At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Finding cheap car insurance in Hawaii is an easy way to cut your monthly expenses. If you’re searching for a new insurance policy, this page is the perfect place to start. Our team has compared the rates of several top providers to simplify your search for the most affordable quotes.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Hawaii
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Hawaii
If you’re searching for the cheapest rates in Hawaii, you’ll have to compare quotes from multiple companies. Below, you’ll find provider recommendations for various driver categories:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|State Farm||Low Annual Mileage|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Hawaii
Our Geeks used customer reviews and complaint data to find the best insurance companies in the state. The following table provides a summary of our findings:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Hawaii
Motorists in Hawaii are required to have auto insurance with $20,000 for bodily injury to one person, $40,000 for bodily injury per crash, $10,000 for damage to property, and $10,000 per crash in Personal Injury Protection.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Hawaii
According to the Compulsory Liability Insurance Law, traffic authorities in Hawaii may request to see proof of your mandatory minimum insurance at any routine traffic stop. You will also need to produce your insurance card during any vehicle safety inspection.
Failing to produce proof that you are insured when asked can lead to significant penalties.
The first time you are caught driving while uninsured in Hawaii you will be fined a minimum of $500 and have your license suspended for three months. You may be able to reduce your fine if you pledge to perform between 75 and 100 hours of community service, and the court may decide not to enforce your license suspension if you can show you have purchased the proper insurance and are covered for six months into the future.
If you are caught driving while uninsured again, within five years of your previous conviction, you will be hit with a fine of between $1,500 and $5,000, and have your license suspended for a full year. You may be able to have your fine reduced if you put in between 200 and 275 hours of community service.
The offense of driving while uninsured is deemed far more serious if you are caught after an accident. In that case, your license may be suspended for up to two years. In addition, you will need to cover the costs of the other driver’s property damage and bodily injuries out of your own pocket. If you cannot, your vehicle registration will be revoked.
Hawaii Car Insurance FAQs
How Does Personal Injury Protection Work in Hawaii?
Personal injury protection (PIP) is required in Hawaii, and covers the necessary medical services – such as ambulance, hospital, X-rays, surgery, professional nursing, and rehabilitation services – you require in the immediate aftermath of a car accident.
PIP kicks in anytime you suffer injuries in a road accident, up to the limits defined in your policy agreement. It applies to anyone who is in an accident while using your insured vehicle, provided they were doing so with your permission, and also covers you or any family members in your household if they are hurt in a motor accident as a pedestrian.
What Is Optional First-Party Insurance in Hawaii?
Car accidents are complex, life-changing events, and can have a wide range of long-term effects. Mandatory insurance amounts pay for immediate costs incurred in a crash, but may not cover the full extent of your damages. In that case, it may be useful to invest in insurance limits or options over and above those required by law.
It may also be beneficial to attach additional forms of coverage to your personal injury protection coverage. Add-on PIP options that could help cover your accident-related costs include wage loss, death benefit, and funeral expense coverage.
- If you or someone covered by your PIP policy is hurt and unable to earn a regular income, wage loss coverage will compensate for that lost income. The coverage amount will be calculated based on your usual gross income and your insurance premium.
- If you or someone in your family is killed in a car accident, death benefit cover ensures surviving spouses and dependents receive a minimum of $25,000 in compensation. The amount they receive will vary according to the limits set by your policy, and you may negotiate higher rates.
- Funeral expense cover pays for the costs of a funeral in the aftermath of a fatal crash. This benefit applies to your or anyone covered by your PIP and begins at a minimum of $2,000 per accident.
Are You Allowed to Sue After a Car Accident in Hawaii?
In normal circumstances, your PIP coverage will pay for medical expenses incurred after a car crash, and this benefit negates your ability to sue the driver at fault. There are exceptions to this rule, however:
- You may be able to sue the negligent driver for quantitative damages if your total medical expenses amount to $5,000.
- You may be able to make a claim for qualitative damages if you suffer a serious injury – such as loss of a limb or major physical function, or permanent serious disfigurement – or death.
What Happens to Habitual Offenders Who Drive Without Insurance?
You might be considered a habitual offender if you are caught driving while uninsured multiple times in a five-year period, and if so, will face much larger fines, jail time, having your license revoked, and your motor vehicle may be impounded. These penalties are at the discretion of the court and are designed to discourage drivers from going without insurance.
How Do I Get My License Reinstated?
