At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
If you’re looking for cheap auto insurance in Missouri and you’ve already compared a few providers, you may have found that quotes can be very different from one company to the next. The reason for this is because insurers have different ways of calculating monthly and yearly premiums, and some providers cater to specific types of drivers. To simplify your search for the best deal, we’ve compared car insurance rates from several leading providers to find the most affordable and best carriers.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Missouri
The most effective way to score the cheapest insurance rates in Missouri is to compare quotes from more than one company. To simplify your search, we’ve compiled a list of helpful recommendations based on common driver categories:
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Drivers with a DUI|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Missouri
We looked at data – from customer reviews to complaints – to vet Missouri’s insurance companies and identify the top providers. Below you can browse through our rankings:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Missouri
Missouri drivers are required by law to buy car insurance that would pay $25,000 for bodily injuries to one person, $50,000 for bodily injuries in one collision, and $10,000 for property damage. $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident are also required in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Missouri
Having car insurance is mandatory if you want to drive in the state of Missouri. Insurance is designed to protect drivers in case of a crash or other unfortunate event by limiting the resulting financial burden. In Missouri, the driver who is considered to be “at fault” for the accident is responsible for any and all injuries and damages. Insurers can find one or multiple parties to be at fault and assign a percentage of blame to each.
Without insurance, most people aren’t able to cover the damages they cause in accidents, so Missouri has introduced harsh penalties to deter people from driving while uninsured.
If you don’t have insurance or can’t provide proof to law enforcement officers when asked, you may face steep fines, suspensions, and/or 4 driving points. In Missouri, receiving 8 points in an 18-month period will lead to the loss of driving privileges. A suspension will also lead to your license and plates being taken away. The first time you are suspended for this offense, your privileges will be reinstated after you pay a $20 fee and submit proof of insurance (this must be done for three years). The second time you are suspended, you must wait 90 days before paying a $200 fee and submitting proof of insurance to be reinstated. If you get three or more suspensions, you must wait a year before paying a $400 fee and submitting proof of insurance to get your privileges back.
The penalty for being at fault in an accident without insurance and not being able to pay is a one-year suspension. You can get your sentence shortened by submitting proof that you settled the damages and paying a $20 fee.
Missouri Car Insurance FAQs
What Car Insurance Terminology Should Motorists Know Before Getting a Policy?
To increase your familiarity with Missouri car laws and insurance policies, you should know these key terms:
- Insurance Claim: A formal request to an insurance provider for coverage or compensation
- Insurance Coverage: The amount of risk or liability an insurance provider agrees to undertake in exchange for payment
- Liability: The state of being responsible for something, like a car accident
- License Suspension: Your license isn’t valid until you meet all requirements; can be reinstated
- License Revocation: Your license is fully canceled and cannot be reinstated; must be reissued
- SATOP: Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program
- SR-22: A certificate required for drivers with violations like DUI, DWI, an uninsured accident, or a large number of points that proves you are meeting the state’s insurance minimums
How Can I Reduce My Car Insurance Rates?
Insurers calculate your rates based on a wide variety of factors, including your accident history and credit score. If you want lower premiums, you need to focus on improving your personal risk profile by taking steps to prove to insurers you are less likely to be involved in an accident than the average driver. Here are a few steps you can take to reduce your rates:
- Follow the rules of the road: When you purchase a new policy, your provider will begin by looking at your permanent driving record. This file includes details about past traffic violations, unpaid parking tickets, accidents, and more. Reckless drivers and accident-prone motorists tend to pay more for insurance than other road users. Make sure you maintain a spotless record by always obeying the rules of the road.
- Increase your deductible: A deductible represents the amount you will have to pay to cover medical expenses or repairs before specific policy features kick in to compensate you for the remaining amount. A low deductible will protect you against extreme financial loss in an accident but will result in a significant increase in your premiums.
- Transfer your policy: Providers are in a constant tug of war to win over new business. Many auto insurance companies now offer discounts to clients transferring over their existing policies.
- Bundle your insurance: You can often score lucrative savings by bundling your auto insurance policy as part of an umbrella plan including other types of coverage, such as home and life insurance.
What Traffic Laws Should All Drivers in Missouri Know?
Practicing safe driving is the best way to prove to insurance companies that you deserve better rates. If you can show them that you aren’t a liability, you will be rewarded. To do this, you must first familiarize yourself with the laws in the state you’re driving in. Below, we’ve laid out some rules that everyone needs to be aware of when driving in Missouri.
