The cost of living is skyrocketing but there seem to be fewer and fewer ways to save money. However, in Juneau, Alaska, you can snag significant savings by shopping around for a new policy to get the cheapest auto insurance premiums. To save you time, our Geeks did the research, comparing policies and rates from a wide range of providers, and compiled a list of the best companies in the city.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Juneau
Many drivers overpay for their coverage, missing out on lucrative savings and discounts. But when you consider the extensive research required to score the cheapest rates, it’s understandable when motorists settle for higher premiums. But with our Quote Comparison Portal, you can evaluate and compare quotes from all of Juneau’s top providers. Below, you’ll find our list of recommended insurers for specific driver types:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|State Farm||Low Annual Mileage|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Juneau
We looked at extensive customer-driven data to vet Juneau’s insurers and identify the top auto insurance companies. You can find an overview of our findings below:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Juneau
By law, drivers in Juneau must comply with the state’s insurance laws requiring motorists to purchase insurance meeting specific minimum liability limits. These laws were introduced to ensure that every driver on Alaska’s roads has the financial means to cover property damage and injuries sustained by other parties in a crash. As a result, you must purchase the coverage listed here:
- $100,000 in coverage for total bodily injuries per crash
- $50,000 in coverage for bodily injury or death per person in a crash
- $25,000 in coverage for property damage in a crash
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Juneau
Due to the importance of carrying a basic policy, Juneau authorities impose strict penalties on anyone caught violating the state’s mandatory insurance laws. If you are caught driving without insurance, cannot present proof of insurance when requested by law enforcement officers, or the state’s electronic database flags your vehicle as being uninsured, your license could be suspended, you will be fined up to $500, and might have to comply with strict SR-22 maintenance requirements before you can apply have your driving privileges restored.
Juneau Car Insurance FAQs
Do I need SR-22 coverage in Juneau?
If your license is suspended due to a serious traffic violation – such as driving without insurance, driving while intoxicated, or causing a serious accident – you will most likely be required to fulfill SR-22 maintenance requirements before your driving privileges are restored. As part of this process, you would have to purchase a type of coverage known as SR-22 insurance.
Unlike a standard policy which only covers a single vehicle, this plan protects you as an individual regardless of what vehicle you are driving. Your new insurer will now file an SR-22 form on your behalf, showing the state that you are insured. You can apply to have your license reinstated. Be warned: If you let your coverage lapse during the SR-22 filing period, your license and registration may be suspended again and will have to start the process from square one.