Whether you’re having trouble keeping up with car insurance payments or you simply want to find a better deal, you’ve come to the right place. Our Geeks crunched the numbers from nine top insurance providers to identify where to find the cheapest auto insurance quotes in Massachusetts.
Since each company has a unique approach for calculating their rates, we segmented our study into the following driver types:
Best Rates For Drivers With No Recent Accidents
If you’ve been lucky enough to skate through your driving history without being involved in a wreck, you can bet that insurance companies see you as a low-risk driver. So you shouldn’t have to break the bank to afford your premiums.
If you think you’re overpaying for car insurance, consider changing to State Farm. Saving a few dollars each moth might not seem like much, but it’ll add up over time.
Our study looked at the average estimated quotes of 29-year-old females and males in Massachusetts who had clear accident records.
Best Rates For Teen Drivers
The numbers don’t lie; teens are far more likely to be involved in an accident than adult motorists. As such, insurance companies typically charge teenagers more in monthly premiums. If you’re looking for cheap car insurance for a young driver in Massachusetts, our research determined that Plymouth Rock Assurance has very affordable rates for new drivers who seek the minimum coverage requirements in MA.
Best Rates For Drivers With An OUI or DUI
If one of your nights out with friends ended with an OUI or DUI, you’ve probably been through enough adversity without having to pay more for insurance premiums. Insurance companies usually view people who have an OUI conviction as a greater liability. Fortunately, our team was able to find that Plymouth Rock Assurance offers very affordable car insurance rates in Massachusetts for people with an OUI on their record. Our estimated monthly rates are based on quotes for a 29-year-old driver with one OUI conviction in the past 12 months.
Best Rates For Senior Drivers
The senior driver in our study drove only one-third the annual mileage of our 29-year-old driver. Our test senior was age 65 and had a clean record with no significant citations or at-fault crashes within the past five years.
The annual mileage in most segments of our analysis is 12,000. A 2014 Toyota Corolla is the vehicle. Our estimates are based on the average rates of males and females from five zip codes in MA. The liability coverage limits used for all categories except teenage drivers were 50/100/25 with 50/100/25 in uninsured motorist coverage.
How Much Car Insurance Are Drivers In Massachusetts Required To Carry?
In the state of Massachusetts, the minimum car insurance requirements are $20,000 for bodily injuries to one person, $40,000 for bodily injuries in one crash, and $5,000 for property damage. $8,000 in Personal Injury Protection per accident is also required, along with $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage.
Massachusetts Car Insurance FAQs
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Massachusetts?
It is illegal to drive without auto insurance in Massachusetts. Car insurance helps minimize potential financial burdens related to accidents, and without it, Massachusetts roads would be much riskier, so officials have a vested interest in making sure all drivers are insured.
Penalties for not complying include a 60-day suspension and a maximum fine of $500 for a first offense, and a year suspension and a fine of between $500 and $5,000 for a second offense occurring within six years of the first. Drivers may also face imprisonment. Getting into an accident while uninsured could lead to being held personally liable, meaning that you may have to pay out of pocket for both damages to your car and damages and injuries incurred by the other party.
Massachusetts Traffic Laws
To obtain and maintain the lowest possible premiums, it’s important to know and obey the laws in Massachusetts. The commonwealth uses a Safe Driver Insurance Plan (SDIP) to keep track of infractions. Insurance companies monitor this data to determine how safe of a driver you are and how much to charge you; the fewer your points, the lower your rates.
What makes Massachusetts’ system unique is that the number of citations factors in even more than the points themselves. Further, this plan allows the Massachusetts government to set most insurance rates. Although insurance agencies are not required to utilize the SDIP, they must use an alternative, approved point system.
SDIP Incentives in Massachusetts
Essentially, it pays to be a safe driver in Massachusetts. If you have no surchargeable events in six years of driving, you may be eligible for the Excellent Driver Discount Plus Code. If you have no surchargeable events in five years of driving, or if you have one minor surchargeable event within a six-year policy period, you may be eligible for the Excellent Driver Discount Code.
You may experience a 1-point reduction if you have three or fewer surchargeable events in the five years before your policy date, the most recent event is at least three years before your policy date, and you have at least three years of driving experience. Check with your insurance provider to learn more.
Other Penalties for Traffic Violations in Massachusetts
Keep in mind that, while SDIP points won’t directly lead to other consequences like fines, jail time, or license suspensions or revocations, the number of surchargeable events and the seriousness, frequency, and quantity of these events might. A surchargeable event may be anything from a DUI/OUI to a speeding violation to texting and driving.
The commonwealth of Massachusetts considers any moving violation to be a surchargeable event. Three speeding tickets in a year, three “surchargeable events” in two years, three major transgressions in five years, or any combination of 12 transgressions in five years will all lead to a license suspension. Depending on the situation, you may have to attend a Driver Retraining Course, pay a license reinstatement fee, and/or retake your driver’s exam.
DUI/OUI Laws in Massachusetts
In addition to being a surchargeable incident, a DUI/OUI conviction is also a criminal offense. Massachusetts considers a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent to be legally impaired for adults 21 years or older. A BAC of .02 percent is enough for legal impairment of minors under 21. Sobriety checkpoints are allowed in Massachusetts.
Violators may face both administrative penalties and criminal penalties. Administrative penalties for a first offense include a 180-day license suspension and a reinstatement fee of between $100 and $1,200. Criminal penalties for a first offense include a 1-year license suspension, a fine of between $500 and $5,000, possible jail time of up to two and a half years, and potential enrollment in an alcohol education program. Drivers who fail to comply with a breathalyzer test at the time of the suspected incident may face even harsher penalties.
It’s important to note that Massachusetts has an open container law that makes it illegal to drive with open alcohol anywhere; even passengers aren’t allowed to consume alcohol in a car. A violation of this law may lead to a $100 to $500 fine.
A recent CDC study found that 2.2 percent of adults in Massachusetts reported driving after drinking too much—higher than the national average of 1.9 percent. To do your part in reducing drunk driving incidents, plan ahead; make sure you have a designated driver or a place to stay until you sober up. Don’t get into a car with anyone who could be impaired. If your designated driver drinks, use ride services like a cab, Uber, or Lyft.
Massachusetts Car Insurance Terminology
Here are some key terms and phrases to enhance your understanding of Massachusetts driving laws and insurance policies:
Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC): A measure of how much alcohol is in your system
Breathalyzer: A test used by police to measure the amount of alcohol in a driver’s breath
DUI: Driving Under the Influence
OUI: Operating Under the Influence
Liability: The state of being responsible for something
Premium: An amount to be paid for an insurance policy
Quote: An estimated price for a for a potential insurance policy
Safe Driver Insurance Plan (SDIP): The program used by the commonwealth of Massachusetts to keep track of traffic violations and accidents and to determine insurance premiums
Surcharge: An additional charge or payment
Surchargeable Event: A traffic violation or accident that may result in additional charges or payments
By familiarizing yourself with the aforementioned laws and policies, you can make the most of your time on Massachusetts’ roads and drastically improve your insurance rates.