At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Finding the cheapest auto insurance in Jacksonville, Florida can take quite a bit of research. Our team set out to simplify the process by comparing some of the top car insurance providers in the area to determine who has the best rates. On this page, you’ll find:
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Jacksonville
The table below summarizes the results of our quote comparison research. Each auto insurance company takes a slightly different approach to calculating premiums. To find the best rates, it’s a good idea to compare quotes from multiple providers.
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|Geico||Drivers with a DUI|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Jacksonville
Which car insurance companies in Jacksonville offer the best customer experience and most reliable service? We sought out to answer this question by comparing complaint data and reviews.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Jacksonville
By law, Jacksonville motorists must carry auto insurance meeting the following minimum liability limits:
• Personal Injury Protection ($10,000)
• Property Damage Liability ($10,000)
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Jacksonville
If you’re caught driving without insurance in the River City, you’ll find yourself stranded without a paddle at the local police station. Despite steep penalties for using a car without coverage, the state still has the highest rate of uninsured drivers in the country, according to the Insurance Information Institute. It’s estimated that 26.7% of road users do not have coverage meeting the state’s mandated minimum liability limits.
If you are caught violating Florida’s mandatory insurance laws, your license will be suspended until you have purchased coverage meeting state requirements. Additionally, you may have to pay up to $150 in administrative fees to have your license reinstated.
If you are caught driving without insurance a second time, you may be forced to fork over an additional $100 in fees. Serial offenders (motorists caught driving with no coverage three or more times), may have to pay up to $500 to restore driving privileges.
Keep in mind that even if you aren’t caught on the road, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) will be informed when your insurance has lapsed. Insurers in the state are required to report any changes to your policy to the state to help authorities keep track of errant drivers. If you are unable to prove to the DHSMV that you purchased a new policy after your old plan lapsed, you could lose your license for up to 3 years.
Jacksonville Car Insurance FAQs
What Happens If I Don’t Have Insurance and I’m Involved in an Accident?
If you are involved in an accident, you are required to report the collision to authorities in Jacksonville if it involves an intoxicated driver, an injury or death, a hit-and-run, or property damage totaling $500.
In the event that you caused an accident in the city and cannot provide proof that you possess coverage meeting Florida’s minimum liability limits, you could be held liable for damages sustained by the other party or parties involved. Many uninsured drivers are financially crippled in the wake of an accident after being ordered to pay hundreds of thousands of dollars to cover victims’ medical costs. Your license will be suspended until you have paid for all damages.
Florida traffic laws require uninsured drivers who cause a crash that results in injury or death to purchase bodily liability coverage in addition to Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage Liability. Additionally, you will need to file an SR22 Certificate. This form is proof that you are in compliance with the state’s coverage requirements. The SR22 Certificate needs to be updated annually for a set period stipulated by the court (typically 3 years).