At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Most auto insurance companies advertise their low rates, but as you probably know, each provider caters to a slightly different customer base, so there’s no one-size-fits all insurance company for every driver. If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in Michigan, you’ve come to the right page.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Michigan
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Michigan
Comparing auto insurance policies from different providers will help you find the cheapest rates in Michigan. Below, you’ll find our insurance company suggestions for different policyholder categories:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|State Farm||Low Annual Mileage|
|Esurance||Drivers with a DUI|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Michigan
Our Geeks took into account customer reviews and complaint data to identify Michigan’s best auto insurance companies. The table below offers a concise summary of our findings:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Michigan
In the state of Michigan, the minimum car insurance liability coverage are $20,000 for bodily injuries to one individual, $40,000 for total bodily injuries in a single accident, and $10,000 for property damage.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Michigan
In the state of Michigan, it is a requirement to have car insurance. Car insurance is intended to mitigate costs that may be incurred by getting into an accident. If caught without car insurance in Michigan, you can be convicted of a misdemeanor. To pile on to the penalties, you can receive a $200 to $500 fine and/or up to one year in jail. You may also face a 30-day driver’s license suspension, which may be prolonged until proof of valid car insurance is shown. To top it all off, you will be liable for paying for all the damages and injuries that may result from an accident. While this may seem harsh, it only goes to show just how important car insurance is.
Michigan Car Insurance FAQs
How Can I Save Money on Auto Insurance in Michigan?
If you’re tired of paying a small fortune for auto insurance, you’re not alone. Most people would relish the opportunity to open up some room in their monthly budget, and one of the easiest ways to do so is to pay less for insurance coverage. The first step in getting your rates reduced is to know the factors that affect your premiums, which include:
- Your crash history;
- Traffic infractions you’ve committed in recent years;
- Any convictions for DUI or OWI;
- The number of years you’ve had a driver’s license;
- Your zip code;
- The claim frequency of the vehicle you’re getting insured;
- The amount of mileage you put on your vehicle each year; and
- How you intend to use your car (business, pleasure, or commute).
The next step is to create a plan to convince your insurance company that you’re less of a liability. Here are a few effective ways to do just that:
- Avoid collisions for multiple consecutive years;
- Follow all traffic laws;
- Never drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol;
- Purchase a vehicle that is cheaper to insure; and
- Limit the amount of time you spend behind the wheel.
You should also consider switching to an insurance company that caters to your particular driver profile. For example, some carriers are more lenient than others when it comes to accident forgiveness.
What Traffic Laws Should All Drivers Know in Michigan?
Ever-changing traffic laws can be tricky to stay up to date on, but understanding these laws is crucial. Breaking them will negatively impact both your record and your wallet. Beyond the fines, you are also at risk of increased insurance rates. To assist you, we’ve compiled some of the major laws that are important to be aware of as a driver in Michigan:
Driver’s License Age Restrictions
In the state of Michigan, you can receive your Level 1 Learners License at age 14 years 9 months old after you pass a test and get parental permission. At age 16, you can get the Level 2 Intermediate License if you’ve had the Level 1 Learners License for at least 6 months. A Level 3 Full License is available at age 17. At age 18, GDL ends for everyone. From the moment you begin driving in the state of Michigan, it’s important to remain out of trouble to ensure insurance rates are not jacked up.
Michigan Driver’s License Point System
Like many other states, Michigan has implemented a point system to ensure continually poor drivers are penalized. Each driving infraction has a certain amount of points that will be added onto your license. Once you receive 12 points, you will have to be reevaluated as a driver through a variety of tests. However, receiving any amount of points may cause car insurance costs to skyrocket. This is because points can be an indicator that you may be at an increased risk of being part of an accident. Luckily, points only remain on your license for two years, at which point car insurance rates may decrease.
OWI/OWVI Laws in Michigan
In Michigan, driving with alcohol or other drugs in your system is not taken lightly. A first time OWI offender is subject to 93 to 180 days in jail based on their BAC, $100 to $500 dollars in fines, and up to 360 hours of community service. A first time OWVI offender is subject to the same punishment, except only $100 to $300 in fines. Your vehicle may also be at risk of forfeiture for up to 180 days.
If a driver is convicted of OWI/OWVI for a second and third time, jail time, fines, and community service are all greatly increased. If a passenger in the car is under 16 years old, the driver will face even more punishment through fines, jail time, and/or community service.
On top of everything mentioned above, driver’s license sanctions will also be put into place. A first time OWI offense will typically result in a 180-day license suspension. For a first time OWVI offense, the license suspension will only be 90 days.
