At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
If you’re shopping for cheap auto insurance in Kentucky, you’ve probably noticed that there are dozens of companies that advertise low rates. What you may not know is that different insurance companies often cater to slightly different demographics of drivers, so the insurance quotes you see will vary greatly from one company to the next. To help you separate the wheat from the chaff, our Geeks evaluated the insurance rates of several top providers to find the most affordable premiums in The Bluegrass State.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Kentucky
If you want to score the cheapest insurance rates in Kentucky, you need to compare quotes from different insurers. Below, you’ll find our suggestions for insurance carriers that cater to specific driver profiles:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|State Farm||Low Annual Mileage|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Kentucky
We looked at complaint data and reviews to identify Kentucky’s best auto insurance companies. Below is a summary of our findings:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Kentucky
In Kentucky, all drivers are required to carry auto insurance that would cover at least $25,000 for bodily injuries to one person, $50,000 for bodily injuries caused in one accident, and $10,000 for damage to property. $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage per accident is also required.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Kentucky
You might think you can lay low and avoid trouble if you’re driving without car insurance. But authorities in Kentucky now require all insurers to submit detailed records of their policyholders. If your vehicle shows up as uninsured after being pulled over, you could face steep fines and possible incarceration.
The First Offense
If you’re caught driving without proof of insurance, your registration will be suspended for a year. However, if you are able to present proof of insurance to the court at a later date – such as a written notice from your insurance agent or documents detailing an up-to-date insurance policy – your registration will be reinstated. Failing that, you will be fined up to $1,000 and may even have to spend up to three months behind bars.
Remember, even if you’re lucky on the road, Kentucky’s “all-seeing eye” – the state’s high-tech regular monitoring – may still detect that your vehicle is uninsured. In this scenario, you’ll receive an Uninsured Notice and will have 30 days to present proof of coverage in the form of a notice from your insurer or a copy of your policy. Again, failing that, you will face the same hefty fines and possible incarceration as you would if you were caught on the road.
The serial offender is a soft target for officials in Kentucky. Didn’t learn your lesson after your first offense? The state will make sure you remember the risks of driving without coverage again.
If you’re caught on the road driving without liability coverage within five years of your previous offense and are unable to present proof of insurance to the court, you will be ordered to pay between $1,000 to $2,500 in fines. You might also be sentenced to serve up to three months behind bars.
But it gets even worse. Not only will your registration be suspended for a year, but authorities may also revoke your driver’s license.
If you’re detected by the state’s monitoring system and cannot present proof of liability coverage within the 30-day period, you will face the same fines, may face prison time and, again, may have your driver’s license revoked.
Kentucky Car Insurance FAQs
What Does It Mean That Kentucky Is a “No-Fault” Insurance State?
Kentucky is one of the few “no-fault” insurance states. That means you can file a claim against your own insurance provider to cover part of your medical expenses and lost wages no matter who was at fault for the crash. However, the amount paid out for lost wages is capped at $200 per week.
What Common Mistakes Should I Avoid When Filing a Car Insurance Claim?
1. Waiting Too Long to File Your Claim
A successful claim lives or dies on the back of evidence collected from the scene of the crash. Dragging your heels will bring down the entire investigation, leaving your insurance company with too little fresh information to comb through and not enough reasons to exempt you from blame and pay out your claim.
Contact your insurance company and file the relevant documentation as soon as possible in the aftermath of an accident.
2. Admitting Fault
It might look like it was your fault, but you should never take the blame. Jumping to conclusions after a crash could derail your future claim and could see you paying your repair bill and medical expenses out of your own pocket.
After an accident, stick to the necessities: call the police, take down the relevant information, snap a few pictures and quiz any witnesses nearby. Do not admit fault.
3. Not Following up with the Insurance Company
Once you’ve filed your insurance claim, don’t forget about it. It pays to follow up on the progress of your claim to ensure it doesn’t fall through the cracks. Plus, knowing exactly when your claim will be processed and paid out will help cut down on the anxiety, confusion and stress.
Should I Raise My Car Insurance Liability Limits?
Minimum insurance limits pay for basic costs incurred in a crash. These limits can be exhausted quickly if you are involved in an accident with multiple injured parties, where there are many claimants, or if your crash caused significant property damage, and the repair costs go through the roof. In that case, you may be on the hook to cover the balance from your own pocket.
Are There Any Additional Car Insurance Options in Kentucky?
