It shouldn’t be hard to find cheap car insurance in Minnesota that fits your particular needs. Unfortunately, with dozens of companies advertising their low rates, identifying the best policy can be a tedious and time-consuming endeavor.
To reduce the hassle, our Geeks analyzed the insurance rates of nine leading providers to noodle out the best quotes for the following four types of drivers:
Best Rates For Drivers With No Recent Accidents
Safe drivers are those who have proven themselves to be a very low liability by avoiding accidents for many consecutive years. If you’re statistically less likely to file a claim, your car insurance rates should be much cheaper than drivers who have a spotted traffic record. In our study, we used a hypothetical 29-year-old male and female driver who commuted 12,000 miles total each year.
Best Rates For Teen Drivers
Insurers are well aware that teenagers cause a disproportionately high number of accidents due to their inexperience behind the wheel. If you’re looking for low auto insurance rates in Minnesota for young or teenage drivers, our researchers suggest that you get quotes from Allstate and State Farm.
Best Rates For Drivers With An OWI Or DUI
Being convicted of an OWI or DUI has far-reaching consequences that continue to be a nuisance long after your case is over. One of the most taxing penalties of an OWI is being required to pay more for car insurance. If you need to find cheap auto insurance in Minnesota after being convicted of OWI, consider getting a quote from Allstate.
Best Rates For Senior Drivers
The senior motorist in our test was 65 years old, had a clean recent driving history with no major infractions, and commuted 4,000 miles annually. Allstate was found by our researchers to have the best auto insurance rates for seniors in Minnesota.
The driver in the “OWI” and “No Recent Crashes” categories of our research was 29 years old and drove 12,000 miles per year. A 2014 Toyota Corolla was the vehicle used in our analysis. We averaged the rates of males and females from five zip codes in Minnesota to determine the cheapest car insurance rates. Our teen driver estimates are based on the state’s minimum required coverage but for all other driver types, we used liability limits of 50/100/25 and equal limits for uninsured motorist (UM) coverage.
How Much Auto Insurance Coverage Are Drivers In Minnesota Required To Purchase?
Drivers in Minnesota are required to carry auto insurance that would cover $30,000 for bodily injury to one individual, $60,000 for bodily injury in one wreck, and $10,000 for damage to property. Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage is also required with minimum limits of $25,000 per individual and $50,000 per collision.
Minnesota Car Insurance FAQs
What Are The Penalties For Driving Without Car Insurance in Minnesota?
Minnesota takes driving without car insurance very seriously, and so should you. Insurance is meant to protect drivers in case of an accident or unforeseen event. It’s a crucial part of the effort to make roadways safer; without it, Minnesota roads would pose a greater-than-normal risk of financial devastation. Thus, state law makes auto insurance mandatory.
Drivers must always carry valid proof of insurance with them. Valid proof could be an insurance card, a policy declaration page, or e-insurance.
To ensure people’s compliance with these laws, Minnesota developed a variety of potential sanctions. Driving without proof of insurance could lead to a license and/or registration revocation, and driving without insurance could lead to a license and/or registration revocation, a $1,000 fine, and up to 90 days in jail.
Adding to the mix, Minnesota made getting your license back after such a conviction a real hassle. Drivers need to submit a new application, pass a knowledge test, pay a $30 reinstatement fee and whatever fees the court mandates, and submit proof of insurance.
Minnesota Traffic Laws
Unlike most states, Minnesota does not use a point system to keep track of violations. This doesn’t mean they just go away once they’re taken care of, however. Instead, your driving record contains a list of every violation committed in the state—forever. Insurers can and do readily use this information when deciding what to charge you. A shorter list means a better premium, so there’s even more incentive to know and follow the laws in Michigan. We’ve assembled some key concepts below.
Speeding Laws in Minnesota
Speeding is a leading contributor to crashes in Minnesota. Driving too fast reduces your ability to react to what’s going on around you and driving too slowly can be just as risky. For that reason, it’s important to pay attention to the speed limits. They are there to keep you and those around you safe.
Fines may be imposed for driving above the speed limit. If you are caught going more than 20 mph over the speed limit, you will incur additional fines. If you are caught going more than 100 mph, your license will be revoked for at least six months.
Keep an eye out for unique circumstances like work zones; reduced speed zones are common in these areas, violations may result in additional fines.
Seat Belt Laws in Minnesota
Seat belt usage is mandatory in Minnesota. Seat belts can be credited with saving numerous lives; they prevent car occupants from being ejected during a crash, and the chances of being killed in an accident are four times greater without one.
Minnesota police can stop your vehicle if even one passenger isn’t wearing a seat belt. Infants must be secured in a rear-facing child safety restraint system, and older children must use front-facing booster seats. Children may never use a seat belt alone until he/she is either 4-feet-9-inches tall or 8 years old.
Texting and Driving Laws in Minnesota
The use of any device not necessary to the operation of the car is expressly unlawful while driving. This includes cell phones, tablets, and gaming devices. Two or more transgressions will lead to a $225 fine, in addition to whatever the court deems appropriate.
The only exceptions to this rule are using the device to report a crash or crime or obtain emergency assistance, or if it’s completely voice-activated and hands-free.
Drinking and Driving Laws in Minnesota
Alcohol impairs judgment, vision, reaction time, steering, perception, coordination, balance, and attention, all of which greatly raise the possibility of a crash. It’s a very serious problem, both nationwide and in the state of Minnesota. For this reason, very strict laws and sanctions are in place.
If you are found to have had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or greater when in control of a vehicle, you will be arrested for driving while impaired (DWI). If you are found to be under the influence of alcohol while committing driving violations, you can be arrested for DWI with a BAC of .04 percent. It is also illegal to have any alcohol open in a moving vehicle; even passengers are forbidden from drinking in a car.
First-time offenders could face a slew of penalties, including a minimum 90-day revocation, 90 days in jail, or a $1,000 fine. There is also a $650 reinstatement fee and a mandatory DWI knowledge test.
Drivers may be eligible for a work permit after 15 days if the reinstatement terms are met. Another option for regaining some privileges sooner is enrolling in the Ignition Interlock Device Program, through which you agree to let a device be placed in your car that measures your BAC. The car will not start if you are deemed to have a BAC of more than .02 percent.
A second offense comes with a minimum one-year license revocation, one year in jail, and/or a $3,000 fine, plus the aforementioned reinstatement requirements. Additionally, your license plates will be impounded.
Minnesota has a zero tolerance policy for drivers under 21, as they are also under the legal drinking age. Driving with any detectable alcohol will result in a first-time penalty of a 30-day suspension and a second-time penalty of a 180-day suspension.
Police officers can search any vehicle they think may have an impaired driver, and the driver is required to submit to a blood, breath, and/or urine test. Failure to comply will result in a license revocation of one to six years.
Penalties for Fleeing a Police Officer in Minnesota
Fleeing from police is a felony offense in Minnesota. Whatever trouble you are in, fleeing will make it infinitely worse. The maximum prison sentence for this crime is three years, and the maximum fine is $5,000.
If fleeing causes you to get in a crash and you injure someone, the penalty is upped to a maximum prison sentence of five years and a maximum fine of $10,000. If you critically injure someone, you face a maximum seven-year imprisonment and $14,000 fine, and if you kill someone, you face a maximum 10-year imprisonment and $20,000 fine.
Avoiding infractions like these is key to maintain manageable insurance rates.