mainlogo
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn GooglePlus

Cheapest Car Insurance Rates In North Dakota (2018)

If you’ve been searching the Web for cheap auto insurance in North Dakota, you’ve probably discovered that insurance quotes can vary greatly from one company to the next. There are dozens of factors that determine your monthly premiums. The secret to finding the best car insurance quotes in ND is to find a company that caters to your particular driver profile.

Below, you’ll find the results of our study that compared nine insurance providers to identify the best insurance rates in North Dakota for these four driver categories:

No Recent AccidentsTeen Drivers
Drivers With A DUISenior Drivers

Best Rates For Drivers With No Recent Accidents

$75/month estimate

$123/month estimate

If you’re a safe driver, you shouldn’t have to pay the same amount for insurance as a person who has a history of accidents. Fortunately, insurance companies are aware that good drivers are less of a liability, so they tend to offer cheaper premiums to motorists in this group.

Best Rates For Teen Drivers

$142/month estimate

Even the most diligent teenagers are more likely to cause accidents due to their inexperience. Our researchers determined that Allstate has the cheapest car insurance rates for teens in North Dakota. Our driver was an 18 year old who drive 12,000 miles per year and didn’t have any serious traffic infractions.

Best Rates For Drivers With A DUI

$88/month estimate

$229/month estimate

It’s easy to underestimate the penalties of a DUI or DWI until you’re convicted. In addition to criminal penalties, you’ll probably notice a marked increase in your insurance rates. Our study found that drivers in North Dakota who have been convicted of DUI can find the cheapest car insurance rates at State Farm.

Best Rates For Senior Drivers

$59/month estimate

$102/month estimate

If you’re a senior and you’ve had a clean driving record for the past five years, consider comparing auto insurance quotes from State Farm and Allstate. The driver in our test was 65 and traveled 4,000 miles per year.

STUDY METHODOLOGY

To estimate the monthly premiums for each driver category, our researchers averaged the auto insurance rates for males and females in five ND zip codes. The default driver’s age was 29. A 2014 Toyota Corolla is the vehicle used in the study. In most segments, the driver had an annual mileage of 12,000. Our hypothetical teen driver was shopping for insurance that met the minimum requirements in North Dakota. With the exception of the teenage driver part of our study, we used liability coverage limits of 50/100/25 and the same limits for uninsured motorist coverage.

Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements In North Dakota

In North Dakota, the minimum auto insurance limits are as follows:

  • For Bodily Injuries To One Individual: $25,000 Per Person / $50,000 Per Accident
  • For Property Damage: $25,000
  • Un/Underinsured Motorist Coverage For Bodily Injuries: $25,000 Per Person / $50,000 Per Accident
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $30,000 Per Person

North Dakota Car Insurance FAQs

What Is North Dakota’s Mandatory Liability Insurance Law?

In North Dakota, registered drivers are required to purchase and maintain an auto insurance policy that meets specific minimum liability coverage requirements. The aim of this law is to ensure that every motorist has the funds to cover the cost of property damage and medical bills caused in an accident. North Dakota is a “no-fault” car insurance state. As a result, Personal Injury Protection (or PIP) is a mandatory feature of the state’s minimum coverage requirements. This feature will pay for your medical bills (and sometimes even wages lost due to injuries sustained in the crash) regardless of who or what was responsible for the accident. A basic policy’s PIP addon is available to you, your spouse, relatives that live with you, and anyone driving your vehicle.

What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in North Dakota?

Every year, thousands of drivers risk severe penalties by driving without insurance. In North Dakota, this detour is a highway to hell. Not only will a Driving Without Insurance conviction result in license suspensions and fines, you may also be charged with a Class B misdemeanor.

While serial offenders will receive harsher punishments, first-time rulebreakers won’t escape with just a slap on the wrist. If you cannot present proof of insurance when requested to do so by law enforcement (or authorities discover your vehicle is uninsured), you will have to pay up to $1,000 in fines. While you’ll dodge jail time, you license may be suspended until you fulfill SR-22 filing requirements in the state.

For any violation within 12 months of your first, you may have to pay up to $5,000 in fines, serve a month behind bars, and lose your license, vehicle’s registration, and plates, until you can present proof of SR-22 insurance to the relevant Department or authority.

What Is SR-22 Insurance in North Dakota?

When your license is suspended due to a serious traffic violation, you will have to fulfil SR-22 filing requirements before your driving privileges are restored. As part of this process, you must purchase a policy from a provider willing to file an SR-22 form/certificate on your behalf. This document is proof that you are carrying insurance meeting the state’s mandated minimum liability limits.

In most cases, you will only need to fulfill this obligation for a year. But if you end your coverage or let your insurance lapse due to a missed payment, your provider will have to inform the authorities that you are now uninsured. The penalties: Your driver’s license and/or registration will once again be suspended. You will also need to restart the SR-22 filing period from scratch.

Typically, SR-22 insurance will cost you more than a standard policy. Many state insurers will also reject applications from high-risk motorists due to a Driving Without Insurance conviction.

How Can I Reinstate My Driving Privileges in North Dakota?

Fulfilling SR-22 filing requirements is only part of the long process of restoring your driving privileges in the state. You will also need to retake your driver’s test, forking over a further $10 to secure your appointment. Once you have checked all the boxes and passed your test, you must pay an additional $50 in reinstatement before you can return to the road.

Can I Have a Driving Without Insurance Misdemeanor Expunged in North Dakota?

