fbpx
mainlogo
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn
Car Insurance Quote
Phone(855) 587-2494

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Oklahoma (2019)

Advertising Disclosure

At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.

We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

From your age to your driving record to your location, there are many factors that influence the amount you pay for car insurance. If you’re searching for cheap auto insurance in Oklahoma, you’ll find that the quotes you get from one company might be significantly different from the next. To take the hassle out of comparing auto insurance rates, our team evaluated premiums from several top providers to find the best deals in The Sooner State.

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Oklahoma

Best Car Insurance Companies

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance

Oklahoma Car Insurance FAQs

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Oklahoma

To find the cheapest rates in Oklahoma, you’ll have to compare quotes from multiple providers. In the table below, we’ve outlined the results of our comparison study for different driver categories:

 

CompanyCheapest For
Liberty MutualSafe Drivers
USAADrivers in the Military
EsuranceDrivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront
Allstate
Drivers with a DUI
State FarmTeen Drivers

Best Car Insurance Companies in Oklahoma

Using consumer data and complaint records, we ranked Oklahoma’s best auto insurance companies. Take a look at the table below for an overview of our findings:

 

RankCompanyOur Rating
1State FarmA
2Allstate
B+
3Liberty MutualB+
4USAAB
5EsuranceB-

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, drivers are required to carry auto insurance that meets the following minimum liability limits:

  • $25,000 To Cover Bodily Injuries To One Person
  • $50,000 To Cover Bodily Injuries Per Wreck
  • $25,000 To Cover Damage To Property

Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, driving without auto insurance is a misdemeanor offense. If you are caught behind the wheel of a vehicle without insurance, driving with lapsed coverage or driving without your insurance card at hand, you will be fined.

If you are involved in an accident and cannot present proof that you are insured, you may be forced to cover the cost of any injuries and property damage sustained by both yourself and the other parties involved.

Penalties at a Checkpoint

At Oklahoma’s numerous routine checkpoints, you may be required to present proof of your insurance policy to traffic officers. Authorities can also enter your license plate number into a database wherein information provided by insurance companies in the state will verify whether you are insured or not.

If you are not insured or your coverage has lapsed, your registration will be suspended and you will be strapped with a $250 fine. In some cases, your vehicle may be towed, but it is more likely that officers will confiscate your plates and assign you a 10-day Temporary Motorist Liability Plan that covers the minimum amount mandated by the state.

During this time, you will still be able to use your vehicle but will be required to pay a fine, a $275 reinstatement fee, $125 administrative fee and present proof of current liability coverage to reinstate your registration. If you fail to do so, you will be charged and could face up to a month behind bars and have your license suspended for an entire year.

Penalties After an Accident

Driving without the state-mandated minimum liability coverage in Oklahoma is risky business. While being nabbed at a checkpoint or detected on the state’s database carries several implications, the penalties incurred after an accident can financially set you back for life.

If you have been involved in a crash and cannot provide proof of insurance, you will be charged with a misdemeanor and will most likely have to pay a $250 fine, serve up to 30 days in jail and could be held financially liable for any damage caused in the crash.

Your license and registration will also be suspended for a year, and your vehicle may be impounded. To reinstate your driving privileges after the suspension period, you will have to fork up $400 in reinstatement and administrative fees and present proof of an up-to-date auto insurance policy to the court.

Oklahoma Car Insurance FAQs

Can I File an Auto Insurance Claim If I Was Partially At-Fault for an Accident in Oklahoma?

Yes. In Oklahoma, the driver responsible for causing the accident is also responsible for covering the costs of the resulting injuries and damages. But in many cases, multiple parties are liable for a single collision.

Insurance companies will look at all factors, from witness statements and police reports to evidence collected from the scene, when assigning liability to each driver. Fault is assigned to each driver as a percentage, and your damages award will be reduced by your percentage of fault.

What Are the Biggest Mistakes to Avoid When Filing a Car Insurance Claim?

1. Not Documenting the Scene

If you fail to gather evidence at the scene, you are opening the door to a potential liability dispute. To give your claim the best chance of success, try to gather as much evidence at the scene as possible including photos of property damage and injuries, witness contact details, and other drivers’ insurance information.

2. Waiting Too Long to File the Claim

The difference between reaching a settlement or being forced to take out a loan to cover medical costs and repair bills is often as simple as picking up the phone. Too often, motorists with bulletproof claims derail their eventual payday by procrastinating that inevitable phone call with their insurance company.

Aim to contact your insurance company within 24 hours of the accident, when evidence at the scene and witness testimonies are still fresh.

What Are Some Important Oklahoma Traffic Laws All Drivers Should Know?

Oklahoma’s traffic laws aren’t designed to make your life difficult, but rather to keep you and your passengers safe on the road. Here are a just a few of the state’s most important traffic laws you should always follow:

Oklahoma DUI Laws

Even a small alcoholic drink can impair your motor skills and decision making. But too often, Oklahoma road users risk severe injury or death by driving under the influence of alcohol.

The legal blood alcohol limit in the state is 0.08% for drivers 21 and older, 0.04% for motorists operating commercial vehicles, and 0.02% for young motorists under 21. For the average person, 0.08% blood alcohol content (BAC) is the amount of alcohol you would have in your system after consuming 1 to 2 drinks, such as downing two 12-ounce pours of domestic beer.

