At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
It’s easy to feel overwhelmed when comparing auto insurance quotes simply because there are so many providers to choose from. Unfortunately, there’s no such thing as a one-size-fits-all insurer who offers the best car insurance rates in Georgia for everyone. To help you uncover the cheapest quote for your particular situation, our Geeks crunched the numbers from several top carriers in The Peach State.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Georgia
To find the cheapest auto insurance premiums in Georgia, you need to compare policies from multiple providers. Below, you’ll find our list of insurance company recommendations for different driver profiles:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|State Farm||Low Annual Mileage|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Georgia
We looked at policyholder reviews and complaint data to identify Georgia’s best auto insurance companies. The table below offers a breakdown of our findings:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Georgia
Drivers in Georgia are legally required to carry auto insurance that covers $25,000 for bodily injury to one person, $50,000 for bodily injury per collision, and $25,000 for property damage.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Georgia
Traffic law enforcement officers have the authority to ask to see proof of your active insurance policy at routine traffic stops and at the scene of a crash. If you cannot show you carry the proper insurance, you could be hit with a misdemeanor and a number of severe penalties. Here is how the penalties progress with each conviction:
- First offenders
License and registration suspended: 60 days
Lapse fee: $25
Reinstatement fee: $60
Possible jail time: up to 12 months
- Second Offenders
License and registration suspended: 90 days
Lapse fee: $25
Reinstatement fee: $60
Possible jail time: up to 12 months
- Third and Subsequent Offenders
License and registration suspended: six months
Lapse fee: $25
Reinstatement fee: $160
Possible jail time: up to 12 months
Additional penalties: if driving a suspended vehicle
Georgia Car Insurance FAQs
What Car Insurance Coverage Options Are Available in Georgia?
Your are legally required to carry only the bare minimum in auto insurance. But car accidents are complex events that can have wide-ranging and long-lasting consequences. In the event of a serious accident, the minimum required amount may not be enough to cover the full extent of the damage.
It may be beneficial to purchase both BI and PD insurance coverage with higher limits than what is required, to ensure you are not left paying out of pocket. You may also find one or more of these optional coverage options useful:
- Collision coverage: when your car collides with another and is damaged in the process, this insurance will pay for the repair costs;
- Comprehensive coverage: when your car is damaged in an incident or event that is not strictly an accident, this insurance will pay for the repairs; and
- Uninsured motorist coverage: when you are in a crash caused by a driver without the proper insurance, he or she may be unable to pay for your vehicle repair or medical expenses, and this insurance will kick in to cover what they owe.
What Is the Georgia Automobile Insurance Plan?
If you have a poor driving history, you may find it difficult to find insurance in Georgia. That’s because insurers are usually reluctant to take on the risk of a driver who may end up costing them money in accident-related payouts.
But even if you have been designated a high-risk driver, you still need to be insured. The Georgia Automobile Insurance Plan (GAAIP) is a state-led initiative that assigns insurers to drivers, no matter how risky their profile.
On this plan, you may find your premium to be a lot higher than you would prefer, due to your poor driving history. But GAAIP-assigned coverage is valid for a period three years, giving you ample opportunity to improve your driving record and reduce your risk profile.
You will only be eligible for coverage through the GAAIP if you can prove you have tried to find insurance from at leats two separate insurance companies in the past 60 days, and had your application turned down each time. You will also need to have a valid vehicle registration and driver’s license.
Speak to any licensed property and casualty insurance agent about applying for coverage through the plan.
What If My Car Insurance Expires?
If you allow your insurance policy to expire, your insurer will notify the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) and you will have 30 days from that expiration date to provide proof that you have applied for and secured a new insurance agreement.
A lapse – defined as ten or more days without proper insurance coverage – can lead to fines of anywhere from $85 to $185. And if you do not find insurance within those 30 days, your vehicle’s registration will be suspended.
Is It Possible to Reduce the Penalties for Driving While Uninsured?
Do you know you won’t be driving for a period of time? Or has your license been suspended? You can volunteer to cancel your vehicle’s registration so that you won’t be penalized for going without liability insurance. To do so you will need to approach the Tax Commissioner’s office and submit a signed and notarized formal Affidavit for Mandatory Insurance Relief of Lapse/Pending Suspension & Suspension Fees.
How Can I Lower My Car Insurance Premiums in Georgia?
Car insurers are notoriously risk-averse. This means the best way to pay lower monthly premiums is to practise safe driving habits and avoid dangerous situations while on the road.
