If you’re shopping around for cheap auto insurance in Utah, you’ve probably discovered that there’s no shortage of companies vying for your business. To help you narrow down the options, we conducted a study that compared low cost auto insurance quotes from nine leading carriers to identify the most affordable policies for these four driver categories:
Best Rates For Drivers With No Recent Accidents
Insurance companies reward safe behavior and a clean driving record with lower monthly premiums. You might qualify for a safe driver discount if you’ve gone multiple years without a collision.
Our Geeks determined that Allstate has the best insurance quotes for accident-free drivers in Utah. State Farm wasn’t far behind with an estimated monthly rate of $158.
Best Rates For Teen Drivers
Distracted driving, inexperience, peer pressure—these are just a few reasons why teenagers have the highest accident rate among all age groups. But some insurance companies offer low rates to new drivers in the hope that they’ll become long-term policyholders.
In this segment, we looked at auto insurance rates for male and female 18 year olds who wanted to purchase the minimum required coverage in Utah. Our test found that Allstate has very affordable premiums for young drivers.
Best Rates For Drivers With A DUI
Being convicted of a DUI is an expensive ordeal, and unfortunately, the financial repercussions might not fade until several years after your arrest. Beyond the attorney fees and fine, you can also expect to pay extra for auto insurance.
If you’re sick of struggling to pay your premiums, don’t take the risk of driving without coverage. Rather, try getting a quote from Allstate to find out if you could be paying less.
Best Rates For Senior Drivers
Older adults tend to spend less time on the road than their younger counterparts, and they also have more experience behind the wheel. In this part of our research, we looked at auto insurance rates for a 65-year-old motorist who drove 4,000 miles annually.
Most segments of our analysis involved a 29-year-old motorist who commuted 12,000 annual miles. The vehicle we used for all segments was a 2014 Toyota Corolla. Our estimated premiums are based on averages from female and male drivers in five Utah zip codes. The liability limits for all drivers except in the “teen driver” category were 50/100/25, and we added uninsured motorist coverage of the same limits.
How Much Auto Insurance Are Drivers Required To Carry In Utah?
In Utah, all motorists are legally required to have auto insurance coverage that meets the following minimum limits:
- $25,000 In Liability Coverage For Bodily Injury To One Person
- $65,000 In Liability Coverage For Bodily Injury In One Collision
- $25,000 In Liability Coverage For Damage To Property
- $3,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Utah Car Insurance FAQs
What Are The Penalties For Driving Without Car Insurance In Utah?
Getting caught driving without car insurance in Utah is a serious matter. Even for a first offense, your license and registration will be suspended, your vehicle will be impounded and you will have to cough up a minimum of $400 in fines. To make matters worse, it will cost you around $130 to have your license and registration reinstated. For your second and subsequent offenses, you will be fined no less than $1,000.
But these penalties pale in comparison to the punishment you will face if you find yourself driving uninsured and in an accident. In most cases, you will have to foot the bill of any expenses related to the crash – from your own medical expenses to your repair bills. And if the courts conclude that the accident was your fault, you will also have to cover the costs of damage and injuries sustained by any of the other motorists involved.
Bottom line: this risk simply isn’t worth it.
Steps To Take After A Car Accident In Utah
Step 1: Pull Over To A Safe Place
Stop your vehicle and, if possible, move your car to a safe space off the side of the road, where you are not blocking traffic.
Step 2: Evaluate The Scene
Do a quick check:
- Are you injured?
- Are any of your passengers injured?
- Are any of the other motorists or their passengers injured?
Provide assistance where you can, but do not move someone who is severely injured as you may unintentionally cause them even more harm.
Step 3: Call The Police
Not only do most states require you to report road accidents to the local authorities, but police will also be able to secure the crash scene and compile a detailed report that you can later use to help support your insurance claim.
Step 4: Exchange Information
Share your name, registration number, address, insurance information, and phone number with any of the motorists involved in the accident, and make sure you obtain their personal details. This is also a good time to take down the names and numbers of anyone who may have witnessed the accident.
Step 5: Take Pictures
Using your phone, take photographs of the accident scene, documenting damage to the vehicles involved.
Step 6: Get Medical Treatment
You might not be nursing any surface injuries, but you should always seek medical help after a collision. Spine and neck injuries are common in accidents, and a medical assessment will help determine whether you require treatment, saving you future pain and helping you file a watertight claim.
Step 7: Contact Your Insurer
Call your insurance company and find out which documentation you will be required to send through to start your claim. Our Geeks recommend sending any evidence you have collected – such as photographs, contact details of any witnesses and copies of the police report – alongside your claim as every piece of the puzzle will help you secure a satisfactory settlement.
Can I File A Claim If I Was Partially At Fault For A Car Accident In Utah?
Utah is one of just 12 states in the country that employ a no-fault insurance system. But what does this mean for you?
