At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
If you’re like most people, then reducing your monthly expenses is one of your top priorities. Searching for cheap auto insurance in Nevada is one of the easiest ways to cut your spending, but finding the best rates requires a bit of shopping around. To help you find the best low cost auto insurance for your particular driver profile, we’ve compared the rates of several top providers in The Silver State.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Nevada
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Nevada
To score the cheapest rates in Nevada, you’ll have to look at premiums from more than one insurer. To save you time, we’ve outlined the results of our comparison study below:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|State Farm||Low Annual Mileage|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Nevada
We looked at complaint data and policyholder reviews to rank Nevada’s top auto insurance companies. You can find a breakdown of our findings below:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Nevada
In Nevada, all motorists are required to have car insurance that would cover $15,000 for bodily injury to one person, $30,000 for bodily injury in one collision, and $10,000 for property damage.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Nevada
The state of Nevada requires all motorists to purchase and maintain insurance coverage meeting the state’s minimum liability limits. These laws exist to ensure drivers have the financial means to cover injuries and property damages sustained by any other party (or parties) involved in the accident.
If you’re caught driving with no insurance, even in Vegas the odds are never in your favor. Authorities employ an advanced online verification system that keeps tabs on every vehicle registered in the state. Let your insurance lapse and you could face serious penalties, from fines and license suspensions to the vehicle impoundment.
For your first offense in Nevada, you could face the following penalties:
- Fines of up to $1,000;
- Vehicle registration suspension;
- Registration reinstatement fees totaling $250;
- SR-22 filing requirements; and
- Impounding of your car.
For your second, third, or subsequent offense:
- Fines of up to $1,000;
- License and vehicle registration suspension;
- Reinstatement fees totaling $500;
- SR-22 filing requirements for a period of 3 years; and
- Impounding of your car.
Nevada Car Insurance FAQs
What Is SR-22 Insurance in Nevada?
If your license is suspended in Nevada, you may have to first fulfil SR-22 filing requirements in the state and then pay processing and reinstate fees before your driving privileges are reinstated. An SR-22 is a form/certificate filed on your behalf by your insurer showing that you, as an individual, are insured up to the state’s mandated minimum liability requirements.
Insurers offer this filing service as part of a type of coverage known as SR-22 insurance. Unlike a standard policy, instead of covering just a single vehicle, this policy will cover you regardless of whether you are a driver or passenger in your own car(s) or travelling in a vehicle belong to someone else. As a result, SR-22 insurance costs more than other types of coverage. However, you will need to purchase this policy in order to fulfill filing requirements with the state before your license is reinstated. In most cases, you will have to maintain unbroken SR-22 coverage for a period of 36 months before these requirements are lifted.
Warning: If you cancel your policy or let your insurance lapse for any reason, your insurer must, by law, report that you are no longer insured. This can result in resuspension of your license and registration. You will also need to restart the 3-year filing process from scratch.
Maintaining this type of coverage for three years can put tremendous strain on your finances. Make sure you shop around for the best policy (you can use the handy quote finder on our site) before pulling the trigger an auto insurance plan. Even as a high-risk driver you can still score discounts with certain providers.
However, if you’re still struggling to foot the bill of SR-22 insurance, you can trade out your vehicle for a less expensive model, putting those savings towards covering your coverage costs for the next 3 years.
What Are Some Important Nevada Traffic Laws?
Don’t gamble on getting lucky – hedge the odds in your favor by brushing up on Nevada’s most important traffic laws listed here:
Nevada Drunk Driving Laws
Nevada may be home to America’s party capital Las Vegas, but authorities still enforce strict alcohol limits for drivers in the state. It’s illegal for drivers who are 21 or older to get behind the wheel with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more. Drivers with a commercial license must adhere to a 0.04% alcohol limit and drivers under must stay under 0.02%.
Keep in mind that if chemical tests detect any trace of an illegal substance in your system, you will also be charged and convicted for driving while intoxicated.
For your first, second, third, or subsequent DUI conviction, you could face the following penalties:
- Between 2 days to 6 years behind bars (first-time offenders may escape with just 96 hours of community service);
- Fines ranging from $400 to $5,000;
- Compulsory attendance at a DUI school;
- Enrollment in the state substance-abuse treatment program;
- Up to 3-year license suspension; and
- Additional administrative penalties.
