At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Finding cheap auto insurance in Maine is an arduous task simply because there are so many companies that advertise low monthly premiums. And if you shop around, you’ll find that the rates are significantly different from one insurance company to the next since each provider caters to different types of motorists. There are dozens of factors that affect the cost of your insurance premiums, but to help you find the best fit for your needs, we’ve crunched the numbers from several leading providers to identify the most affordable car insurance options in The Pine Tree State.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Maine
Overwhelmed by options? You may be able score cheaper premiums in Maine by evaluating and comparing quotes from the state’s top providers. Below you can find suggestions for different motorist categories:
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Teen Drivers|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Maine
We looked at complaint data and in-depth reviews to rank Louisiana’s providers and find the best insurers in the state. Below you’ll find a table summarizing our results:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Maine
Drivers in Maine are required by law to have car insurance that covers $50,000 for bodily injuries to one individual, $100,000 for bodily injuries caused in one collision, and $25,000 for damage to property. Medical Payments coverage is also required in the amount of $2,000 per person, and Uninsured Motorist coverage is required in the amount of $50,000 per individual and $100,000 per accident.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Maine
Drivers caught without proof of insurance may be subject to fines of between $100 and $500. Other consequences may include a license suspension, a registration suspension, and/or the loss of the right to apply for a license or registration. The suspensions will last until the driver can prove he or she is insured. All penalties may be waived if the driver can produce satisfactory evidence of insurance at the time of the infraction within 30 days.
Maine Car Insurance FAQs
What Other Types of Car Insurance Are Available in Maine?
Apart from the mandatory coverage you are required to hold in order to drive legally in Maine, your insurer may offer you a range of additional insurance options to maximize your protection on the road, such as:
- Collision coverage;
- Uninsured motorist coverage;
- Medical payments coverage;
- Comprehensive coverage;
- Rental reimbursement;
- Towing and labor; and
- Loan or lease coverage, also known as GAP coverage.
What Is Medical Payments Coverage?
Medical payments coverage is a first-party insurance option that pays for the accident-related medical or funeral expenses that you incur after a crash, including hospital bills and surgical expenses, up to the limits of your policy. This coverage will apply even if you are at fault for the accident.
What Is the Maine Automobile Insurance Plan?
Drivers who are considered high risk may find it difficult to secure the coverage they need. The Maine Automobile Insurance Plan ensures all drivers in the state can access the proper car insurance by assigning high-risk drivers to licensed insurers.
How Do I Show Proof of My Car Insurance in Maine?
You may be asked to show proof of car insurance by a police officer at any time on the road or after an accident. You will also need to prove you are insured when registering or renewing your vehicle’s registration, or when asked by an official of the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (MBV).
Five acceptable forms of proof of insurance include:
- An insurance identification card;
- The declaration page of your insurance policy;
- Your insurance binder;
- A digital document summarizing your insurance policy; and
- Proof that you have secured insurance through the Maine Automobile Insurance Plan.
How Do Auto Insurance Companies Calculate Premiums?
Many factors come into play when car insurance companies determine how much to charge you for coverage. Among others, the most important questions they will ask are:
- How old are you?
- Where do you live?
- Do you have an anti-theft system for your vehicle?
- How often do you drive, and for what purpose?
- What is the make, model, and age of your car?
- How many vehicles and drivers do you plan to cover?
- How many traffic tickets have you received?
- How many claims have you made with previous insurers?
What Defines a High-Risk Driver in Maine?
Drivers who have a statistically higher chance of filing an insurance claim than the average motorist are considered to be high-risk drivers. You may be considered a high-risk driver if you:
- Have a history of driving under the influence (DUI) convictions;
- Have collected multiple tickets for traffic violations; or
- Have no record of previous insurance.
Do I Qualify for Insurance Discounts?
Insurance companies may offer you a discount on your premium if you:
- Are a good student with a B average or better;
- Have installed safety devices in your vehicle such as airbags and anti-lock brakes;
- Maintain a relatively low annual mileage;
- Want to insure multiple vehicles;
- Possess multiple policies including on your home; and
- Complete certain qualifying driver education courses.
Does My Credit Score Affect My Insurance Premium in Maine?
The Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) states that an insurer may access and consider your credit information without your permission when they review your insurance application. The company may use this information to underwrite your application and determine your insurance rate.
However, Maine insurers are not permitted to deny, cancel, or refuse to renew your car insurance policy solely on the basis of your credit information. If an insurer would not typically deny, cancel, or refuse to renew your policy without your credit information, then it may not use the credit information against you.
How Common Are Fatal Accidents in Maine?
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 251 drivers were involved in fatal crashes in 2017 and 172 people were killed in those crashes. This represents a large increase from previous years; the numbers are higher than they’ve been since 2008.