While your driving record is a major determining factor that insurance companies will take into account when calculating your risk profile, it is not the only one. Other criteria to bear in mind are:
- Where you live;
- Where you park your car;
- Your age, gender, and marital status;
- The age and make of your vehicle;
- Whether you drive for work or leisure;
- How often you drive, and how far;
- The kinds of security features installed in your car; and
- Your credit history.
How Can I Prove That I Have Car Insurance?
It is recommended that you carry your insurance card with you in your vehicle at all times. While this is not a legal requirement, you will need proof of your policy details in the event of a crash, to exchange with other affected drivers. You may also keep a digital card stored on your smartphone, provided it includes all the necessary information.
Your insurance carrier should submit the details of your policy agreement to the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS). It is essential that they do so. When you register your vehicle, or are asked to show proof of insurance at a traffic stop, the authorities will try to match the details displayed on your insurance card to the information stored on the system. Any discrepancies could land you in trouble.
Do Georgia Car Insurance Companies Offer Discounts on Premiums?
Most insurance companies in Georgia will offer discounts to drivers they consider to be low-risk. You may qualify for a discount if you have a history of safe driving, have insured multiple vehicles – or have completed a DDS-approved defensive driver course. Speak to your insurer about whether you are eligible.
What Is Insurance Fraud?
Car insurance fraud is the practice of deliberately deceiving insurance companies about the cause of an accident or the nature and extent of the damage incurred.
Instances of car insurance fraud include:
- A driver deliberately staging a car crash;
- A passenger faking an injury after being in an accident;
- Anyone supplying false information to an insurance carrier;
- A car repair service overcharging for reconstruction work; or
- A medical professional overcharging for treatment.
Report insurance fraud to the Consumer Services Division of Georgia’s Office of Commissioner of Insurance by calling (800) 656-2298 toll-free.
Does Georgia Require Drivers to Carry Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage?
It’s not required in Georgia, but uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) insurance can save you a lot of hardship.
In most instances, the at-fault driver is liable for claims related to the injuries or property damage claimed by others involved in the accident. And while Georgia law requires motorists to have a certain amount of coverage – including liability coverage – not everyone follows the law. And it’s likely that a driver without insurance also won’t be inclined to cover your damages out of their own pocket.
That’s where UM/UIM motorist coverage comes in.
It may seem strange to pay for coverage in the event an at-fault driver lacks adequate coverage, but the alternative could leave you stuck with mounting debt and an undrivable car. In fact, a study citing data from 2015 shows that 12 percent of Georgia motorists were uninsured.
How Does Georgia’s Point System Work?
The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) assesses points on driver’s licenses for violations, as do most other states, ranging from two to six points per incident. For instance, a reckless driving violation results in four points on your license, while failure to obey a traffic signal will get you three points. Any Georgia motorist who gets 15 points within a 24-month period will have their license suspended.
If you’re concerned about the number of points on your license, you may consider getting a points reduction by completing a certified defensive driving course. After completing the course, you must submit the certificate of completion to the DDS to qualify. Motorists who are licensed in Georgia may apply for a reduction of up to seven points once in every five-year period.
Will Points on My License Affect My Insurance Rates?
Points on your license may affect your rates, but not necessarily. And even if you plead “no contest” to a traffic offense and avoid having points added to your license, your insurance company will still have access to your record. So, while a driver with multiple points on their license may see their rates go up, insurers are more likely to use the driver’s actual record as a basis for such increases and adjustments.
Points disappear from your license after two years. But given the fact that traffic violations remain on your record forever (although insurance companies can’t look back more than seven years), your rates will likely be based on a broad swath of your driving history.
A Quick Guide to Georgia’s DUI Laws
In Georgia, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of:
- 08% or higher, if you are 21 years old or older;
- 04% or higher, if you are operating a commercial vehicles; or
- 02% or higher, if you are younger than 21 years old.
If you are convicted of driving under the influence in Georgia you face a range of serious penalties, from having your license revoked to spending time in jail. It can also have a long-term effect on your car insurance premium. Drivers with DUI convictions on their record are considered high-risk cadidates by most insurers, and may find it very difficult to secure affordable insurance as a result.
Car Accident Statistics in Georgia
A total of 1,554 people were killed in road accidents in Georgia in 2016, accordign to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) – an increase of 8.5 percent from the year before.
Over 350 of those fatalities occurred in alcohol-related accidents.
Between 2003 and 2012, 3,699 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Georgia, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
In Georgia …
- 29 pedalcyclists were killed in accidents in 2015;
- 167 motorcyclists were killed in accidents in 2016;
- 193 pedestrians were killed in road accidents in 2015; and
- 169 fatal crashes involved large trucks 2016 (NHTSA).