At PennyGeeks.com, our #1 goal is to provide users with reliable data and recommendations that help them find the best car insurance and products for their needs. However, to keep our site up and running, we do receive commission from some of the companies that appear on this page. This in no way influences the advice we provide, which is based on tireless research by our dedicated team.
We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
It’s easy to feel overwhelmed with so many car insurance providers competing for your business. To help you save time, our team compared quotes from some of the leading insurance providers in Arizona to find the best rates.
- Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Arizona
- Best Car Insurance Companies
- Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
- Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance
- Arizona Car Insurance FAQs
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Arizona
If you want to find the cheapest auto insurance rates in Arizona, you need to compare quotes from multiple providers. Below are our recommendations for different driver categories:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|Esurance||Drivers Who Pay Their Premiums Upfront|
|State Farm||Drivers with a DUI|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Arizona
Referencing reviews and complaint data, our Geeks identified the best auto insurance providers in Arizona. Below is a summary of our findings:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Arizona
Drivers in Arizona are required to have auto insurance that meets these minimum limits:
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Person: $15,000
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Accident: $30,000
- Property Damage Liability: $10,000
The Arizona Department of Transportation (DOT) requires anyone operating a motor vehicle on the state’s roads to carry liability insurance through a duly authorized company. You may be asked to show proof of your insurance policy if you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer or when you register your vehicle with the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). The purpose of liability insurance is to help you pay for the other people’s medical expenses and property damage after a crash that you have caused.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Arizona
If you are caught driving without proof of your insurance policy, your vehicle registration and driver’s license may be suspended for up to a year. You may also have to pay fines of up to $1,000 and be required to file an SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility for two years.
The first time you are charged with failure to carry appropriate insurance, you could face a $500 fine and have your driver’s license, registration, and license plates suspended for three months. The second time, if it is within three years of a previous insurance citation, you could be looking at a fine of $750, and your license, registration, and plates will be suspended for six months.
If you are caught with proof of insurance within three years of two previous violations, you’ll pay $1,000 in fines and won’t be able to use your license, registration, and plates for a full year.
If you are caught driving with a revoked or suspended license, your vehicle may be impounded for up to 30 days.
Arizona Car Insurance FAQs
How Can I Get My Citation Fines for Driving Without Auto Insurance Reduced?
If this is your first conviction for driving without minimum mandatory insurance, you may be able to ask the court to reduce your penalties and waive the conviction if you can prove:
- You have no previous convictions for driving without insurance within the past two years, or no more than one violation on your driving record within the past three years; or
- You have purchased at least a six-month insurance policy that meets Arizona’s minimum liability requirements.
What Is the Arizona Automobile Insurance Plan?
If you have a history of accumulating traffic citations or being involved in accidents, insurance companies will most likely consider you a high-risk driver and may deny you access to coverage. However, Arizona law requires that you are covered before you may drive legally. That’s where the Arizona Automobile Insurance Plan (AZ AIP) comes in.
Formed in 1952, the AZ AIP aims to ensure all eligible Arizona drivers have access to minimum insurance coverage regardless of their risk profile. The AZ AIP is responsible for assigning high-risk drivers to existing licensed Arizona insurers, and all insurers in Arizona must participate in this plan.
If you are a high-risk driver who is having trouble finding an insurance carrier willing to cover you, the AZ AIP may be able to help. However, you will not be able to choose your own insurance company. Instead, each insurance company in the state is required to accept a number of assigned drivers proportional to that company’s share of the total car insurance market in the state.
Being assigned an insurance company by the AZ AIP is the most expensive way to be a legal driver. By concentrating on becoming a safer, more defensive driver, you should qualify for insurance in the voluntary market, where you are likely to receive a far lower premium.
What Types of Auto Insurance Are Available in Arizona?
Liability insurance covers the injuries and property damage you cause to other people in the event of a crash. But these limits can be exhausted rapidly in the event of a serious accident involving severe damage. To avoid having to pay out of pocket, it’s a good idea to invest in higher liability limits and addon coverage.
Collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and medical payments coverage are all available in Arizona. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage pays for your own medical expenses and property damage if you are hit by an uninsured driver. Medical payments coverage pays at least a portion of your medical bills no matter who was at fault for a crash.
Collision coverage pays for any damage that you have caused to your own car. Comprehensive coverage pays for vehicle damage caused by external factors such as poor weather, theft, or wildlife. Rental reimbursement coverage pays for expenses incurred if you need to rent a car after an accident. Finally, full glass coverage pays for repairs and replacements to your windshield and windows.
What Is a De-Insured Certificate?
Arizona law states that all registered vehicles must be insured by a company licensed to do business in the state; however, you may be able to avoid unnecessary insurance payments and penalties by submitting a temporary De-Insured Certificate on vehicles that are not in use.
