At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Finding cheap auto insurance in Louisiana is a time-consuming task. Rates can vary greatly from one provider to the next because each has a different formula for determining your monthly premiums. At PennyGeeks, we’ve done the hard work for you and compared quotes from several of the top insurance providers to find the cheapest rates.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Louisiana
The best way to score the lowest premiums in Louisiana is to evaluate and compare options from more than one insurer. Take a look below for recommendations for different types of drivers:
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|State Farm||Low Annual Mileage|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Louisiana
Our Geeks took into consideration useful data – including complaints and reviews – to identify Louisiana’s best insurers. Read on for a summary of their findings below:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Louisiana
In the state of Louisiana, the minimum auto insurance liability requirements are $15,000 for bodily injuries to one person, $30,000 for bodily injuries caused in one accident, and $25,000 for damage to property.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Louisiana
If you are caught driving without car insurance in Louisiana and it is your first offense, you will face a fine of up to $100, your registration could be suspended, and your plates may be confiscated. Your vehicle could also be impounded. You will have to pay a total of $60 in reinstatement fees, as well as storage fees if your vehicle was impounded.
For a second offense, the maximum fine increases to $250, and the reinstatement fees jump to $160. For a third or subsequent offense, you could face a fine of up to $700 and have to pay reinstatement fees totaling $510.
Louisiana Car Insurance FAQs
How Can I Reduce My Auto Insurance Rate?
Car insurance isn’t cheap—especially if your accident history has a few derogatory marks. But even low cost insurance can take a big bite out of your monthly budget. What you may not know, though, is that there are dozens of ways to get your premiums reduced. Before we jump into those strategies, here are a few factors that have a big impact on your monthly rates:
- Whether you’ve been involved in any recent wrecks;
- Whether you’ve received any recent traffic citations;
- DUI convictions;
- The amount of time you’ve been a licensed driver;
- Your zip code;
- The make, model, and year of your car;
- Your mileage per year; and
- Whether you intend to drive the car for pleasure, business, or to commute.
Now that you have an idea of how your insurance company determines your monthly rates, it’s time to develop a plan to prove that your premiums should be reduced. The following strategies are usually effective:
- Avoid collisions for multiple consecutive years;
- Abide by all rules of the road;
- Never drive while intoxicated;
- Find a low horsepower vehicle with a low claim rate; and
- Spend less time behind the wheel so your annual mileage will be lower.
Of course, you could always get quotes from other insurers to find out if making the switch would save you money. Each provider has a unique formula for calculating premiums, so you might be able to save hundreds by switching to a different company.
Can My Louisiana Car Insurance Carrier Increase My Rates If Someone Else Causes an Accident?
Yes. Even if you were found not to be at fault for a collision, your insurance company can still increase your rates. This is because auto insurance providers know that several drivers often share fault in a crash, so they will consider you to be a higher risk no matter who was deemed at fault.
Fortunately, some providers offer accident forgiveness insurance policies. If you buy a policy from one of these companies, your insurance rates might not increase just because you were involved in a collision.
When Can My Louisiana Car Insurance Company Increase My Premiums?
Car insurance is a significant monthly expense for most drivers, which is why most people would welcome the chance to get their monthly premiums reduced. Although there are dozens of auto insurance discounts available, it is equally important that you take steps to avoid situations when your provider might increase your monthly rates. You might wind up paying more for coverage if:
- You caused a collision;
- You were convicted of driving under the influence;
- You were ticketed for a traffic offense;
- You bought a vehicle that is more expensive to insure;
- You relocated; or
- You’re adding another person to your policy.
What Steps Should I Take After a Collision to Strengthen My Insurance Claim?
After any collision, your main concern should be getting medical attention for anyone who was injured. Contact the police and, if necessary, request emergency medical assistance.
If you do not need emergency medical assistance, be sure to exchange contact and insurance information with all drivers involved. You should also take pictures of any skid marks, property damage, traffic signs, and injuries. Don’t forget to write down the contact information of eyewitnesses. Your insurance company may need to contact them during their investigation into your collision.
How Can I Increase My Insurance Claim’s Chance of Approval?
After a collision, it is important that you report your accident to your insurance company as soon as possible. You should also take steps to give your claim the best chance of being improved. Here are a few tips to help strengthen your claim:
- Do not lie to your insurance company;
- Capture photos of the accident scene;
- Find out how to get a copy of the accident report; and
- Record the contact details of any eyewitnesses.
What Factors Could Make Me a High-Risk Driver in Louisiana?
High-risk drivers can find it difficult to secure the proper amounts of car insurance through their preferred carrier. That’s because car insurance companies are usually averse to taking on the risk of making high or regular payouts.