The Points System in Missouri
As noted above, Missouri uses a point system to keep track of violations. Points may be assigned for anything from speeding to committing a felony behind the wheel. The fewer points you have, the better off you are. Insurance providers can access your driving records at any time, and they often use them as a foundation for determining monthly premiums. Accumulating a lot of points will tell insurers that you pose a threat and that you are at greater risk of being in or causing a crash.
Besides the fact that this will jack up your premiums, you will also be penalized by the state. The first time you accrue 8 points in 18 months, your license will be suspended for 30 days. The second time it happens, your license will be suspended for 60 days, and the third time it happens, your license will be suspended for 90 days. If you accrue 12 points in a year, 18 points in two years, or 24 points in three years, your license will be revoked for a full year.
The good news is that, when you meet all requirements and your suspension/revocation period ends, the number of points on your driving record will shrink to 4. Your points will further be reduced for every year you drive without accumulating more. After three years, you will go back to 0 points.
It’s important to keep in mind that points for more serious transgressions may yield additional punishments.
Drunk Driving Laws in Missouri
One of the most weighty infractions to your record is drinking and driving. Nothing will sink your good driving record and insurance premium hopes faster than a DWI/DUI. Alcohol, even in small quantities, can severely hurt your judgement behind the wheel. A recent CDC study found that a staggering 3,314 people were killed in drunk driving accidents in Missouri between 2003 and 2012. That’s why both insurers and the state take it very seriously.
A driver is considered impaired if his or her blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 percent or greater. Drivers under the age of 21 are required to have a BAC lower than .02 percent. Failure to comply may result in both administrative and court-mandated consequences.
On the administrative side of the spectrum, a first offense means a 90-day license suspension and a second offense within five years means a one-year license revocation. On the court side of the spectrum, a first conviction means a maximum $500 fine and six months of jail time. A second conviction means a maximum $1,000 fine and a year of jail time. Subsequent convictions will result in greater maximums.
Another potential consequence is mandatory participation in the ignition interlock program. The goal of the program is to reduce repeat offenders through the use of an ignition interlock device (IID). This device requires drivers to measure their BAC every time the get behind the wheel and will prevent the car from starting if they test too high.
If you kill or harm anyone while drinking and driving, you face incarceration for two to seven years, fines of up to $5,000, and the loss of your driving privileges for up to five years.
Refusing a breath test will automatically result in a one-year suspension.
Drugged Driving Laws in Missouri
Driving under the influence of drugs is no better than driving under the influence of alcohol. You’re breaking the law even just being in possession of drugs while operating a motor vehicle. Any violation will result in a one-year suspension. The requirements to get your license reinstated are paying a $45 fine, proving that you have completed the Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP), meeting SR-22 filing requirements for two years, and retaking your driving test.
In Missouri, drivers and front seat passengers must wear seatbelts at all times while travelling on the road. Children between the ages of 4 and 15 are required to wear seatbelts regardless of whether they are seated in the front or rear seats. By law, anyone under the age 18 is prohibited from travelling in the unenclosed flatbed of a truck.
Take note: It is the driver’s responsibility to ensure that all passengers under age 16 are strapped in safely. Passengers aged 16 or older are responsible for themselves. Anyone caught violating the state’s seatbelt laws may be fined and forced to cover any associated court costs and processing fees.
Safety Seat Laws
A high-quality safety seat will absorb the impact of a crash and prevent your child from being flung from the vehicle. As a result, infants younger than 12 months and weighing less than 20lbs must be restrained in rear-facing child safety seats. Extensive crash testing has shown that this seating position reduces the risk of severe neck, spine, and head injuries in a collision.
Children younger than 4 years old and weighing less than 40lbs, must be secured in an approved passenger restraint system. Kids between ages 4 and 7, weighing between 40lbs to 80lbs, must be secured in a booster seat or appropriate child passenger restraint system. Children aged 8 or older, who weigh at least 80lbs or are taller than 4’9ft, can make use of your vehicle’s seats and restraint systems.
Need help finding the perfect safety seat for your little one? Browse through our list of the top-rated restraint systems available right now by clicking here.
Missouri Car Accident Statistics
In 2017, 930 people lost their lives in car accidents in Missouri. During that same period, 96 pedestrians, 9 cyclists, and 121 motorcyclists were killed in crashes involving motor vehicles, according to the National Highway Safety Traffic Administration.
Despite a decrease in fatalities from 2016, 2017 saw a spike in speeding-related fatalities (346) and drunk driving deaths (254). However, authorities observed a dramatic increase in seatbelt use, which rose from just 75.2% in 2008 to 84% in 2017. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, drivers and passengers who don’t wear seatbelts are 30 times more likely to be flung from their vehicles in an accident than those who do.