In addition to the minimum required coverage, insurers may offer you a range of other insurance options to ensure you are protected in the event of a serious crash:
- Collision coverage pays for repairs to your vehicle after a collision with another object;
- Comprehensive coverage protects you from damages to your car from events other than a crash – such as fire, vandalism, or theft;
- Underinsured motorist cover pays for your medical treatment costs once they exceed the policy limits of the at-fault driver; and
- Uninsured motorist coverage pays your hospital bills if the negligent driver is either uninsured or unidentified, such as in the event of a hit-and-run.
What Factors Determine My Monthly Premiums?
Kentucky car insurance companies are allowed to determine your rates by taking many factors into consideration. These criteria include:
- The make and model of the car you drive;
- The number of drivers on your policy, and their ages;
- Your driving record and history of traffic violations;
- How near your home is to the nearest hospital;
- The average number of accidents in your area;
- Your credit score;
- Your area’s population density; and
- Typical car repair rates in your area.
Do I Qualify for Car Insurance Discounts in Kentucky?
You may qualify for insurance discounts in Kentucky if you possess multiple policies, keep within low-mileage limits, install an anti-theft device, can show you are a good student or are able to prove you have a history of safe, defensive driving habits.
What Is Car Insurance Fraud?
Car insurance fraud involves misleading insurers to make larger than appropriate payouts. You may be guilty of car insurance fraud if you:
- Stage a car accident;
- Make a false claim of injury;
- Claim your vehicle has been stolen;
- State an accident occurred after a policy or coverage was purchased;
- Make a false claim for damage that existed prior to the crash; or
- Mislead the authorities or your insurer about who was driving at the time of the accident.
What Are Kentucky’s Drinking and Driving Laws?
Even a small amount of alcohol can impair your ability behind the wheel. This means that the likelihood of a crash is exceptionally higher, and thus cannot be allowed on Kentucky roads. Drivers with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or greater are considered to be driving under the influence (DUI). Commercial drivers cannot have a BAC of .04 percent or more and underage drivers cannot have a BAC of .02 or more.
Anyone who drives in Kentucky automatically agrees to a chemical test if arrested for DUI. This is called the “Implied Consent” law. If you take the test, the reading will be used in court, and if you don’t take the test, your license may be revoked. Penalties for DUI can include fines, suspension, and even jail time.
Repeat offenders (drivers convicted of DUI two or more times) must turn their license plates over to the courts for their entire suspension period. They may also be required to put an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. This will prevent the violator’s car from starting if their BAC is too high.
To avoid potentially drinking and driving, it’s important to always have a plan. Have a designated driver, use a ridesharing service, ensure a friend or family member is on standby, or arrange to stay at a hotel or friend’s house.
What Are Kentucky’s Texting While Driving Laws?
In Kentucky, all drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. This is because texting takes your eyes, mind, and hands away from the act of driving safely. You may, however, use your phone while driving to make and receive calls and to use its GPS service.
Drivers under the age of 18 are banned from any use of a mobile device while driving. Teen drivers may use their phone’s GPS function but must type the required information only once their vehicle is standing still.
What Is Kentucky’s Points System?
Kentucky’s Division of Driver Licensing (DDL) point system is designed to deter drivers from risky behaviors. It also helps the state identify drivers who habitually violate the rules of the road.
If you are over the age of 18 and collect 12 or more points, you will be ordered to appear at a Kentucky Transportation Cabinet hearing, where the authorities will consider whether to suspend your driving license.
Failing to yield, driving down the wrong way on a one-way street, or traveling too fast for conditions are each worth three points. Following too closely behind another vehicle, driving recklessly, and failing to yield to an emergency vehicle are worth four points each.
Passing someone improperly will earn you five points, and traveling 16 to 25 mph over the posted speed limit is worth six points. A combination of any two or more moving hazardous violations in any one continuous occurrence will also collect you a total of six points.
Accumulating points on your record can cause your car insurance premium to skyrocket.
Kentucky’s Traffic Safety Laws
Kentucky’s primary seat belt law means that anyone driving a moving vehicle must wear a seat belt, and so must their passengers. Only three categories of persons are exempt from this rule:
- USPS letter carriers, while on duty;
- Drivers or passengers with disabilities that make it unsafe to wear a seatbelt, in possession of a letter from their physician to that effect; and
- Children, who are properly restrained in child safety seats.
Car Accidents in Kentucky: The Statistics
A total of 782 fatalities were recorded on Kentucky roads in 2017, according to the latest research by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. That reflects a decline of 6.2 percent from the year before.
Between 2003 and 2012, 2,041 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Kentucky, according to data collected by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
In Kentucky in 2014, there were over 53,500 crashes due to distracted driving. These resulted in over 14,000 injuries and 169 fatalities, according to the state Department of Transportation.