mainlogo
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn GooglePlus

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in New Mexico (2019)

Advertising Disclosure

At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.

We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

With so many companies claiming to have the cheapest auto insurance rates in New Mexico, it’s tough to separate the wheat from the chaff and find the best policy for your needs. Our team has done the legwork for you and compared quotes from some of the leading insurance carriers in the state.

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in New Mexico

Best Car Insurance Companies

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance

New Mexico Car Insurance FAQs

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in New Mexico

Score cheaper rates in New Mexico by evaluating and comparing quotes from more than one auto insurance provider. Below you’ll find a list of recommendations for different types of policyholders:
 

CompanyCheapest For
Liberty MutualSafe Drivers
USAADrivers in the Military
EsuranceDrivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront
AllstateHigh-Risk Drivers
State FarmDrivers with a DUI

Best Car Insurance Companies in New Mexico

We took into account consumer feedback such as reviews and complaint data to formulate a list of New Mexico’s top auto insurance providers. Take a look at our results below:
 

RankCompanyOur Rating
1AllstateA
2Liberty MutualA-
3USAAB+
4State FarmB
5EsuranceB-

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in New Mexico

Drivers in the state of New Mexico must carry car insurance that meets these minimum liability limits:

  • For Bodily Injury To One Person: $25,000
  • For Bodily Injury Per Collision: $50,000
  • For Property Damage: $10,000

Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in New Mexico

The penalties for driving without car insurance in New Mexico include a fine of up to $300, up to 90 days in jail, and license plate confiscation or registration suspension. The fine increases to $1,000 if you do not immediately return your vehicle registration and license plates after the suspension.

New Mexico Car Insurance FAQs

How Can I Save Money on Car Insurance in New Mexico?

You might be surprised to learn just how easy it is to get your premiums reduced when you know the factors that go into your monthly car insurance rates. In particular, the following have a significant impact on your premiums:

  • Whether you have been involved in a recent collision;
  • Your history of traffic citations or lack thereof;
  • Any DUI or DWI convictions;
  • The number of years you’ve been a licensed driver;
  • Your zip code;
  • The year, make, and model of your vehicle;
  • The mileage you put on your vehicle each year; and
  • Whether you will use your car business, pleasure, or to commute.

Now it’s time to identify strategies to convince your insurance carrier that you deserve lower premiums. You may be able to do this if you:

  1. Avoid collisions for multiple consecutive years;
  2. Make a concerted effort to abide by all traffic laws;
  3. Never drive after consuming alcohol;
  4. Find out which cars are cheapest to insure and consider purchasing one; and
  5. Try to spend less time on the road to reduce your yearly mileage.

You may also want to get quotes from other insurance carriers to find out if you could reduce your premiums by switching. This is especially important if you were recently involved in a collision or convicted of DUI.

What Types of Car Insurance Are Available in New Mexico?

Bodily injury liability coverage is a type of insurance that covers expenses associated with injuries other drivers involved in accident you caused. These expenses can include treatment costs, legal fees, lost wages, funeral costs, and pain and suffering.

Property damage liability insurance covers the replacement or repair expenses of damage to another party’s property in a crash you caused. In most cases, this will cover damage to the other driver’s vehicle, but it may also kick in if you collided with someone’s personal property, such as their home’s walls.

How Can I Get My Driving Privileges Reinstated?

If your license is suspended due to a Driving Without Insurance offense, you will have to reapply to have your driving privileges reinstated. This process might require you to:

  1. Pay reinstatement fees;
  2. Apply for a new license and complete the relevant driving tests; and
  3. Enroll in an approved driver improvement course.

Fortunately, unlike many other states, you won’t have to fulfil expensive SR-22 filing requirements to restore your vehicle registration and driver’s license in New Mexico.

What Are Some Important New Mexico Traffic Laws?

New Mexico Child Safety Seat Laws

As a mother or father, your kid’s safety is your number one priority. And you’ll find no place more dangerous for your kid than on the road. Every year, accidents claim the lives of hundreds of children in the U.S.

Safety seats are designed to absorb impact forces in a crash, keeping your kid cradled in a safe position no matter how severe the accident. In New Mexico, children younger than 6 years old and weighing less than 60 pounds, must travel restrained in a child safety seat. If your child is between the ages of 6 and 12, but is too small to use your car’s seatbelts, he or she must be restrained in an appropriate booster seat.

