At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Finding cheap auto insurance in Kansas is a great way to reduce your monthly expenses. But with so many companies promising the most affordable rates, it can be challenging to noodle out the best policy for your needs and budget. To help our readers save time and money, we gathered insurance quote data on several top providers to find the lowest insurance prices in The Sunflower State.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Kansas
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Kansas
If you’re hoping to snag the lowest premiums in Kansas, you’ll need to evaluate quotes from different insurers. Below, you’ll find our recommendations for insurance carriers that cater to common driver profiles:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Drivers with a DUI|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Kansas
Our Geeks considered customer reviews and complaint data to find Iowa’s best insurers. Below is an overview of the results of our study:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Kansas
Kansas law requires motorists to carry a minimum amount of insurance for coverage of bodily injury and property damage liability, personal injury protection (or PIP), and uninsured/underinsured motorist protection.
The mandated minimums are as follows:
- $25,000 per individual for bodily injury;
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury; and
- $25,000 per person for property damage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
- $4,500 per person for medical expenditures;
- $900 per month for 12 months for disability or income loss;
- $25 per day for in-home care;
- $2,500 for death-related services (funeral, burial, etc.); and
- $4,500 for rehabilitation services.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
- $25,000 per person; and
- $50,000 per accident.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Kansas
If you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer and can’t show proof of your insurance policy, you may face serious fines and even have your license suspended.
Even if this is your first offense, you will be hit with a Class B misdemeanor. Kansas State Legislature allows the court to decide on a fine anywhere between $300 and $1,000 and to sentence you to a maximum of six months in prison.
If you are caught on the road without insurance again within years of your first conviction, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. This comes with a fine of anything between $800 and $2,500, together with a potential year-long prison term.
Violate the Kansas Vehicle Insurance Provisions for a third time within a five-year period, and the Driver Control Bureau will label you a habitual traffic violator. This is now a Class E felony, and brings a prison sentence of one to two years in the State Penitentiary.
In all three of these cases, the court will revoke your driver’s license and suspend your car registration. To have these privileges reinstated you will have to show the court you are financially responsible enough to hit the road again, in the form of an SR-22 form. This certificate proves that your high-risk liability cover now applies.
Kansas Car Insurance FAQs
What Is the Kansas Automobile Insurance Plan?
Car insurance companies in Kansas may refuse you coverage if they consider you too high-risk to cover. In that case, the Kansas Automobile Insurance Plan can help you secure the insurance you need to drive legally in the state. You may be eligible to apply for insurance through the plan if you have been turned down by at least three insurers. All licensed car insurance agents in Kansas will be able to help you apply for coverage.
Is Minimum Mandatory Car Insurance Enough for Me?
The minimum limits applied by Kansas law are designed to cover basic costs after an accident. If you are involved in a serious crash, however, with multiple parties and a wide range of extensive damage, those limits can be exhausted quickly.
Speak to your insurer about investing in higher policy limits.
How Does Mandatory Car Insurance Work in Kansas?
In Kansas, all drivers must carry car insurance with both liability and uninsured motorist coverage. As Kansas is a no-fault state, your car insurer will pay for your injury costs after an accident, no matter who is at fault.
Traffic officers may ask to see proof of your insurance at any time, which is why you must have either a hard copy or digital record of your insurance identification card with you when you drive anywhere in the state.
Your insurance policy must include bodily injury, property damage, and uninsured motorist coverage. These will kick in to pay for the costs that stem from an accident, up to the limits of your contract agreement.
Bodily injury (BI) cover applies to someone else’s injuries in an accident you have caused. Property damage (PD) covers repair costs incurred by the other drivers in a crash where you are at fault. Uninsured/underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury (UM/UIMBI) applies if you are in an accident with a driver who does not have the proper insurance coverage to cover your costs.
How Does Personal Injury Protection Work in Kansas?
Personal injury protection is also known as no-fault insurance, and pays for your medical treatment after an accident regardless of who caused it. These benefits are defined by certain limits, and include:
- Medical treatments and services, such as ambulance transport and surgeries;
- Post-accident rehabilitation;
- Loss of income, or disability, for as long as a year after the accident;
- Substitution benefits, to cover the costs of hiring someone to perform necessary household tasks you would usually be responsible for;
- Costs related to funeral and burial services; and
- Lost income.
Does My PIP Mean I Can’t Sue After a Crash in Kansas?
Having access to the no-fault insurance benefits listed above means you are limited in your rights to make a claim for compensation after an accident.