Unfortunately, you cannot have your Driving Without Insurance misdemeanor expunged from your criminal record. As a result, anyone with access to criminal history can see that you were convicted of a crime. A bad criminal record can limit employment opportunities, affect rights to own a gun, and impact child custody rights. Your misdemeanor could haunt you for years to come.

While you may not be able to expunged your traffic violation, you can appeal to have your criminal record sealed. This will prevent the general public from viewing your crime history. You would need to find a lawyer well-versed in North Dakota’s expungement court proceedings and processes to aid you with your appeal.

When Should I Increase My Auto Insurance Liability Limits?

In an ideal world, we would be able to give you a magic formula that would pinpoint the perfect limits. But choosing the right coverage amounts can depend on a wide variety of factors, including your personal and financial circumstances and your driving habits. What kind of driver are you? How often do you drive? How far? Do you transport relatives in your vehicle? What’s the value of your car? What safety features does your vehicle have?

By asking yourself these questions, you should arrive at a number that suits your means and needs. Take note: You will always want to purchase coverage that exceeds the state’s minimum limits as these coverage requirements are not sufficient to protect you against financial loss in a severe crash.

How Are Car Insurance Rates Calculated in North Dakota?

Providers consider a wide range of criteria when calculating premiums. Typically, the better your risk profile, the lower your rates will be. Besides looking at the make, model, and year of your vehicle, a provider may consider your driving record, marital status, age, gender, occupation, education, and credit history.

Why? These factors help an insurer determine your likelihood of being involved in or causing a serious accident. By looking at decades of data and tracking traits associated with the more accident-prone motorists amongst us, providers are able to build an accurate risk profile to calculate your rates.

Take note: Your deductible will have a considerable impact on your insurance premiums. A deductible is the amount you will have to pay for an accident claim before your policy’s individual features kick in to cover the rest. The lower the amount, the higher your insurance premium.

How Does North Dakota’s License Points System Work?

Every time you commit a traffic violation, you could receive points on your license. The number of demerits you receive is based on the severity of your infraction. For example, if you were driving just 11mph above the posted speed limit, you would receive only a single point. But if you are nabbed street racing, you would be docked a total of 10 points.

Your license will be suspended for at least 7 days if you receive 12 points or more on your license. For every point you receive over 12 points your driving privileges will be revoked for an additional week.

You can atone for your bad habits on the road by avoiding accruing points for a short period of time. For every 3 months you stay out of trouble, the North Dakota Department of Transport will deduct 1 demerit from your permanent driving record.

What Is Comprehensive Coverage in North Dakota?

This policy feature covers your vehicle for damage caused by natural disasters, fires, vandalism, protests, falling objects, theft, and more. It’s a mandatory addon for motorists financing or leasing their vehicles, but drivers living in high-crime or disaster-prone areas may also benefit from purchasing this feature. Not sure if you need comprehensive coverage? Ty this: Calculate the increase in your premium of adding this feature to your policy for three years. If this number exceeds 10% of the market value of your car, it may not be worth it.

What Are North Dakota’s Drunk Driving Laws?

Alcohol impairs your judgment and reaction times. Unsurprisingly, drunk driving is one of the leading causes of crashes in the state. In an effort to crackdown on inebriated motorists, authorities have taken a hard line against anyone caught driving under the influence.

You could face fines, license suspensions, and prison time if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is:

  • 02% or more for drivers under age 21;
  • 04% or more for drivers operating commercial vehicles;
  • 08% or more for adult motorists.

Penalties can vary based on your BAC. If it’s your first offense, you could be charged with a Class B misdemeanor and may have to pay up to $500 in fines. Your license will also be suspended for 91 days. If your BAC is 0.16% or higher, you could be imprisoned for up to two days and may have to pay a $750 fine.

For second offenses within 7 years of the first, a DUI will result in:

  • $1,500 in fines;
  • Up to 10 days behind bars;
  • License suspended for up to 2 years;
  • Compulsory participation in the state’s sobriety program for a full year; and
  • Completion of an alcohol education and treatment program.

Your third DUI in a 7-year period will result in;

  • $2,000 in fines;
  • Up to 4 months behind bars;
  • License suspended for up to 3 years;
  • 360 days of supervised probation;
  • Compulsory participation in the state’s sobriety program for a full year; and
  • Completion of an alcohol education and treatment program.

Your fourth or subsequent DUI in a 7-year period will result in:

  • $2,000 in fines;
  • Up to a year behind bars;
  • License suspended for up to 3 years;
  • 2 years of supervised probation;
  • Compulsory participation in the state’s sobriety program for 2 years; and
  • Completion of an alcohol education and treatment program.

If you refuse to take a blood alcohol test when requested to do so by law enforcement officers, your license will be suspended or revoked by the North Dakota Department of Transport. This is because when you drive in the state you enter into an unspoken contract consenting to be tested for alcohol or drugs when stopped by authorities.

 

 

cheapest car insurance in north dakota

Visit the PennyGeeks blog to brush up on your auto insurance knowledge.

 

Find Cheap Insurance By State
Find Cheap Insurance By Driver Type
Car Insurance FAQs
How Can I Get My Car Insurance Premiums Reduced? Should I Buy Uninsured Motorist Coverage? What Factors Affect My Auto Insurance Rates? When Can My Car Insurance Company Increase My Premiums? What Are Common Reasons Why Car Insurance Claims Are Denied?