What Terms Should I Know Before Buying Insurance?
Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC): A measure of how much alcohol is in your system.
Demerit Points: A system used by the states and insurance companies to keep track of traffic violations or offenses. Maine uses a uniform system for assigning points. Receiving six points in a year will result in a warning, and 12 points will result in a license suspension.
DUI: Driving Under the Influence
Liability: The state of being responsible for something
OUI: Operating Under the Influence
Premium: An amount to be paid for an insurance policy
Quote: An estimated price for a for a potential insurance policy
What Traffic Laws Should All Drivers in Maine Know?
Staying up to date on traffic laws is extremely important. Violations can hurt your driving record, your insurance premium, and your wallet. Below, our Geeks have compiled a brief overview of traffic laws in Maine:
Texting and Driving Laws in Maine
Texting or using any device not part of your car’s operating system is extremely dangerous, and thus comes with severe penalties. The first offense for drivers 18 and up comes with a minimum $200 fine. If a second offense is committed less than three years after the first infraction, the driver will be fined a minimum of $500 and will be suspended for 30 days. A third offense in three years will lead to a minimum fine of $500 and a 60-day suspension, and a fourth in three years will lead to a minimum fine of $500 and a 90-day suspension. Drivers who are younger than 18 may face a penalty of no less than $50 for a first offense and no less than $250 for a second offense.
Luckily, this is easily preventable. Nowadays, most phones and tablets come with features to eliminate the risk of texting and driving. Apple introduced “Do Not Disturb While Driving” with iOS 11, which is capable of sensing when you’re driving and preventing notifications from popping up. It can also send an automatic reply to anyone who texts you, letting them know you’re behind the wheel. Parents of young drivers can prevent changes or overrides to these features by adding a parental passcode. Android and Google devices have similar settings.
Whenever possible, however, it’s best to keep your phone and other electronic devices in the back seat on silent to reduce temptations. If you must use your device, pull over to a safe area and come to a complete stop first.
DUI/OUI Laws in Maine
Driving or operating a vehicle under the influence of intoxicants like alcohol is another very serious transgression. According to a CDC study, 1.2 percent of adults reported driving after drinking too much in Maine. Local efforts have led to a reduction of drunk driving rates and alcohol-related crashes, but it’s an ongoing endeavor.
You can help be part of the movement by supporting Maine’s initiatives and by making sure you’re well-informed. To start, it’s important to know that anyone with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or more is considered too impaired to operate a motor vehicle in Maine. Many factors can affect a person’s BAC including gender, weight, age, rate of consumption, metabolism, and food consumption. Of note: Maine has a zero-tolerance policy, meaning that, for people under 21, it is illegal to drive with any measurable amount of alcohol in the system. Minors involved in an alcohol-related conviction may have 6 demerit points added to their license in addition to fines and suspensions.
On a personal level, one of the best ways to avoid a DUI/OUI is to make sure you have a designated driver who agrees not to drink. It’s also a good idea to utilize services like Uber or Lyft, or to make sure you have a place to spend the night that you can get to without driving.
Some of the strategies Maine has implemented include sobriety checkpoints and ignition interlocks. The former allows police to stop drivers and administer breath tests to check for impairment. The latter is a device installed in a car that requires drivers to take a breath test every time they get behind the wheel. If your BAC is too high, the ignition will lock, and the car will not start.
These efforts have proven to be highly effective, but just in case, Maine has strict penalties for failing to comply. Driving while impaired is considered a criminal offense and, following the arrest, will lead to an immediate license suspension, pending the court case. If you are found to be a first-time offender with no aggravating factors, like speeding more than 30 mph over the limit, having a minor in the car, or attempting to elude the cops, you will face a 150-day suspension and a $500 fine. For a first-time offender with aggravating factors, 48 hours of jail time will be added. Failure to take a breathalyzer at the time of the police stop comes with steeper consequences: a 275-day suspension, 96 hours in jail, and a $600 fine.
Seat Belt Laws in Maine
The state of Maine requires all drivers and passengers to wear a seat belt when in a motor vehicle. Drivers are also responsible for ensuring children are buckled up. These laws were designed to enhance public safety, especially in the event of a crash. Fines for not wearing a seat belt include $50 for a first offense, $125 for a second offense, and $250 for a third offense.
Suspended License Laws in Maine
Ignoring a suspension after a traffic violation will result in 8 demerit points being added to your license, in addition to a variety of fines, suspensions, and jail time. This can seriously impact your insurance premiums. Don’t fret too much, however; in Maine, points only stay on your record for one year.
Insurance companies look at all these factors when considering what to charge you. Avoiding infractions, penalties, and points will help prove to them that you are a safe driver deserving of the best rates for your demographic.