In no-fault insurance states, drivers carry insurance policies that cover medical bills no matter who was at fault. That means you can file a claim against your own insurance company even if you caused the crash.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Utah
In Utah, driving without insurance isn’t just a traffic violation, it’s a crime. If you’re stopped on state roads and cannot present proof that you possess coverage meeting the state’s minimum liability limits, you could be charged with a Class C misdemeanor. Other penalties may include:
- $400 fine for first offenses;
- $1,000 fine for subsequent offenses;
- SR-22 filing requirements for three years; and
- License suspension until you show adequate proof of insurance.
Not only will you have to deal with the headache of filling out and filing forms to reinstate your driving privileges, you will also have to fork out an additional $180 in fees and court surcharges before you can hit the road again.
What Are the SR-22 Filing Requirements in Utah?
If you are caught committing a serious traffic offense, such as driving under the influence or driving without insurance, you may be required to fulfil SR-22 filing requirements for a period of three years to retain your driving privileges. This process involves finding an insurer willing to file an SR-22 certificate on your behalf with the local Department of Transport or Department of Motor Vehicles. This document is proof that you are carrying coverage up to the state’s minimum liability limits.
However, if you let your coverage lapse at any point during the SR-22 filing period, your insurer is required, by law, to notify the Department that you are no longer covered. Your license and registration may be suspended and you will have to reset the clock on your SR-22 filing requirements regardless of how far along you were into fulfilling your obligations to the state.
So-called “SR-22 Insurance” is often far more expensive than a regular policy because insurers now consider you a high-risk driver. You may need to make certain sacrifices – such as trading out your vehicle for a cheaper car – to mitigate the financial burden of these increased rates.
Can I Have a Driving Without Insurance Misdemeanor Expunged in Utah?
A bad criminal record can impact your chances of finding gainful employment, leasing an apartment, and even applying for a new credit card. If you were convicted for driving without insurance, your record is now in jeopardy. Fortunately, you can have a Class C misdemeanor expunged in Utah under the following conditions:
- It has been three years since the date of conviction;
- You have obtained an official Certificate of Eligibility; and
- You file a petition to expunge your criminal records within 90 days of receiving your Certificate of Eligibility.
Important Utah Traffic Laws
Utah Child Safety Seat Laws
A child safety seat is designed to protect your little one in an accident, absorbing the shock of crash forces and keeping your kid restrained even when your car rolls or flips. As a result, the state’s traffic code requires all children under age 8 (unless they are 57 inches or taller) to be secured in a safety or booster seat.
Children between the ages 8 and 12, whether they are using your car’s seats or an age-appropriate booster, must be buckled in at all times. Take note: School buses and vehicles manufactured without safety straps are exempt from these requirements.
Click here for a comprehensive breakdown on the best booster and car seats for your child.
Utah Drunk Driving Laws
In December 2018, partygoers better prepare to sober up as the state drops its blood alcohol limit down from 0.08% to a restrictive 0.05%. For the average person, this is around half of a 12-ounce can of beer or around two-thirds of a glass of wine. It’s an amount that’s difficult to eyeball, and as a result, we recommend using public transport, a carpool service, or designated driver if you plan to drink once these new rules go into effect later this year.
If you’re stopped and test over the limit, you could face up to five years in prison, may have to pay fines totaling $2,850, could lose your license for up to 2 years, and will have to install an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle for up to 2 years. These penalties vary depending on the severity of your offense, and whether this is your first, second, or subsequent Driving Under the Influence conviction.
Utah Distracted Driving Laws
In Utah, it’s illegal to use handheld devices at any point while you’re driving. However, you can still talk on your phone by setting it to speaker mode or by using a hands-free kit. Take note: If an officer spots you using your phone to send text messages or browse the internet, he or she cannot pull you over and issue you a ticket unless you are committing another violation, such as steering into an unsafe turn.
What Is Comprehensive Coverage?
When it’s not a distracted driver, cavernous pothole, or covert fire hydrant damaging your car, Mother Nature herself is attacking your hard-earned property. For those so-called ‘acts of God’, which can include many types of loss – such as damage caused by wild fires, vandalism, theft, protests, falling objects, and more – comprehensive coverage is the feature you want. This addon to your basic policy is mandatory if you’re leasing or financing your vehicle. But in some cases – particularly if you live in parts of the U.S. prone to natural disasters – it may still be a worthwhile investment. To figure out whether this feature is worth adding to your premium, calculate whether the cost of maintaining this addon for three years is more or less than 10% of the current market value of your car. Digits leaving your vehicle’s value in the dust? Skip this feature and pray you aren’t one of the unlucky ones.
What Is Low-Mileage Insurance?
With apps like Uber, advanced public transport networks, and opportunities to work from home, we’re not as reliant as we once were on our cars. If your vehicle spends more time in the garage than on the road, you may qualify for low-mileage insurance. Offered by a small pool of providers, this type of policy rewards drivers who clock in under a certain mileage with reduced rates. Insurers will monitor your mileage using either an app or a device installed on your vehicle. Just be warned: All these benefits disappear if you find yourself hitting the mileage threshold.