Whether it’s clipping coupons or camping out for midnight deals, the endless pursuit to save more money every month can take its toll. But better budgeting doesn’t have to come at the cost of your sleep or sanity. In Anchorage, Alaska, you can score lucrative savings by comparing quotes from the city’s top car insurance companies to find the cheapest rates.
Our Geek shave scoured the city to identify the best providers and find the best deals. In this article, you can read more about:
- Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Anchorage
- Best Car Insurance Companies
- Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
- Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Anchorage
As drivers, we dream of finding an auto insurance policy that is both comprehensive and affordable. However, to find the perfect coverage you first have to compare quotes from Anchorage’s many local insurance companies. Click Here to use our Quote Comparison Portal to filter the results and find a plan that suits your needs and budget. Below, you can read through our list of suggestions on the best insurance companies for different types of drivers:
|Cheapest Insurer||Driver Category|
|Liberty Mutual||Safe Drivers|
|USAA||Drivers in the Military|
|State Farm||Low Annual Mileage|
Best Car Insurance Companies in Anchorage
Our Geeks put Anchorage’s auto insurance companies through the ringer, using reviews and customer-driven data to rank providers in the city. Read the table below for insight into their findings:
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Anchorage
All motorists in Anchorage must comply with Alaska’s mandatory auto insurance laws which require drivers to carry a policy meeting the minimum coverage limits listed below:
- $100,000 in bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability per individual
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Anchorage
If you’re pulled over at any time while on the road, Anchorage authorities can request to see proof that your vehicle is insured up to the state’s minimum liability limits. Law enforcement officers will accept both physical and digital evidence of a current policy including an official insurance ID card issued by your provider or an email from your insurer confirming your coverage. If you’re unable to present proof of valid insurance when requested to do so, you could face some of the penalties listed here:
- Up to $500 in fines
- Possible license suspension
- $100 license reinstatement fee
Second or Subsequent Offense (within 10 years)
- Up to $500 in fines
- 1-year license suspension
- SR-22 maintenance requirements
- $250 reinstatement fee
Anchorage Car Insurance FAQs
What are the SR-22 filing requirements in Anchorage?
When your license is suspended, you may be required to comply with so-called SR-22 filing requirements before your driving privileges are restored. In Anchorage, you will need to find an insurer offering “SR-22 insurance” and purchase a policy that covers you as an individual instead of just your vehicle.
Your new insurer will then file a certificate/form on your behalf informing the state that you are covered up to Alaska’s minimum liability limits. Typically, you will have to maintain this type of coverage for an unbroken period of 3 years. Any lapse in your coverage – due to cancellation or missed payments – could lead to the stripping of your driving privileges.
How do Anchorage insurers calculate my premiums?
Auto insurance companies in the city will look at extensive personal data to calculate your premiums. These criteria can include: Your accident history, driving record, occupation, marital status, age, credit score, and more.
Take note: While these details will affect your rates, your deductible – the amount you have to pay to cover an accident claim before your policy’s individual features kick in – plays a large role in determining the overall cost of your policy. Simply put: The higher this amount, the cheaper your coverage.