You may only sue the driver who caused the crash if:
- Medical treatment for your accident-related injuries amount to more than $2,000; or
- Your injuries involve permanent disfigurement, a serious fracture to a weight-bearing bone, loss of a body part, permanent injury or loss of a bodily function, such as eyesight, or death.
How Is My Car Insurance Premium Calculated in Kansas?
In Kansas, car insurers may consider a number of criteria when calculating your premium, including:
- Your age, gender, and marital status;
- Where you live and how you secure your vehicle;
- Your car’s make, model, and mileage;
- How often your drive and for what purposes;
- Your claims and credit history; and
- Your deductible: how much you must pay before your insurance kicks in.
The most important factor of all, however, is your driving record. Stay within the laws of the road and practice safe driving habits and insurers will most likely offer you favorable premium rates – but rack up a pile of traffic tickets and your monthly installment will skyrocket.
What Car Insurance Discounts Are Available in Kansas?
Car insurance companies may offer you discounts on your premium if you insure multiple vehicles, can show you are a good student, prove you have been a safe and defensive driver, or have installed relevant safety devices in your vehicle.
What Is Car Insurance Fraud in Kansas?
People who stage car accidents, lie about their injuries, or exaggerate the extent of necessary vehicle repairs after a crash may be guilty of car insurance fraud. These can be drivers, passengers, car repair servicemen or even medical practitioners.
When Can My Driver’s License Be Suspended in Kansas?
In Kansas, apart from failing to maintain continuous liability insurance on your vehicle, the state may suspend your driver’s license if you:
- Fail to show up for a designated date in court;
- Forget to respond to a traffic citation, whether it is issued in Kansas or in any other state;
- Refuse a chemical test to measure your blood alcohol concentration (BAC);
- Drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs; or
- Transport an open container of liquor or a cereal malt beverage.
Can My License Be Revoked in Kansas?
While relatively minor traffic offenses might result in your license being suspended, some serious moving violations can lead to it being revoked completely, such as:
- Reckless driving;
- Any felony in which you use a motor vehicle;
- Trying to escape a police officer;
- Homicide involving the use of a motor vehicle;
- Failing to stop and offer help at the scene a motor vehicle accident that results in the death of, or injury to, another person; or
- Aggravated vehicle homicide or vehicle battery.
In order to have your Kansas driver’s license reinstated after it has been revoked, you will have to:
- Serve jail time and pay a significant fine;
- Complete a behavioral adjustment or evaluation program;
- Complete a driver improvement or defensive driving course;
- Pay a large reinstatement fee; and
- Drive within certain court-mandated restrictions.
I’ve Been in a Crash: What Do I Do Now?
Car accidents are very often complex, confusing events that can leave you confused. While it is not easy to remain calm and level-headed in these situations, it is essential that you follow particular steps in order to ensure a successful car insurance claim at a later stage.
Remember to follow these 8 steps after a car crash in Kansas:
- Pull over safely and remain at the scene until the authorities arrive;
- Check all other drivers and passengers for injuries and help them if you can;
- Warn other oncoming drivers about the crash site;
- Notify the police and cooperate with their instructions;
- Exchange your contact and insurance information with other involved parties;
- Approach witnesses and ask if they saw what occurred;
- Record the scene, in the form of photographs and detailed notes; and
- Call your insurance company immediately to tell them what happened.
Am I Allowed to Use a Mobile Phone or Other Handheld Devices While Driving in Kansas?
If you’re a new driver – specifically, if you have a learner’s permit or intermediate license – you may not use your cell phone at all, not even with a hands-free device. However, cell phone usage is legal for all other drivers except for sending or receiving text messages.
There are some exceptions, including police or emergency workers using devices (such as sending text messages) within the context of their job-related duties. But even though motorists with regular driver’s licenses are allowed to use their phones while driving, you may be held liable if your distraction during a call causes an accident resulting in an injury or death.
Car Accidents in Kansas: By the Numbers
A total of 61,844 road accidents in the state of Kansas during 2016, according to the state Department of Transportation (DOT). Over 2,200 of them involved a driver over the legal BAC limit.
There were 461 people killed in car accidents in Kansas in 2017, according to National Highway Traffic Safety Administration research. Just over 100 of those fatalities were involved in alcohol-related crashes.
Between 2003 and 2012, 1,214 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Kansas, according to data collected by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
As of 2018, the Kansas seat belt usage rate is 84 percent, reports the Kansas Traffic Safety Resource Office. Yet over half of all reported fatalities in the state involve a driver who was not buckled up at the time of the crash, warns the state DOT.