Driving while uninsured can leave you with a suspended license. To have it reinstated, you will need to either purchase an insurance policy that meets the state’s minimum coverage requirements or file an SR-22 form. You will also need to approach the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and submit a Reinstatement Request along with proof of your insurance. They will ask for a $20 reinstatement fee, and order you to complete the standard driver’s examinations from scratch.
What Is the Hawaii Joint Underwriting Plan?
Insurance violations will reflect on your driving record. Insurers will use that record to evaluate your risk profile and calculate your premium. If you have a history of repeated violations, insurance companies may consider you a high-risk prospect and deny you the insurance you need.
The Hawaii Joint Underwriting Plan (HJUP) can assist by assigning insurers to high-risk drivers. This risk-pool scheme shares the costs associated with high-risk drivers across all insurers in the state. You may apply for insurance through any licensed agent or broker of an insurance company in Hawaii, and if you are successful, you will be assigned an insurer by the Insurance Commissioner.
Am I Eligible for the Hawaii JUP?
When considering your HJUP application, Hawaii insurance agents will conduct an investigation into your driving record over the past three years. You may not be eligible if you:
- Have seen your license suspended or revoked, or have multiple records of traffic violations, including driving without the proper insurance;
- Have been involved in two or more accidents that led to a person’s physical injuries or over $1,000 worth of property damage;
- Are on a public assistance program or are permanently disabled; or
- Are unable to secure at least the minimum insurance coverage required by Hawaii law.
What If I Have a Dispute with My Car Insurance Provider?
The Hawaii Insurance Division is responsible for investigating complaints and mediating disputes between consumers and their insurance carriers. If you are unable to settle a dispute with your car insurance company, you may complete a complaint form and mail it to:
Hawaii Insurance Division
Compliance and Enforcement Branch
P.O. Box 3614
Honolulu, HI 96811
What Is Car Insurance Fraud?
Fraud costs insurance companies millions of dollars nationwide every year. This has a knock-on effect for honest and reliable drivers, who may find their insurance premiums are too high as a result.
Drivers, doctors, and mechanics can all be found guilty of committing car insurance fraud. Instances of car insurance fraud can include staging car accidents, or lying about the extent of crash-related injuries, damages, and repairs.
If you suspect someone is guilty of insurance fraud, you can report it to the Insurance Division by calling (808) 597-7416.
How Is Your Insurance Premium Determined in Hawaii?
Car insurance rates in Hawaii are affected by several factors, and not all of them are under your control. Your age, gender, and marital status will play a role, as research shows young, male, and single drivers tend to drive more recklessly. Your car’s make, model, and age will also be taken into consideration, as these will determine how costly it will be to replace and repair its parts after an accident.
But perhaps the most important factor is your driving record. Car insurers are much more likely to offer you favorable insurance rates if you can prove you are a safe driver who avoids risky behaviors, such as speeding or driving under the influence of alcohol.
Does Hawaii Have a Traffic Violations Points System?
No. But that does not mean you will get off lightly if you disobey the law and collect traffic convictions. In fact, all traffic tickets issued in Hawaii will reflect on your driving history report, with the exception of parking infractions.
Some of these traffic violations come with immediate license suspensions, while other, more minor offenses – including driving over the speed limit, changing lanes dangerously or improperly, following too closely, and running a red light – can add up over time.
The Hawaii Department of Transportation (DOT) is responsible for issuing fines and imposing penalties related to the offenses on your record. It also makes your driving record available to your car insurance company at all times. If you have a long history of collecting traffic tickets, your insurer may increase your premium accordingly, or even cancel your policy.
What Should I Do If I Get into a Car Accident?
The first thing you should do after getting into a car accident is stop and pull over to the side of the road. After making sure you and all other parties are unharmed, assess the damages and call the police to file an accident report. Hawaii law dictates that the police be notified as soon as possible of accidents resulting in injury, death, or property damage totaling more than $3000. Do not leave the scene until the situation is resolved.
If someone is injured, call for an ambulance and help to the best of your abilities. Keep them warm and apply pressure to bleeding wounds, but don’t move the person unless absolutely necessary.
The next steps are to warn oncoming vehicles of the hazard and to exchange information with the other people involved. Make sure everyone provides their names, addresses, vehicle registration numbers, and insurance information. You should then file a claim with your insurance company.
If you hit an unattended vehicle or another structure, let the owners know. Track them down if you can, and if you can’t, leave a note with your information and an explanation.
Note that failure to comply can result in a license suspension.
Car Accidents in Hawaii: The Numbers
A total of 120 people were killed in road accidents in Hawaii in 2016, a jump of 29 percent from the year before, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
Between 2003 and 2012, 484 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Hawaii.