Nevada Child Safety Seat Laws
An approved child safety seat is your little one’s best line of defense against potentially fatal injuries in a crash. Nevada’s car safety seat laws stipulate that all kids younger than 6, and weighing less than 60 pounds, must be seated in an appropriate safety restraint system.
Kids of any age should always make use of the rear seats of the vehicle. Crash tests have shown that this part of the car is situated furthest away from the most common points of impact in an accident.
If you fail to restrain your children in accordance with Nevada’s child safety seat laws, you could have your license suspended, be fined, or will have to complete community service.
Nevada Distracted Driving Laws
If you reach for a moving object while driving, you are 9 times more likely to be involved in an accident than if you were keeping your eyes on the road. Other activities that could increase your chance of crashing include: Reading (3.4 times), applying makeup (3 times), and dialing/using a phone (2.8 times).
Using your cellphone while driving is prohibited. You may only make use of your handheld device in conjunction with a hands-free kit. If you’re caught using your phone while driving, you could face fines of up $250 depending on whether it’s your first, second, third, or subsequent offense in a 7-year period.
However, there are important exceptions to this law. You may use your phone if:
- You are reporting a medical emergency, crime, or safety hazard;
- You are using a voice-operated GPS system;
- You are communicating using a two-way radio that requires a license;
- You are a first responder making a call important to your job;
- You are a utility worker on call to fix an outage or other emergency; or
- You are helping provide communication services during a natural disaster or emergency situation.
Nevada Seatbelt Laws
Wearing a seatbelt can reduce your risk of death by 45%. By law, all passengers and drivers – except children under the age of 6 who must be restrained in a safety seat – are required buckle up while travelling. Take note: It is illegal for younger passengers under age 18 to travel in the back of an open pickup truck or flatbed except when farming, ranching, or taking part in a parade.
What Terms Should I Know Before Getting an Insurance Policy in Nevada?
Fault: In a crash, fault is the measurement of an individual’s responsibility for causing the accident. This number is represented by a percentage point. For example, a claims adjuster may determine that you were 40% to blame for the crash. As a result, you can now be held liable for 40% of damages sustained by other parties involved. If the courts or claims adjuster concludes that you were mostly at fault, you would be referred to as the at-fault motorist.
Claim: After sustaining damages in accident that are covered by individual features in your policy, you may submit a claim to your insurer requesting reimbursement for related costs such as your medical bill and repair expenses. This formal request is known as a claim.
Claims adjuster: An individual working with a provider responsible for overseeing investigations into accidents and settling claims based on the outcomes of this process.
Collision coverage: The core feature of any basic policy that covers physical damage sustained by your vehicle in a collision with another car or object. Many versions of this coverage will also reimburse you for loss after rolling or flipping your car or driving over a pothole.
Comprehensive coverage: An addon to your basic policy that will cover the cost of damages caused by “acts of God” including: Natural disasters, vandalism, fires, protests, and theft. Take note: This feature is compulsory if you are financing or leasing your vehicle. Our Geeks also recommend purchasing this policy if you live in parts of the U.S. prone to natural disasters and fires such as California and Louisiana.
Police accident report: When law enforcement responds to an accident, officers will file an official report on the crash. This report will include specifics of those involved, such as their contact details, names, injuries, and other details accident. Police may also decide to include additional evidence – such as witness statements and blood alcohol test results – to help prove fault. This document is often vital to a claim’s success.
Deductible: The amount you would have to pay out of pocket to cover loss in an accident before your policy’s limits chip in for the remainder. A low deductible will protect you from severe financial loss in an accident but will increase your daily, monthly, or annual premiums. A higher deductible flips this equation on its head, netting you a big discount on your rates at the cost of peace of mind that your insurer will cover damages in your next accident.
Rates: Your rates represent the amount you will have to spend to maintain your coverage. Rates (often referred to as premiums) are calculated by taking into account a wide range of factors, including your driving record, safe driving habits, marital status, age, your car’s make and model, credit history, and more.