At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Finding cheap auto insurance in Nebraska is far more difficult than it should be. The reason is because different insurance companies cater to different types of drivers, and each has its own system for calculating premiums. To help you find the best rates, our Geeks compared quotes from some of the leading insurers in The Cornhusker State.
- Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Nebraska
- Best Car Insurance Companies
- Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
- Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance
- Nebraska Car Insurance FAQs
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Nebraska
The best way to track down the cheapest rates in Nebraska is to compare quotes from multiple providers. The table below outlines our insurance company suggestions for different driver categories:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|State Farm||Low Annual Mileage|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|Allstate||Drivers with a DUI|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Nebraska
Using complaint data and reviews, our Geeks rated Nebraska’s insurance providers to find the best of the best. Below, you’ll find a table summarizing the results of our research:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Nebraska
All drivers in Nebraska must buy a car insurance policy that covers $25,000 for bodily injury to one individual, $50,000 for bodily injuries in one wreck, and $25,000 for property damage. Uninsured motorist coverage for bodily injuries is required with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per crash.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Nebraska
Two of the country’s biggest highways pass through Nebraska, making the state a nucleus for commuters, truck drivers and holidaymakers. As a result, the roads are heavily policed with officers pulling over anyone breaking the rules of the road. And if you’re caught driving without insurance, the police and courts aren’t about to let you scamper off with just a light slap on the wrist.
If you’re pulled over in Nebraska and cannot present proof of auto insurance, your license and registration will both be suspended. While you will not be fined, you will be forced to pay a $50 fee to have both documents reinstated.
But first, you will have to prove to the Department of Motor Vehicles that you are insured by presenting a copy of an SR-22 form that confirms you possess up-to-date liability coverage. This form must be kept up-to-date over the next three years; failure to do so will immediately alert the Department that you are once again uninsured.
Unlike other states, a second offense for driving without car insurance in Nebraska does not carry stricter penalties. Once again, your license and registration will be suspended, and you will be required to pay a $50 reinstatement fee and present a copy of your SR-22 form to the department.
Nebraska Car Insurance FAQs
What Steps Should I Take After a Car Accident in Nebraska?
This guide will keep you safe and bolster your claim in those first vital hours after a crash:
1. Don’t Panic
The metallic smack, the spray of shatterproof glass, the whoosh of an inflating airbag; a collision can be a dizzying kaleidoscope of snapshot moments. It’s easy to panic, but you should instead concentrate on taking long, deep breaths and start assessing the situation. Are you hurt? Is anyone else injured? Are you in immediate danger?
Once you have provided assistance where you can, your next step should be to dial 911. Do not leave the scene of the crash even if other motorists involved have fled. Leaving the scene could lead to the revocation of your registration and suspension of your driver’s license.
2. Gather Information
In Nebraska, you will be required to provide specific information to other motorists, pedestrians and passengers involved in the crash. Those other parties will also be required to disclose their information with you. Always remember to take down the following:
- Addresses, contact details and names of anyone involved in or witnesses of the accident;
- Plate numbers of the other cars;
- Driver’s license numbers of the other motorists; and
- The insurance information of the other motorists involved in the accident.
Our Geeks suggest snapping a few pictures cataloguing the details of the scene, from the damage to any vehicles involved to road markings that may aid investigators in deducing who was at fault.
3. Report the Accident
You are required to submit a Driver’s Motor Vehicle Accident Report within 10 days after the accident if the crash led to injury or death and the resultant property damage totaled or exceeded $1,000. Failing to report an accident may lead to your driver’s license being suspended by authorities.
Your report should include your liability insurance information.
What Types of Car Insurance Can I Buy in Nebraska?
There are several types of coverage available to Nebraska drivers including:
- Liability Coverage: Helps cover injuries (body liability) and property damage costs incurred by the other driver if you cause an accident.
- Comprehensive Coverage: Helps pay for non-accident related damage such as from a weather event to your car.
- Collison Coverage: Helps cover repair or replacement cost if your vehicle is damaged in an accident.
- Uninsured & Underinsured Motorist Coverage: Pays for your damages if you are hit by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
What Is an Auto Insurance Deductible?
The deductible is the amount of money you pay upfront for repairs and medical bills before your insurance policy kicks in. The higher your deductible, the more you will have to pay upfront, but the lower your premium will be.
Will My Insurance Policy Cover Vehicle Theft?
If you have comprehensive coverage, it should cover your vehicle’s Actual Cash Value if it is stolen.
What Common Mistakes Should Be Avoided When Filing a Car Insurance Claim in Nebraska?
1. Not Seeking Medical Help
You might feel like you survived the crash unscathed. But many injuries will only emerge weeks or months after the accident took place, when it’s already too late to file a claim to cover the resulting medical costs.
