law, drivers and passengers in Oregon must wear seatbelts (if available) while the vehicle is moving. This law applies to passenger vehicles, motor homes, and trucks.

Oregon Drunk Driving Laws

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, nearly 1,300 people were killed in accidents involving drunk drivers in the decade between 2003-2012. While these numbers are far below the national average, local law enforcement is constantly on the hunt for inebriated rulebreakers. If you’re caught driving over the 0.08% legal alcohol limit (0.04% for motorists operating commercial vehicles, 0.02% for drivers under 21) you could face the following penalties:

  • First offense:
    • License suspended for up to 1 year;
    • Fines of up to $10,000;
    • 80 hours of community service or between 2 days to 1 year behind bars;
    • Compulsory enrollment in and completion of a drug and alcohol program;
    • Mandatory participation in the Victim’s Impact Panel Program; and
    • Ignition interlock device in your car.
  • Second offense (within 10 years of the first):
    • License suspended for up to 3 years;
    • Fines of up to $10,000;
    • Up to 1 year behind bars;
    • Compulsory enrollment in and completion of a drug and alcohol program;
    • Mandatory participation in the Victim’s Impact Panel Program; and
    • Ignition interlock device in your car.
  • Third or subsequent (within 10 years of the second);
    • License suspended permanently;
    • Fines of up to $10,000;
    • 5 years behind bars;
    • Compulsory enrollment in and completion of a drug and alcohol program; and
    • Mandatory participation in the Victim’s Impact Panel Program.

Refusing to take an alcohol test – regardless of whether you were drinking or not – will also result in severe penalties. By driving on state roads, you enter into a contract with authorities agreeing to blood alcohol testing at any time while driving. The penalties for refusing to take a chemical test include:

  • Criminal charge;
  • Up to $1,000 in fines;
  • License suspension; and
  • Additional administrative penalties.

Oregon Car Accident Statistics

In 2016, 448 drivers and passengers were killed and a further 30,284 injured in road accidents in Oregon, according to the state Department of Transport. During that same period, there were 847 reported crashes involving cyclists, 1,078 involving pedestrians, and 1,085 involving motorcycles.

The most common driver errors reported included:

  • Turning left in front of on-coming traffic
  • Failing to maintain a safe following distance
  • Not yielding right of way
  • Driving off the road
  • Inattention / careless driving
  • Speeding
  • Failing to maintain lane
cheapest car insurance in oregon

Browse the PennyGeeks blog to find helpful FAQs about auto insurance.