The riskier your driving profile, the more you are likely to end up costing your insurance carrier, and therefore, the more you are likely to pay in premiums. Louisiana insurers may consider you a high-risk driver if you:
- Have collected even a few DUI convictions;
- Recently committed multiple traffic violations; or
- Are an experienced driver with no history of prior insurance.
Does My Credit Score Affect My Insurance Premium in Louisiana?
Only three states currently bar car insurers from increasing rates based on their customers’ credit information: California, Hawaii, and Massachusetts. This means insurance companies in Louisiana can legally use your credit history to predict the likelihood of future claims. Blemishes on your credit history – such as failing to pay your bills on time – can cause your insurance premiums to skyrocket.
What Is the Louisiana Automobile Insurance Plan?
If you are labeled a high-risk driver in Louisiana and you find car insurers are reluctant to offer you favorable rates of insurance, or any insurance at all, you may apply for coverage through the Louisiana Automobile Insurance Plan (LA AIP).
Since 1972, the Louisiana Department of Insurance has assigned high-risk drivers to insurers in order to share the risk equally across the market.
How Do I Show Proof of Insurance in Louisiana?
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles will accept any of the following as proof of your insurance:
- The insurance card issued to you by your car insurer;
- A physical copy of your insurance policy; or
- A physical copy of your policy’s declaration page.
Alternatively, you may submit a statement from your insurer if:
- It is placed on your insurance company’s letterhead;
- It is signed by your insurance broker or a company representative;
- It includes a description of your vehicle; and
- It mentions your vehicle identification number (VIN).
What Is Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” Law?
Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” aims to discourage motorists from going without the required insurance by limiting how much you can claim in a crash, if you were driving uninsured.
If you were traveling without insurance and were involved in a car accident while you were behind the wheel, regardless of who caused the crash, you may not collect:
- The first $25,000 of a property damage claim, or
- The first $15,000 of a bodily injury claim.
What If I Forget to Carry Proof of Insurance?
In Louisiana, traffic officers are entitled to pull you over and ask to see proof of insurance. They may also request proof your of your policy at the scene of an accident. If you are caught on the road without insurance, you could face serious penalties and fines – and you will also be unable to make an insurance claim, regardless of who is at fault for the crash.
What Agency Regulates Car Insurance in Louisiana?
Car insurance is regulated by the Louisiana Department of Insurance. This government body is responsible for reviewing insurance rates, enforcing insurance rules, investigating cases of fraud, and assisting you with any concerns, complaints, or disputes.
You may file a complaint with the department at any time, and your insurance company may not use this as a reason to raise your premium or cancel your policy.
What Are Louisiana’s Distracted Driving Laws?
In Louisiana between 2011 and 2015, 192 people were killed – and another 26,977 people were injured – because of a distraction inside or outside the vehicle, reports the state Highway Safety Commission.
This is why it is illegal to use a cell phone to send, receive, or read a text message, or to post to a
social networking site while driving a vehicle on any public road or highway in Louisiana. The fine for first offenders is $175, and that rises to $500 for subsequent offenses.
What Are the Penalties for Driving While Intoxicated in Louisiana?
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a very serious infraction; it puts you and those around you in danger. In Louisiana, the maximum penalty for a first and second offense is six months in jail, a $1,000 fine (plus court fees and lawyer fees), the loss of your license for two years, and a criminal record. The minimum jail time for a second offense is 48 hours.
A third offense comes with a minimum 30 days in jail and a potential maximum of one to five years in jail, a $2,000 fine (plus court fees and lawyer fees), the loss of your license for three years, and six-month inpatient and 12-month outpatient substance abuse treatment. Further, for this DWI and any subsequent ones, your car may be impounded and sold, and you will have a felony criminal record. If you get convicted a fourth time, you face a minimum 30 days in jail and a maximum of 30 years in jail, plus a maximum $5,000 fine in addition to the various fees. You could also lose your license for three years, be subject to five years of home incarceration, and be required to complete the aforementioned inpatient and outpatient treatment program.
Any DWI infraction that results in death has the potential to lead to a 30-year jail sentence and the loss of your license.
What Are Louisiana’s Laws Regarding Drugs and Driving?
Many drugs, including over-the-counter, prescribed, and illegal varieties, can have a severe, negative impact on your driving ability. Drugs can lead to drowsiness, reduced reaction time, sensitivities to light and sound, and poor judgement. Louisiana takes the hazard very seriously. The penalties for driving while under the influence of drugs are the same as for a DWI.
To avoid the risk, always read the labels on your medication before getting behind the wheel. If the side effects could impair you, don’t drive. Use a ridesharing service, have a friend or family member drive you, or stay home.
Car Accidents in Louisiana: By the Numbers
A total of 757 people were killed on Louisiana’s roads in 2016, according to the latest research released by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
Alcohol was a contributing factor in exactly 30 percent of all fatal crashes in Louisiana in 2016.
Between 2003 and 2012, 3,046 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Louisiana, according to data collected by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.