A doctor will be able to assess your health in the wake of an accident and determine whether you have sustained any underlying injuries. For example, your doctor may uncover damage to your neck or spine, injuries that can cost thousands of dollars to treat.
You should schedule an appointment with your doctor to assess your injuries immediately after an accident.
2. Not Taking Pictures
You might not be feeling snap happy after your car was totaled in an accident, but taking a few photos of the scene, damage to your vehicle and the other vehicles involved, and even your injuries could help bolster your claim.
What Traffic Laws Should All Drivers in Nebraska Know?
Traffic violations will sink your chances of scoring lower premiums. Use our guide to Nebraska’s most important traffic laws to make sure you do not jeopardize your clean driving record:
Drunk Driving Laws
A night out on town could turn into days behind bars if you’re nabbed behind the wheel and over the limit. In Nebraska, it’s illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content levels equal to or exceeding 0.08%. However, even if you test under the limit, you may still be arrested and prosecuted if officers are able to suspect you were driving while intoxicated.
If you’re caught and convicted, you could face the following penalties:
- Up to 60 days in prison
- Up to $500 in fines
- Licenses suspended for 6 months
- Up to 180 days in prison
- Up to $500 in fines
- License suspended for 18 months
Third or Subsequent Offenses
- Up to 1 year in prison
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- License revoked for 15 years
Be warned: If your BAC is 0.15% or more, you could serve up 3 years behind bars and pay $10,000 in fines.
Distracted Driving Laws
Distracted drivers cause an average of 3,600 crashes in Nebraska every year, according to the state’s Department of Health and Human Services. As a result, secondary texting and driving laws are designed discourage motorists from using cellphones while on the road. These laws ban motorists from using handheld wireless devices, such as smartphones, to send, write, and read communication while operating a vehicle. Drivers caught violating these laws could be fined up to $200 for first offenses, $300 for second offenses, and $500 for third or subsequent offenses.
Safety Belt Laws
Crash testing has found that wearing a seatbelt can reduce the risk of death for front-seat passengers in a crash by up to 45%. By law, drivers, front-seat passengers, and children aged 6 to 18 must always buckle up while on the road. Drivers caught violating Nebraska’s safety belt laws will have to pay a $25 fine.
Driver’s License Laws in Nebraska
Just like in all states, you must have a valid driver’s license to operate a motor vehicle in Nebraska. New residents have 30 days to surrender an out-of-state license for a Nebraska driver’s license. For brand new drivers, there are several types of licenses, each with its own set of rules:
School Learner’s Permit (LPE)
If you want to drive to school and live or attend a school outside of a city with a population of 5,000, you can get a School Permit. But to prepare for the School Permit driving exam, you need a School Learner’s Permit to practice driving. You can apply for a School Learner’s Permit by completing a written test and a vision test after you turn 14. A licensed driver at least 21 years of age must always be seated beside you when driving. A School Learner’s Permit expires after three months but can be renewed.
School Permit (SCP)
Once you have had a School Learner’s Permit for two months, you can apply for a School Permit so you can drive to school and back or with a licensed driver over 21 anywhere else. The minimum age to apply is 14 years and 2 months, and you cannot be older than 16 years and 3 months, which is also when it expires. In addition, you need to pass a special safety course and written and driving tests.
Learner’s Permit (LPD)
The minimum age to get a Learner’s Permit, which allows you to legally practice for a Provisional Operator’s Permit, is 15 but you can apply 15 days prior. To qualify for a Learner’s Permit, you need to pass a vision test and a written test. You must have a licensed driver at least 21 years of age with you when you drive. Your Learner’s Permit expires after one year.
Provisional Operator’s Permit (POP)
A Provisional Operator’s Permit allows you to drive between 6 a.m. and 12 midnight in Nebraska without supervision. You may also drive other hours if it’s from home to work or a school activity or with a licensed driver over 21. The minimum age to get a POP is 16 but you can apply 60 days prior. To qualify, you must have had a School Learner’s Permit, School Permit, or Learner’s Permit during the six previous months and have fewer than three points on your driving record. Your POP expires when you turn 18.
Operator’s License (LIC)
With an Operator’s License, available when your turn 17, you can operate any non-commercial passenger vehicle or moped. If you are under 18, you must have had a Provisional Owner’s Permit for at least one year prior and have accumulated fewer than 3 points on your record during that time. Although there are a written test and driving test required, these tests can be waived if you are over 18 and have a Provisional Operator’s Permit.
Nebraska Car Accident Statistics
In 2017, 228 people were involved in fatal crashes in Nebraska. This marked a slight increase over the previous year during which 218 people were killed in collisions on state roads, according to a report released by the state’s Department of Transport.