Need help finding cheap car insurance in St. Petersburg, Florida? You’ve come to the right place. Scroll down to find the results of our study that compared rate data from top providers in the city.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in St. Petersburg
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|Geico||Drivers with a DUI|
FAQs About Cheap Car Insurance in St. Petersburg
What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in St. Petersburg?
The Sunshine City definitely lives up to its name, but if you’re caught driving with no coverage in the city, you’ll have a dark cloud hanging over your driving record for life. Why? All motorists in Florida are required to purchase insurance meeting state-specific minimum limits. Fail to do so and your license could be suspended. Make sure you’re on the right side of the law by ensuring your policy meets these coverage amounts:
• $10,000 in Property Damage Liability
• $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in St. Petersburg?
Strict penalties await drivers travelling with no coverage in St. Petersburg. Despite this, countless drivers still risk their licenses by hitting the road without adequate coverage. It’s estimated that more than a quarter of drivers in the state are uninsured or underinsured.
The high number of uninsured drivers has galvanized authorities to root out errant drivers on state roads. As a result, if you’re caught driving without insurance in St. Petersburg, you can expect harsh penalties for violating Florida’s financial responsibility laws.
For your first offense, your license will be suspended and will only be reinstated once you have purchased auto insurance meeting the state’s minimum limits. You will also need cover a steep $150 processing fee. If you’re nabbed violating Florida’s financial responsibility laws again, you can expect to pay up to triple that amount.
With the high number of motorists on Florida’s roads, many drivers are able to elude local law enforcement officers while driving without insurance. But it’s only a matter of time until the state’s electronic insurance database flags these motorists’ vehicles as uninsured. If your insurance policy lapses for any reason – you missed a payment or cancelled your coverage – your insurer is required, by law, to report this lapse to local authorities. This data is entered into the insurance database and your vehicle will be flagged as uninsured automatically. You will have a small window of time to purchase new coverage, make payments on your frozen policy, or risk the chance of losing your license for up to 3 years.
Can My St. Petersburg Insurer Increase My Premiums After a Crash Someone Else Caused?
Yes. It may sound unfair, but even if you’re not at fault, you can expect your auto insurance provider to increase your rates after you’re involved in an accident. Statistically, drivers who are involved in one accident are far more likely to cause or be involved in another. You are seen as a bigger liability in the aftermath of a collision and your insurer will adjust your rates to reflect this higher risk.