A potential alternative to a suspended license is a restricted license. The restricted license limits when and where a person can drive and requires the use of an ignition interlock device (IID). This device takes the breath of the driver, analyzes the BAC, and will prevent the car from turning on if the BAC is above a certain limit.
Michigan’s Drugs and Driving Laws
In Michigan, the law dictates that anyone convicted of any drug offense face a driving suspension. This includes people who were not operating a vehicle at the time of the arrest. First time offenders will be issued a six-month suspension and repeat offenders will be issued a one-year suspension. A restricted license is not an option until 30 days into the suspension for the former and 60 days into the suspension for the latter.
Michigan’s Seat Belt Laws
Michigan police can ticket people for not being buckled up. All passengers aged 8 to 15, as well as drivers and front seat passengers, must wear a seat belt under all circumstances. Children under 4 years old must sit in the back seat. Kids must utilize a booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4-feet-9-inches tall. Failure to comply with these statutes will result in the potential for police to ticket you.
Michigan’s Texting While Driving Laws
Michigan has banned reading, typing, or sending any sort of text messages while operating a vehicle. If caught, violators will be faced with a $100 fine the first time and $200 each time after that. If you kill someone while texting and driving, your license will be taken away, and a period of jail time may ensue.
In terms of insurance, a texting ticket does not come with points, and in turn, is not part of a driver’s record. Keep in mind, however, that texting while driving increases your chances of crashes astronomically, which will increase your insurance premiums.
According to the NHTSA, in 2016, 1,912 crashes in Michigan involved the use of a cell phone. This is a whopping 15 percent of all distracted driving-involved crashes in the state of Michigan.
Michigan’s Distracted Driving Laws
Driving your car should be your main priority when you’re behind the wheel.
Here are some things to avoid:
- Stressful or involved conversations
- Looking at GPS or navigation devices
- Changing your music
- Brushing your hair
- Appling your makeup
- Eating, especially messy foods
- Getting lost in thought
- Staring at the accidents or interesting landmarks/scenery you come across
- Driving while sick or tired
- Turning around to look at your kids
- Reaching for objects located around your car
To prevent temptation and ensure your focus remains where it should, be prepared. Designate a person in the car to navigate or look up directions at home, preset your favorite radio stations, get enough sleep, make sure your children are secured and happy, and leave yourself enough time to groom and eat at home. If anything other than driving becomes a priority, pull over and come to a complete stop in a safe area before dealing with it.
Construction Zones in Michigan
Drivers are made aware of work zones in Michigan in advance and should thus be able to plan accordingly. Know that reduced speeds, detours, lane closures, and delays are a high possibility and be patient.
Committing a moving violation in a work zone is particularly inadvisable, as fines will be doubled. Additionally, you can face between three and five points, depending on how much over the speed limit you were going. The maximum penalty for injuring or killing a person in a construction zone is 15 years in prison and $7,500 in fines.
Maintenance Vehicles in Michigan
All state and local maintenance vehicles, like snow plows, are required to have a visible, oscillating green light. When this light is activated, it lets drivers know that road work is occurring and that they should be especially cautious. Slow down and give them room to work.
Aggressive Driving in Michigan
It’s important to keep your cool on the road and to be patient. Letting yourself get worked up could lead to unwise driving choices, which in turn could have a variety of unintended and unfortunate consequences.
Here are some signs you may be an aggressive driver:
- Run stop signs and red lights
- Speed through yellow lights
- Weave in and out of traffic
- Honk incessantly
- Merge improperly
- Make rude gestures or curse at others
- Pass others in areas where it’s illegal to do so
- Flash your headlights
- Try to retaliate for perceived slights
If you find yourself doing any of the above, take a deep breath and calm down. Whatever is going on is not worth the risk. If you see someone else driving aggressively, stay out of their way and don’t try to engage them. Avoid eye contact and don’t respond to threats, gestures, or insults. Instead, call the police and report them. You can also help keep the roads safe by stopping to provide a witness statement if someone driving aggressively or erratically gets into a crash ahead of you.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Michigan
Motorists who are involved in a crash must remain at the scene, assist the injured, provide contact information and insurance details, and report the incident to the police. Leaving will lead to penalties like jail time and fines.
Protocol for hitting a deer is reporting it immediately to authorities. Approximately 60,000 deer-related crashes are reported annually in Michigan.
Driver Reexaminations in Michigan
The state may require you to be reexamined if doubt is raised about your ability to operate a vehicle. Health conditions, crash history, and point accumulation could all contribute to the decision. If you are issued a reexamination notice, you will be able to discuss your case with an evaluator. Medical concerns may lead to a mandatory vision, written, and skills test.