New Mexico Drunk Driving Laws

New Mexico law enforcement officers are working around the clock to rid state roads of drunk drivers. If you’re stopped by authorities, you may be tested for drugs and/or alcohol. It’s illegal for adults older than 21 to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher (the equivalent of drinking a 12-ounce can of beer). Drivers under the age of 21 will be penalized for testing at 0.02% BAC or higher. And drivers operating a commercial vehicle must adhere to a 0.04% BAC limit.

When you drive in New Mexico (or any other part of the U.S.) you enter into an unspoken agreement to be tested at any time while on the road. As a result, motorists who refuse testing receive an automatic 365-day license suspension for violating “implied consent” laws.

If you take a chemical test and test over the limit or test positive for a traceable amount of any banned substance, you could face the following penalties:

First Offense

  • 6-month license suspension;
  • Fines up to $500;
  • Community service sentence;
  • BAC testing fees of $65; and
  • Cover the costs of additional court-ordered screening and treatment.

Second and Third Offense

  • 2-year license suspension (3-year suspension for your 3rd offense);
  • Fines up to $1,00;
  • Up to a year behind bars;
  • Community service sentence;
  • BAC testing fees of $65; and
  • Cover the additional costs of court-ordered screening and treatment.

Fourth or Subsequent Offense

  • Permanent driving ban;
  • Fines up to $5,000;
  • Minimum 6-month prison sentence;
  • BAC testing fees of $65; and
  • Cover the additional costs of court-ordered screening and treatment.

If you cause an accident while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you could be subjected to longer prison sentences and increased fines.

If you are eligible for a restricted license, you will have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle before you can drive again. This device immobilizes your vehicle until you’ve taken and completed a breathalyzer test to show that you are below the blood alcohol limit for the state. If you fail the test, your vehicle will be disabled and you will have to wait until the system resets before trying again.

New Mexico Texting and Driving Laws

A recent statewide ban on texting and driving is a new effort by lawmakers to curb the number of distracted driving-related deaths in New Mexico. According to the new laws, drivers are prohibited from texting, reading, or viewing messages on their phones while driving or stopped at traffic lights.

If you’re caught violating these laws, you could be fined $25 for your first offense. Serial offenders could be fined as much as $100 for this traffic violation.

How Does New Mexico’s License Points System Work?

Whenever you are ticketed for a traffic offense, you could receive points on your license. The number of points can vary based on the severity of your offense. For example, if you failed to use a turn signal before making a turn, you would receive only 2 points on your permanent driving record. However, if you are ticketed for street racing, you could receive a total of 6 points.

If you collect 7 to 10 points in a single year, there is no special prize, instead you could lose your license for up to three months. Accumulate 12 points or more in that same period of time and you’ll be barred from driving for a full calendar year.

Points are removed after a certain period of time has passed after the offense was first committed. Unlike many other states, such as New York, you won’t be able to take a driving safety course to reduce your points total.

Is Comprehensive Coverage Necessary in Mexico?

With a name like this, you’d think this insurance would have you covered no matter what. While, technically, this is almost true, comprehensive coverage is a feature that’s only worth your money if you live in high-crime areas or parts of the U.S. prone to fires, tornados, and other natural disasters. This optional addon will kick in to reimburse you for any damage to your vehicle caused by anything that isn’t a collision with another vehicle, object, or pothole. This can include property damage caused by:

  • Fires
  • Protests
  • Theft
  • Hailstorms
  • Tornados

In many cases, this feature can double your premiums. Unlike motorists who are leasing or financing their vehicles who have an obligation to purchase this addition to their basic policy, most of us can weigh the pros and cons before pulling the trigger.

If you live in the eastern parts of New Mexico, where tornados are prevalent, you should consider purchasing comprehensive coverage. For everyone else, our advice is simple: If you have the financial means to do so, and have an expensive car that is worth insuring against any eventuality, it’s worth forking out extra funds to include comprehensive coverage as part of your insurance.

 

 

cheapest car insurance in new mexico

Visit the PennyGeeks blog to get answers to FAQs about car insurance.