From your age to your driving record to your location, there are many factors that influence the amount you pay for car insurance. If you’re searching for cheap auto insurance in Oklahoma, you’ll find that the quotes you get from one company might be significantly different from the next.
To take the hassle out of comparing auto insurance rates, our team evaluated premiums from nine providers to find the best deals for the following driver types:
Best Rates For Drivers With No Recent Accidents
Your driving record is the primary factor that insurance companies consider when calculating your insurance premiums. So if you’ve never been found at-fault for a wreck, you probably qualify for a safe driver discount.
Our Geeks found Allstate and Progressive to have very affordable insurance rates for drivers in this segment of our study. The estimates above are based on a 29-year-old motorist with a clean collision history.
Best Rates For Teen Drivers
Teenagers are considered to be more of a liability to insurance companies since their accident rate is far higher than that of adults. In our test, we calculated the average rates for an 18-year-old female and male driver who was shopping for the minimum required insurance coverage in OK.
Best Rates For Drivers With A DUI
If you’re sick of struggling to pay your car insurance premiums after a DUI, you’ve come to the right place. Our Geeks identified Allstate as the carrier with the lowest auto insurance rates for drivers with a DUI or DWI in Oklahoma. If you fall into this driver category, you should also take the time to get a quote from Progressive. These two providers were found in our analysis to offer the best rates for 29-year-old drivers with one drunk driving conviction involving a BAC of 0.08 percent.
Best Rates For Senior Drivers
State Farm was identified by our researchers as the carrier with the best car insurance rates for seniors in Oklahoma. We averaged the estimated monthly premiums of a male and female driver age 65 who drove one-third the annual mileage as our 29-year-old motorist.
Our study used a 2014 Toyota Corolla that was driven 12,000 annual miles. Our team looked at the average rates of females and males in five zip codes to determine the cheapest auto insurance carriers for each driver category. Except for the teen driver segment of our research, the liability coverage limits were 50/100/25, and we also included uninsured motorist coverage of the same amount.
How Much Car Insurance Liability Coverage Are Drivers In Oklahoma Required To Carry?
In Oklahoma, drivers are required to carry auto insurance that meets the following minimum liability limits:
- $25,000 To Cover Bodily Injuries To One Person
- $50,000 To Cover Bodily Injuries Per Wreck
- $25,000 To Cover Damage To Property
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, driving without auto insurance is a misdemeanor offense. If you are caught behind the wheel of a vehicle without insurance, driving with lapsed coverage or driving without your insurance card at hand, you will be fined.
If you are involved in an accident and cannot present proof that you are insured, you may be forced to cover the cost of any injuries and property damage sustained by both yourself and the other parties involved.
Penalties At A Checkpoint
At Oklahoma’s numerous routine checkpoints, you may be required to present proof of your insurance policy to traffic officers. Authorities can also enter your license plate number into a database wherein information provided by insurance companies in the state will verify whether you are insured or not.
If you are not insured or your coverage has lapsed, your registration will be suspended and you will be strapped with a $250 fine. In some cases, your vehicle may be towed, but it is more likely that officers will confiscate your plates and assign you a 10-day Temporary Motorist Liability Plan that covers the minimum amount mandated by the state.
During this time, you will still be able to use your vehicle but will be required to pay a fine, a $275 reinstatement fee, $125 administrative fee and present proof of current liability coverage to reinstate your registration. If you fail to do so, you will be charged and could face up to a month behind bars and have your license suspended for an entire year.
Penalties After An Accident
Driving without the state-mandated minimum liability coverage in Oklahoma is risky business. While being nabbed at a checkpoint or detected on the state’s database carries several implications, the penalties incurred after an accident can financially set you back for life.
If you have been involved in a crash and cannot provide proof of insurance, you will be charged with a misdemeanor and will most likely have to pay a $250 fine, serve up to 30 days in jail and could be held financially liable for any damage caused in the crash.
Your license and registration will also be suspended for a year, and your vehicle may be impounded. To reinstate your driving privileges after the suspension period, you will have to fork up $400 in reinstatement and administrative fees and present proof of an up-to-date auto insurance policy to the court.
Can I File A Claim If I Was Partially At Fault For An Accident In Oklahoma?
Yes. In Oklahoma, the driver responsible for causing the accident is also responsible for covering the costs of the resulting injuries and damages. But in many cases, multiple parties are liable for a single collision.
Insurance companies will look at all factors, from witness statements and police reports to evidence collected from the scene, when assigning liability to each driver. Fault is assigned to each driver as a percentage, and your damages award will be reduced by your percentage of fault.
Biggest Mistakes To Avoid When Filing A Car Insurance Claim
1. Not Documenting The Scene
If you fail to gather evidence at the scene, you are opening the door to a potential liability dispute. To give your claim the best chance of success, try to gather as much evidence at the scene as possible including photos of property damage and injuries, witness contact details, and other drivers’ insurance information.
2. Waiting Too Long To File The Claim
The difference between reaching a settlement or being forced to take out a loan to cover medical costs and repair bills is often as simple as picking up the phone. Too often, motorists with bulletproof claims derail their eventual payday by procrastinating that inevitable phone call with their insurance company.
Aim to contact your insurance company within 24 hours of the accident, when evidence at the scene and witness testimonies are still fresh.