De-insurance puts a pause on the required insurance of a vehicle until it needs to be driven again. By de-insuring your vehicle, you are choosing not to maintain its insurance policy on the basis that the car will not be used in the state for a period of time.
What Is Self-Funded Insurance?
In Arizona, you may opt out of car insurance by taking out $40,000 in a certificate of deposit account assigned to the Office of the Arizona State Treasurer. For information on how to open an account, contact the Arizona State Treasurer’s Office directly.
How Are Car Insurance Rates Calculated in Arizona?
All car insurance premiums are regulated by the Arizona Department of Insurance. This body has ruled that companies may charge premiums and award discounts based on the following criteria:
- The make and age of your car;
- Your car insurance coverage history;
- How often and how far you drive;
- Your previous driving history;
- Your age, gender, and marital status;
- Where you live;
- How long you have been driving;
- Your driving purpose such as for work or leisure; and
- Your credit history.
What Are the Recent Updates to Aggressive Driving Laws in Arizona?
Arizona has redefined aggressive driving to include speeding and improper passing. Specific actions that may constitute aggressive driving include:
- Exceeding the posted limit;
- Driving too fast for the conditions;
- Excessive lane changing;
- Failing to signal intent;
- Using an emergency lane to pass; or
- Passing on the shoulder.
How Does Arizona’s Traffic Violation Points System Work?
In Arizona, traffic violations come with points that are added to your driving record and accumulate over time. The more violations you commit, the more points you receive and the closer you get to having your license revoked.
If you acquire 8 or more points within a 12-month period, you may be forced to attend Traffic Survival School (TSS), or have your driving privileges suspended for up to a year. Minor infractions are lower on the points scale while more dangerous acts – such as driving recklessly, aggressively, or under the influence – could result in 8 points on their own.
Which Arizona Driving Laws Pertain to Teenagers and New Drivers?
Arizona has a few laws specific to drivers under the age of majority, including a six-month ban on cellphone use by teens after they receive a graduated license or turn 18. Teens with driving permits also are prohibited from using handheld devices. Arizona is one of just a few states without statewide bans on cellphone use while driving.
Penalties for violations include the following:
- First Offense: $75 fine
- Second Offense: $100 fine
- Third Offense: $100 fine and 30-day license suspension
At 15 and a half years of age, teenagers in Arizona may obtain a 12-month graduated instruction permit after passing a written test, vision screening, and completion of the application. A licensed (and insured) driver who’s at least 21 years old must be in the car when the permit-holder is driving.
Drivers under the age of 18 may apply for a graduated license in Arizona if they’ve had a valid permit for six months, completed a driver’s education program (or received 30 hours of instruction from a parent of legal guardian), and have met all other standard license requirements. Arizona drivers with a graduated license may not drive between 12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. for the first six months, with some exceptions (emergencies, work purposes, etc.).
Arizona law also holds parents liable (jointly with the minor) for damages caused by the minor’s negligence.
Are There any Other Restrictions on Cell Phone Use While Driving in Arizona?
Other than drivers with learning permits or teenagers with graduated driver’s licenses (for the first six months), Arizona doesn’t have a statewide ban on cellphone use while driving. But there are some exceptions, including school bus drivers.
Additionally, a few cities and counties have instituted bans on the use of cellphones while driving, including the following:
- Surprise: Prohibits use of any handheld device while driving ($250 fine for first offense)
- Phoenix: Only prohibits texting while driving ($100 fine for first offense; $250 if the text causes an accident)
- Pima County: Prohibits any use of a handheld device while driving (fines vary by city)
What Are the Penalties for Getting a DUI in Arizona?
Most first-offense DUIs in Arizona are charged as misdemeanors and include the following penalties:
- License suspension of at least 90 days
- Possible jail sentence
- Community service
- Ignition interlock device (IID)
You may be charged with a felony if you had two priors within the past six months, have a suspended driver’s license, or a child under the age of 15 is in the car at the time of the incident. Felony DUI convictions typically include a prison sentence.
But regardless of the severity of the charge or whether it’s your first offense, getting a DUI in Arizona will affect your auto insurance rates. After your driver’s license is suspended, you’ll need to show the state DMV proof of liability insurance through an SR-22 form (not all insurance companies offer these types of policies). Insurance premiums typically skyrocket after a DUI conviction – sometimes doubling – and remain high for about three years unless there are additional DUI offenses within that timeframe.
Arizona Car Accident Statistics
According to the Arizona Department of Transportation, there were 127,064 road accidents in the state in 2017. Those crashes causes 38,823 injuries and 919 fatalities.
Over 88,322 accidents involved property damage only, and 104,810 of them took place in urban areas. 4,854 accidents involved some form of alcohol use.
In Arizona, 84 cyclists, 136 motorcyclists, and 153 pedestrians were killed in road accidents in 2015, according the the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
Between 2003 and 2012, 2,912 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Arizona, according to statistics collected by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.