If you’ve been shopping around for cheap auto insurance in North Carolina, you’ve probably realized that monthly rates can vary greatly from one provider to the next. Ultimately, the amount you pay for insurance will depend on your driver profile.
In our study, we compared quotes from nine leading insurance companies in NC and segmented our results into the following driver categories:
Best Rates For Drivers With No Recent Accidents
Your insurance premiums are ultimately based on the likelihood that you’ll file a claim. So it should come as no surprise that you’ll pay a whole lot less for car insurance if you’ve never caused an accident.
Our study determined that Progressive is the cheapest insurance company for accident-free drivers in the state of North Carolina. Allstate also has very affordable premiums for low-risk drivers.
Best Rates For Drivers With A DWI Or DUI
If you’ve been convicted of DWI or DUI, you’re probably all too familiar with the financial repercussions. Court fines, attorney fees, administrative costs—when does it end?!
Unfortunately, one of the biggest financial consequences of driving under the influence is the hike in your insurance premiums. And we’re not talking about a one-time fee; your insurance rates could stay at their summit for several years. Although you’re not going to find an insurance provider who will match your premiums before your DWI charges, you might still be able to save thousands by finding a company that offers cheap car insurance after a DUI or DWI in North Carolina.
With rates of $381 and $394 per month, respectively, Progressive and Allstate came out on top in our analysis of auto insurance rates for drivers with a DUI in NC.
Best Rates For Senior Drivers
In this segment of our test, we estimated the most affordable auto insurance quotes for seniors in North Carolina by averaging insurance rates for 65-year-old males and females in five NC zip codes. Our driver traveled 4,000 miles per year, which is lower than average but typical among older adults, and hadn’t caused any recent accidents.
The age of our default driver is 29, and our estimates are based on quotes for a 2014 Toyota Corolla. The annual mileage in most segments is 12,000. Our team calculated the monthly premium estimates based on data from males and females in five zip codes in NC. We used 50/100/25 limits for both liability coverage and uninsured motorist coverage.
Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage Required In North Carolina
Motorists in the state of North Carolina must purchase auto insurance that has the following minimum limits:
- Coverage For Bodily Injury Per Person / Per Accident: $30,000 / $60,000
- Coverage For Property Damage: $25,000
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Per Accident: $25,000
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Per Person / Per Accident: $30,000 / $60,000