When you drive in Oklahoma, you enter into an unspoken contract (known as Implied Consent) with authorities agreeing to blood alcohol testing at any time while driving. If you test over the legal drinking limit, you could face the following penalties:

  • First offense:
    • Misdemeanor charge;
    • Between 10 days to 1 year behind bars;
    • 180-day license suspension;
    • Fines up to $1,000; and
    • $540 in trauma care, mental health, processing, reinstatement, ignition interlock device and limited-driving privilege fees.
  • Second offense:
    • Felony charge;
    • Between 1 to 5 years behind bars;
    • 1-year license suspension
    • Fines up to $2,500; and
    • $540 in trauma care, mental health, processing, reinstatement, ignition interlock device and limited-driving privilege fees.
  • Third or subsequent offense:
    • Felony charge;
    • Between 1 to 10 years behind bars;
    • 3-year license suspension;
    • Fines up to $5,000; and
    • $540 in trauma care, mental health, processing, reinstatement, ignition interlock device and limited-driving privilege fees.

Warning: If you are pulled over and tests reveal that your BAC is between 0.05% and 0.08%, law enforcement officers can still charge you for driving under the influence. In this scenario your license could be suspended for up to 1 year, you will be fined $500, and you may have to serve six months in prison.

If you are stopped by law enforcement officers under suspicion of drunk driving, you will be required to take a breathalyzer test. Refusing to do so can result in arrest and the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.

Oklahoma Distracted Driving Laws

In 2015, it’s estimated that around 3,500 people were killed in accidents involving distracted drivers in Oklahoma. In a push to lower the number of road fatalities and injuries in the state, authorities have urged motorists to pay attention to the road. You should avoid:

  • Eating and drinking at the wheel;
  • Changing radio stations or songs on your radio while in motion;
  • Talking to other passengers; or
  • Texting on your smartphone.

Texting while driving is prohibited in Oklahoma. If you are spotted using your phone while on the road, officers could fine you as much as $100.

Oklahoma Safety Seat Laws

A child car seat is designed to cradle your child, protecting your little one from impact forces in a crash. The right restraint system can:

  • Save your child from being ejected from the vehicle;
  • Prevent head and spine injuries; and
  • Absorb shock.

By law, kids must be seated in an appropriate safety or booster seat while the vehicle is in motion.

  • Kids under the age of 2 must be seated in a rear-facing safety seat in the rear passenger seats of the car;
  • Children between the ages of 2 and 4 must be seated in an approved car seat equipped with an internal harness;
  • Kids between the ages of 4 and 8, who are shorter than 5 feet, must be seated in a restraint system or booster seat; and
  • Kids aged 8 or older, or measuring 5 feet or taller, must be buckled in using your car’s seatbelts.

When Should I Increase My Car Insurance Liability Limits in Oklahoma?

Purchasing a policy that meets the state’s mandated minimum liability limits will help you cover the costs of repairs and medical for damage and injuries sustained in an accident. However, in many cases, this type of insurance will fall short, hence why many motorists choose to increase their liability limits.

Unfortunately, there isn’t a magic formula for finding the perfect limits. The answer to this question depends on your driving habits, financial constraints, and personal circumstances. How frequently do you travel? How far do you drive? Do you commute to work? How old are you? How much did your vehicle cost? How often do you transport passengers?

Our advice: You should always purchase a policy that exceeds Oklahoma’s minimum limits as this small bump in your premium will equip you with a financial safety net in the event of the worst.

What Terms Should I Know Before Buying Car Insurance in Oklahoma?

Struggling to make sense of your coverage options? Our Geeks are here to help. Use our glossary of important auto insurance terms to decipher the details:

Deductible: A deductible is one of the most important factors insurers consider when calculating your premium. In simple terms: A deductible is the amount you will have to pay to cover costs such as vehicle repairs and medical bills before your insurer chips in to compensate you for the remainder. As a result, a low deductible will increase your premium but buy you peace of mind that your insurer will take care of your expenses after a crash. With a high deductible you take on more risk but will pay less for your policy.

Comprehensive Coverage: This addon boosts your basic policy with an additional layer of financial protection against any property damage not sustained in a collision. For example, Comprehensive Coverage would reimburse you for repairs resulting from damage caused by floods, hail, earthquakes, fires, protests, vandalism, theft, and even animal attacks.

Premium: Your premium represents how much you will have to pay to maintain your coverage. Providers will calculate this amount based on a variety of factors, including your policy features, deductibles, credit history, coverage history, risk profile, and driving record. You can lower your premium by trimming optional addons and increasing your deductible.

Uninsured Motorist Protection: It’s estimated that 10.5% of Oklahoma road users have not purchased coverage meeting the state’s mandated minimum liability limits. If you’re involved in an accident with one of these errant drivers, you can’t be certain he/she has the means to reimburse for your loss. Uninsured Motorist Protection is an optional feature which will reimburse you for any damage your vehicle sustained in an accident with an at-fault uninsured driver.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

cheapest car insurance in oklahoma

Browse through our blog to find helpful FAQs about car insurance.